We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Arigatou gozaimasu to Shirakaba” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Ashford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 New Ashford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Arigatou gozaimasu to Shirakaba”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Having read the other reviews I'm not sure what to add. My spouse conspired with the hosts to surprise me for my 50th birthday, so I arrived to streamers, signs and delicious treats. Between the twenty choices of homemade ice cream and cookies galore, I was in heaven. The suite was welcoming, calming and well appointed. We took advantage of the swimming pool, sauna and hot ton as well as the back porch and grounds. Everything about the Guest House -from the facade to the decorations was a tasteful mix of Japanese and New England. There's plenty to explore in the area from Mt. Greylock to the Clark Art Museum and a nice mix of restaurants as well. Definitely check it out!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToniTroop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
84
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I had seen an article about Shirakaba in a June 2012 Travel Section of the New York Times and saved it for a possible anniversary getaway. It sounded wonderful, but I never dreamed that it would exceed my wildest expectations! When we arrived, there was a Happy Anniversary sign at the front door and others all through the house. Our favorite soft drinks were in our minifrig and our favorite cookies were just coming out of the oven. Louise and Sadao were the perfect host and hostess, with Louise anticipating our every desire and Sadao cooking the best Japanese dinner we've ever had. We went home feeling relaxed and pampered - knowing that we would return to see our new found friends, Louise and Sadao, again.

Room Tip: Both suites are large and very well appointed. Guests may choose from Japanese style accommodations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clt270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful,relaxing getaway with hosts who went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure we were comfortable. The leisurely dinner was a serene and delicious experience for us who seldom have the time to enjoy a relaxed dinner. Japanese snacks, music, archtecture, art, and gadgets rounded out the experience.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sonia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our Babymoon here at Shirakaba. The hosts were lovely - and anticipated every little detail of our needs and requests to ensure a very relaxed 3 day weekend. We loved our Temperpedic bed - so much so that we are replacing our home mattress as I write. I don't recall the last time we both slept so soundly and comfortably.

The meals were all lovingly prepared - breakfast has a ton of options - both Japanese and Western style. And we also opted one evening for a Sukiyaki meal in our Washitsu (Japanese tatami room) - where my fiance tasted Chawanmushi (Japanese savory egg custard) for the first time.

The homemade goodies are delicious - from Louise's morning sticky buns, home-churned ice cream (green tea and ginger were my favorite), and name-your-flavor cookies (I requested dark choco oatmeal cookies - recipe included). I'm usually not a sweets person, but I indulged over the wknd happily.

The swimming pool option was also great - it's a proper lap pool where we squeezed in 12 to 15 strokes per length, so we had a relaxing private workout - where we also enjoyed a post-swim massage next to the pool from a local spa service.

We'll be back again surely - to recharge ! Thanks again.

Room Tip: We loved our Room with the Japanese Washitu and direct access to the Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraZippyTFit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

My boyfriend took me here for my early birthday getaway/gift. I have to say I am very impressed. Delicious food and service! The owners are very nice and sweet. They are caring and considerate. They seem to enjoy serving their guest and doing whatever they can for their guest. So omg they make fresh baked cookies to your liking! Freaking deeeeeliciousssss!!!! Heated bathroom floors, jacuzzi, swimming pool, they even drove us and picked us up for snow boarding.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karinachu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We're a family of four and recently spent a couple of nights at Shirakaba. Wonderful hosts. Louise and Sadao capture the essence of Japanese and American hospitality. Great breakfast and baked goods. Everything was cooked to perfection. Lovely pool and hot tub. They went all out for us, even arranging to have a pizza delivered for dinner. Thank you Louise and Sadao for a special weekend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
242322
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We are a family of five and decided to spend five days skiing at the nearby Jiminy Peak station and were looking for a convenient place to stay. Shirakaba ended up being the highlight of our vacation. We lived in Japan for six years and were looking forward to Japanese-style lodging but nothing prepared us for the incredible dedication we experienced from our hosts. Louise and Sadao have a sense of hospitality that definitively goes beyond anything you would expect from a bed and breakfast. The rooms are extremely comfortable, the indoor pool, sauna and jacuzzi were a real treat after a day on the slopes and the house itself is very airy and welcoming with a genuine Japanese feel. The breakfast choices are unlimited and generous, and we thoroughly enjoyed our 6-course Japanese diner prepared by Sadao. But what made our stay unforgettable is the passion Louise and Sadao put in making their guests feel so special. From shuttling us back and forth to the ski lifts so we could avoid parking problems, showering us with souvenirs, teaching us how to play mahjong, decorating the house for our daughter's birthday, giving us snacks to eat on the slopes, the list goes on and on. Their generosity, nurturing and humor blew us away. Our youngest son ended up asking why we had to go skying since we were having so much fun at the house. You may indeed be tempted to skip excursions to spend more time with your hosts. As we were leaving we truly felt we had become family. Thank you Louise and Sadao for turning our stay into a real experience!

Room Tip: We ended up booking both rooms - having the whole house to ourselves was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisphi_guelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Ashford
3.1 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
9.9 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Wyndham at Bentley Brook
13.4 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House

Property: Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House
Address: 20 Mallery Road, New Ashford, MA 01237-9623
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > New Ashford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21+ acres, private, two suite, resort style, Berkshires bed and breakfast, Williamstown MA area, free wi-fi, 9' x 39' indoor pool, 6 person hot tub, 3 person Saunatec Far Infared Sauna.. Matsu No Ma Suite, 418 sq.ft., king size Tempur Pedic bed, Japanese Tatami mat room use as sitting room for Romantic getaway, sleeps second couple Japanese style, or up to 3 children, full bath, shower for two, Take No Ma Suite, 415 sq.ft., has Queen size bed, private bath w/shower/tub, second private bedroom/sitting room with full size sofa bed. Suites have: Mini fridge, microwave, HDTV w/cable/Bluray player ( Take No Ma Suite has them in both bedrooms), Japanese hot water pot. Complimentary snacks and beverages. Free Japanese or made to order Western breakfast, optional 6 course Japanese dinners. BYOB no credit cards accepted ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House New Ashford, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing