We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Quaint Berkshires B&B”
Review of Gedney Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Marlborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gedney Farm
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Quaint Berkshires B&B”
Reviewed January 9, 2011

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful stay at Gedney last month and, though I don't often write reviews, I was so surprised by some of the other reviews that I thought I should comment. Yes, this is a former farm so if you're looking for crisp and new rooms, you should look elsewhere, but if you're looking for a relaxing Berkshires weekend the gorgeous property, charm and wonderful staff make for a fantastic time. There are miles of hiking trails on Gedney's 300 acres that the staff was very helpful in describing, several wonderful restaurants nearby that they pointed us to (Inn on the Green is right next door and fantastic) and the rooms were a great combination of homey and new.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCGuy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We attended a wedding here and the venue (beautiful renovated barn) was lovely, different and special. The wedding itself was sophisticated and spectacular, as was the barn space and the food and service. It was really a magical experience.
But, sadly, the same cannot be said of the B&B on the property, where we stayed for two nights. The feeling is rustic and the space is charming....but the rooms are badly in need of a good cleaning and update. The amenities are just terrible....esp. for the price charged. The towels in the bathroom are so old, scratchy, threadbare and worn....that the bathroom itself, which is roomy, is a turn off. The owners must know that it does not take too much of an investment to purchase new towels for the rooms. Have they ever heard of the Martha Stewart collection at KMart? GET NEW TOWELS. The extra blanket in the closet....which I took down to cuddle with whilst reading in the wing chair next to the window....was so dirty it was disgusting. Well....the wing chair was dirty too. By the way....reading was no easy feat either as half the light bulbs were out and the room was very dark. The blanket on the bed....also an amenity that could make guests feel good about what they are paying for....was a poly/cotton blanket that was pilled and dirty. What does it cost to invest in some nice down comforters for the beds? The note pad on the desk was literally 5 post-its stapled together. Are you kidding me? Oh....did I mention that there was no housekeeping? Our bed was not made, bathroom was not cleaned....at all in two days. Oh yes....housekeeping did come into the room to bring more terrible towels. Clearly the owners of this property need some help from an experienced hotelier. Or from anyone that travels and knows that some nice amenities is all that is required to make a guest happy....esp. when paying close to $300/night. Please owners....get some help!! This could really be a lovely place!! "Nuff said.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelcritic14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

I attended a wedding in January. The barn was too small for the event. We were very cold and crowded in the downstairs coctail area and were too warm on the third floor dining level. The food was at best mediocre, but the servicewas dreadful. The servers would not even bring drinks to the table,except bottles of wine. Coffee and deserts were on a different level,which required you to walk down open back wooden steps.The venue was a total disappointment I nwould avoid it during the Winter.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakeminerv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2009

Room was a good size, but everything - including the bathroom - was well worn. It was cold and rainy outside, but the heat did not stop even when shut off. Breakfast consisted of a few bagles, a little fruit and granola. With all the nice places to stay in the Berkshires, this is one to avoid, espeically and the very high prices charged.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJS and Gale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Unless you are in the wedding of course.... our stay was ruined by a loud wedding party and their unruly children who ran screaming through the place. The owner tried to step in but when parents are oblivious, it's difficult...

The barn rooms are beautifully appointed and cosy. We had a lovely, romantic dinner at the next door Old Inn on the Green which I highly recommend.

We thought the breakfast could be a lot nicer for the expense of Gedney. The continental breakfast was not nicely refurbished and people were scrambling for plates, cups...

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theobstinatetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

Stayed for the required 2 nights. We were attending a friend's wedding. The wedding was nice, but our room was small, cramped, hot, and dirty. The ac wasn't working. And, when it rained, the roof leaked. WE should have stayed in the Comfort Inn in Great Barrington. It would have been cleaner and cheaper. Also, the included breakfast was a joke. We opted to drive the 10 miles to the Friendly's in Great Barrington to eat breakfast. It was the closest place open.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — lumpy bed
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2007

We attended our nephew's wedding and could not have been more pleased with the whole experience. Our quaint and rustic room was on the first floor. It included a fireplace and an extremely compfy bed. We stayed for two nights. We dined at The Old Inn on the Green our first night. .....Wonderful!!!!!

The setting at Gedney Farm, inside and out, was so pleasant. As for the wedding.....it was beautiful....simple and elegant all at once. The reception dinner couldn't have been better. The table settings and centerpieces were so tastfully done. The food was scrumptious and beautifully prepared, starting with a great selection of canapes and leading to a delicious soup, salad and entree. It was obvious that all who attended were as delighted as we were.

  • Liked — It was all geared toward a great wedding and reception---mission accomplished!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgal67Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Marlborough
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#3 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Old Inn on the Green
The Old Inn on the Green
#1 of 2 in New Marlborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
0.0 mi away
Gateways Inn
Gateways Inn
#2 of 19 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gedney Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gedney Farm

Property: Gedney Farm
Address: New Marlborough, MA
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > New Marlborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in New Marlborough
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended cozy inn when viewing Fall Foliage in the Berkshire Hills. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gedney Farm Hotel New Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing