We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway...charming couple & care”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Ashford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 New Ashford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Louise & Sadao has thought of every detail to make a stay there absolutely blissful. As someone who used to live in Japan, the details of the house are so spot on. The private pool, sauna, and hot tub is truly a wonderful way to relax after a long drive or a great way to start off your day. I highly recommend swimming at night with the colored lights in the pool. Louise didn't skim on any niceties as you are welcomed with made to order cookies/brownies, information on where to go/eat, huge selection of teas, and the homemade ice creams at the end of the day were wonderful.

It's quite magical to eat a wonderful breakfast (both Japanese & Western Versions) on the patio with a gorgeous view of the mountains and windmills. Also, you have to check out the beautiful gazeebo.

But most importantly, the hosts Louise & Sadao are so kind, good people. You can tell they have big hearts and put a lot of care for many. Look forward to going there again sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Limited rooms in the guest house, so book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomaMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 164 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent the past weekend at Shirakaba and had another wonderful time. Our first visit was last November and we loved it so much that we knew we had to make it an annual trip. Louise and Sadao are extremely accommodating and always put forth the extra effort to ensure our stay is pleasant. They're truly warm and inviting people who want you to have the best stay possible. The house is beautiful, the food is amazing, the grounds are breathtaking (especially in Autumn), and the facilities they provide really allow for a relaxing and fun experience. Both suites are great, each has a different plus based on who you're going with or what you prefer (for instance two person shower versus bathtub). But Louise told us that one of the perks of the Matsu No Ma suite, a private tatami mat room, will soon be a perk in the Take No Ma suite as well, They'll soon be building a tatami mat room in the spare bedroom of the Take No Ma suite. The whole experience is just absolutely amazing. You should definitely go.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Our weekend get-away to the Berkshire's turned out to be a most wonderful experience. Shirakaba is a heaven on earth. We were received with warm greetings. Our slippers were waiting at the door. Our robes and kimonos were in our room. And there was the smell of cookies and brownies baking in the oven. Louise and Sadao see to every detail.
We ate breakfast each morning in the Tree House porch. Louise's sticky buns are out of this world. Homemade ice cream was brought to our room each evening.
The sauna and hot tub are a private paradise. The moonlight on the hot tub was so romantic. We enjoyed a couple's massage in our room. The bed & pillows were the most comfortable we'd ever slept on. It was like sleeping on a cloud.
If you are looking for total relaxation to replenish your soul, this is the place. Many thanks to Louise and Sadao. We couldn't have asked for more. Hope to visit again next year.
C&B09/20/13

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christineriecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Louise and Sadao's hospitality is just as amazing as the other reviewers have said. And since we came back, my sweetie and I have told everyone they MUST go here for a weekend. The place is gorgeous: a japanese style home they built from the ground up. Visually, sweet. The breakfasts? I loved every morsel of the Japanese breakfast, but especially the homemade vegetables. And we both loved Louise's sweet rolls: a perfect taste of the midwest.

We also spent a lot of the rainy romantic weekend in the screened in porch. One afternoon, in the middle of stunning thunderstorms, it was set up for our side by side massages. And after showering and spending time in the hot tub, we came back upstairs for a relaxing, absolutely delicious multi-course Japanese dinner, expertly cooked by Sadao.

Add on to that the nearby Mass MOCA, Williams College, and the fabulous nearby farmstand and you have the perfect weekend for a pair of citified New Yorkers (or anyone else).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenCityNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our wonderful kids found this B&B and sent us to celebrate our birthdays. We have never felt so special. Sadao & Louise are the ultimate hosts. The food was out of this world, both breakfast and the special dinner and all the goodies in between. We enjoyed the hot tub under the stars, the indoor swimming pool, the gazebo, the fish pond and the lovely winding driveway that was filled with "Happy Birthday" signs. All the little extras made our stay so great, and we did not want to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianar04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Thank you, Louise and Sadao for a fabulous stay at Shirakaba. They are the ultimate hosts and we left slightly teary-eyed after such a great three-day stay. We were treated to an extravagant Japanese-style breakfast, given tips on nearby hiking trails, loaded up on homemade chocolate chip cookies, brownies and Louise's famous sticky buns (recipe, please!). We loved our sushi-making class and miss the tempur-pedic beds... We left with a car-load of goodies for us and our kids (who stayed at home). Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kibo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I live in New York City and wanted to be somewhere peaceful and beautiful to renew my health and spirit -- Shirakaba was just the ticket! I went off-season in the early Spring for which they offered an attractive deal and had the place to myself: swimming indoors while there was snow on the ground, enjoying the jacuzzi and sauna on my own, walking out to the gazebo to see the view. It was a dream to be out of the city meditating, sleeping on a very clean, comfortable bed, preparing and eating traditional Japanese food with my hosts, reading and resting. I've lived in Kyoto and appreciated the authentic home-cooking and traditional seating and dinner settings. Please do not expect upscale Manhattan, latest en vogue meals and trends; this is traditional and homey, yummy and warming, seasonal and according to what is available to the chef (he travels to the MY Metro area to get authentic ingredients). I also felt at home watching movies on a large screen and having an entire couch to myself! This was the kind of vacation my hosts and I created and it quickly helped me to readjust to the pace of city life.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, but ask the hosts for a recommendation - they know which ones work for dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Konketsujin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Ashford
9.9 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
711 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Kemble Inn
The Kemble Inn
#5 of 20 in Lenox
255 reviews
17.8 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 20 in Lenox
516 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Springs Inn
The Springs Inn
#1 of 1 in New Ashford
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House

Address: 20 Mallery Rd, New Ashford, MA 01237-9623
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > New Ashford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Ashford
Price Range: $345 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21+ acres, private, two suite, resort style, Berkshires bed and breakfast, Williamstown MA area, free wi-fi, 9' x 39' indoor pool, 6 person hot tub, 3 person Saunatec Far Infared Sauna.. Matsu No Ma Suite, 418 sq.ft., king size Tempur Pedic bed, Japanese Tatami mat room use as sitting room for Romantic getaway, sleeps second couple Japanese style, or up to 3 children, full bath, shower for two, Take No Ma Suite, 415 sq.ft., has Queen size bed, private bath w/shower/tub, second private bedroom/sitting room with full size sofa bed. Suites have: Mini fridge, microwave, HDTV w/cable/Bluray player ( Take No Ma Suite has them in both bedrooms), Japanese hot water pot. Complimentary snacks and beverages. Free Japanese or made to order Western breakfast, optional 6 course Japanese dinners. BYOB no credit cards accepted ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House New Ashford, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing