We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“we keep going back….”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Ashford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 New Ashford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
new jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“we keep going back….”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

We just had our 3rd visit to Shirakaba. it is an enchanting place. Louise and Sadao have created a true oasis. the location is peaceful with magnificent views. the rooms are incredibly comfortable. the spa and pool totally delightful. and the food -- it is hard to describe how incredible. the japanese breakfast is delicious, and it is accompanied by homemade sticky buns. we always plan a dinner at Shirakaba which you need to book in advance. i can't think of a japanese dinner that i have had in the States that compares with Sadao's dinner. it is just amazing. and then Louise tops it off with 9 homemade ice creams and our favorite cookies. we keep going back. if you haven't tried it, you're missing out on a wonderful, memorable experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cls13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
85
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Highly recommend the Shirakaba for a restful retreat. Louise and Sadao go above and beyond to meet your needs. The suites are spacious and comfortable and the food is AMAZING. Louise has thought of so many little touches - she puts so much thought and care into your experience. Thank you for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STRioux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

We decided on a quick quiet get-away and would like to try the Japanese hospitality at Shirakaba. Louis and Sadao did not disappoint us with their exceptional services and enjoyable conversation from Japanese culture to green construction to travel stories. Authentic Japanese post and beam construction, calming decoration including kanji from a Zen master and authentic tatami dining room set up.

Both the Japanese and Western breakfasts are of good portion and more like brunch. Lots of good books to read from a variety of subjects. Futon and tatami room was comfortable, clean and soothing.

Don't forget the walk to the gazebo located on the top of a cliff with magnificent view of the surrounding mountains. Winter has its beautiful solitude at Shirakaba. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Both traditional tatami and conventional beds are available. The best part is that Louis will arran...
See more room tips
Green Features: One of the best, geothermal water heater for the spa and the swimming pool, radiant heating in the floor.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

The hosts (Louis and Sadao) we're very hospitable. The food was extremely homey and delicious. The room was spotless. The amenities were amazing. The tatami rooms were relaxing. The Japanese toilet was amazing. Thank you for hosting us!!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank San_n_B0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

A friend and I went to Shirakaba for a relaxing weekend. Although we were not be the easiest guests to deal with, Louise and Sadao still treated us with kindness and patience. The Japanese breakfast made by Sadao and the cookies Louise baked were really delicious. I love the interior of the room where there were tatami mats and sliding doors; it reminded me of a traditional Japanese tearoom. We definitely liked the matsu room better because of the view and it felt more spacious. It's worth a visit if you're looking for a special peaceful and quiet getaway from hectic urban life or daily routines.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Two friends and I spent a weekend to celebrate a milestone birthday. Louise, our hostess, asked in advance if she could decorate for the occasion and we said yes. Imagine our surprise as we drove up the winding driveway to see multiple 'Happy Birthday' signs in the driveway! Streamers and other signs were in our suite inside. You get homemade treats upon your arrival - cookies, brownies, ice cream, etc. We learned how to write our names in Japanese too. We stayed in the suite adjacent to the pool/hot tub/sauna area. We had the place to ourselves. The pool is heated - and so isn't the bathroom floors and toilet seat! Louise waited on us hand and foot, and made sure we had everything we wanted. We took a drive to the Red Lion Inn for lunch, and went out for mexican food about 15 minutes away at night. Louise gave us several souvenirs, including water bottles, nylon bags, and custom embroidered hand towels.

Room Tip: We liked the suite beside the pool area. We could get to and from the pool without walking by anyon...
See more room tips
Green Features: The soaps and shampoos are chemical-free. I think the coffe was organic too.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

A girlfriends weekend in the Berkshires... we were made to feel very special. Shirakaba was delightful, the hosts were most attentive to any needs, the food plentiful. A winter weekend spent in the hot tub, lap pool and sauna was just the trick for this very long winter. Enjoyed catching up with my friends, going for walks to the gazebo, sitting on the tatami mats wearing our kimonos. Accomodations were very clean, comfortable and spacious with nice views of the mountains. Quiet and peaceful. Homemade cookies/brownies, sorbet and lots treats to go home with too.

Room Tip: Room by the pool was convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMR815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Ashford
3.1 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
9.9 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Wyndham at Bentley Brook
8.0 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
19.0 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House

Property: Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House
Address: 20 Mallery Road, New Ashford, MA 01237-9623
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > New Ashford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21+ acres, private, two suite, resort style, Berkshires bed and breakfast, Williamstown MA area, free wi-fi, 9' x 39' indoor pool, 6 person hot tub, 3 person Saunatec Far Infared Sauna.. Matsu No Ma Suite, 418 sq.ft., king size Tempur Pedic bed, Japanese Tatami mat room use as sitting room for Romantic getaway, sleeps second couple Japanese style, or up to 3 children, full bath, shower for two, Take No Ma Suite, 415 sq.ft., has Queen size bed, private bath w/shower/tub, second private bedroom/sitting room with full size sofa bed. Suites have: Mini fridge, microwave, HDTV w/cable/Bluray player ( Take No Ma Suite has them in both bedrooms), Japanese hot water pot. Complimentary snacks and beverages. Free Japanese or made to order Western breakfast, optional 6 course Japanese dinners. BYOB no credit cards accepted ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House New Ashford, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing