We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable experience.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Ashford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 New Ashford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 30, 2010

my stay at Shirakaba was a wonderful experience. My hosts were so gracious and made me feel at home although in a very exotic environment. The food was delicious and meticulously prepared. Shirakaba is located in a beautiful setting. I had a lovely walk in the snow out to the gazebo and my morning swims were a great way to start the day. .What a wonderful way to spend Christmas!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hbehrens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshires-Shirakaba, Owner at Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2011

Thank you.We really enjoyed meeting you! Shirakaba is often a retreat for one. We are on avery quiet hilltop and even provide a sound machine for guests who say it's too quiet! It was nice to meet more of your family this past summer when you came for dinner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 163 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2010

the place is sun by an amazing couple. extremely considerate and generous. the place is gorgeous. designed in Japanese style that is very convincing. hot-tub under the stars, authentic, home-made Japanese food surrounded by breathtaking nature. yet, excellent location in the Berkshires. we were there with our kids (and mother-in law...), but i can easily imagine enjoying a romantic weekend there just as much, if not more. we will go there again, and again, and again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moshebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshires-Shirakaba, Owner at Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2011

Thank you. We really enjoyed meeting your whole family! We like to pamper you and I especially like to try and anticipate your needs. I send out an extensive pre visit email asking LOTS of questions to make your stay perfect! We look forward to seeing you again. Repeat guests get a 10% discount off their stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

Our stay at Berkshire Shirakaba was wonderful. I would like to stay there again quite soon. The dinner was delicious and so authentic; the Egg Custard soup was one of the best things I have ever eaten, and it was gorgeous to look at as well!
All of the spaces were very clean, the beds were the most comfortable I have ever slept in, and it was fun to eat on Japanese matts, at a low table, in a Japanese style room.
The hosts are friendly and entertaining and very helpful. We investigated having a small wedding on the site and concluded that Berkshire Shirakaba would be an excellent venue. We were able to access high speed internet services to do research as needed.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katwoman0227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshires-Shirakaba, Owner at Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2011

Thank you. We enjoyed your visit! We do have a newly built venue for weddings that our local tent
company, Classical, helped design supports that have the tent even go over the gazebo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

What a great Get Away. enjoyed the indoor pool and Jaquzz.. This property seats on the mountains and the view is breathtaking. We played Wii at night a even watched a movie
form the large collection of movies. This was the best Veterans Day ever for me as a Veteran. It was only a 3 hour drive from NYC We chose the American breakfast.
I had home made waffles, and my friend and fellow veteran had an omettlet.. For lunch I had miso soup and vegan curry that Sadao made.

Louise sent us to the Old Forge Restaurant 10 min. south . And the food was great!
I'll be back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mercadony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshires-Shirakaba, Owner at Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2011

Thank you. We enjoyed helping you celebrate Veteran's Day. We love the food at the Old Forge as well. I often pick up take out orders there for our winter guests after a long day on the mountain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Shirakaba was a great experience - location on a little cliff top which makes it quite serene. The many Japanese touches were wonderful, including the cool gifts! Great breakfast. Nice hot tub. TV/wireless if you need it. Most importantly, Louise and Sadao make great hosts, and made us feel welcome. You should definitely try this place out. Downsides... no major ones, probably that the nearby towns don't have a ton of restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshires-Shirakaba, Owner at Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2011

Thank you. We try to be hosts that can anticipate your needs without being obtrusive.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We enjoyed meeting you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

The best B&B/guesthouse experience ever: a beautiful location, welcoming and attentive hosts, fine food, Mt. Greylock in the distance, and a lovely home that combines Japanese simplicity and high-tech comforts. We can't recommend this inn strongly enough, and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texboy1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

You could stay at the Best Western, Willimstown Inn or any of the B&Ds but nothing would be as memorable, unique and exciting as Berkshires Shirakaba. Where else your kids could sleep on tatami mats like characters in Japanese animation. Where else you and the kids could wear perfectly sized kimonos and enjoy private indoor pool followed by jacuzzi under the stars? Where else you will be welcomed by sake and Japanese snacks and offered to take some pool fish home? The view of the foliage from gazebo on the cliff just 100 feet away from the house is nothing you have seen before. You will even leave with a personalized plastic water bottle featuring your name spelled in Japanese.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank around-the-world-in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Ashford
3.1 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
9.9 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
478 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#8 of 13 in Williamstown
328 reviews
6.8 mi away
The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn
6.4 mi away
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House

Address: 20 Mallery Road, New Ashford, MA 01237-9623
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > New Ashford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Ashford
Price Range: $345 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21+ acres, private, two suite, resort style, Berkshires bed and breakfast, Williamstown MA area, free wi-fi, 9' x 39' indoor pool, 6 person hot tub, 3 person Saunatec Far Infared Sauna.. Matsu No Ma Suite, 418 sq.ft., king size Tempur Pedic bed, Japanese Tatami mat room use as sitting room for Romantic getaway, sleeps second couple Japanese style, or up to 3 children, full bath, shower for two, Take No Ma Suite, 415 sq.ft., has Queen size bed, private bath w/shower/tub, second private bedroom/sitting room with full size sofa bed. Suites have: Mini fridge, microwave, HDTV w/cable/Bluray player ( Take No Ma Suite has them in both bedrooms), Japanese hot water pot. Complimentary snacks and beverages. Free Japanese or made to order Western breakfast, optional 6 course Japanese dinners. BYOB no credit cards accepted ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House New Ashford, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing