We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Treat for a Retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Ashford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 New Ashford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Lovely Treat for a Retreat”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our Babymoon here at Shirakaba. The hosts were lovely - and anticipated every little detail of our needs and requests to ensure a very relaxed 3 day weekend. We loved our Temperpedic bed - so much so that we are replacing our home mattress as I write. I don't recall the last time we both slept so soundly and comfortably.

The meals were all lovingly prepared - breakfast has a ton of options - both Japanese and Western style. And we also opted one evening for a Sukiyaki meal in our Washitsu (Japanese tatami room) - where my fiance tasted Chawanmushi (Japanese savory egg custard) for the first time.

The homemade goodies are delicious - from Louise's morning sticky buns, home-churned ice cream (green tea and ginger were my favorite), and name-your-flavor cookies (I requested dark choco oatmeal cookies - recipe included). I'm usually not a sweets person, but I indulged over the wknd happily.

The swimming pool option was also great - it's a proper lap pool where we squeezed in 12 to 15 strokes per length, so we had a relaxing private workout - where we also enjoyed a post-swim massage next to the pool from a local spa service.

We'll be back again surely - to recharge ! Thanks again.

Room Tip: We loved our Room with the Japanese Washitu and direct access to the Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraZippyTFit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
86
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My boyfriend took me here for my early birthday getaway/gift. I have to say I am very impressed. Delicious food and service! The owners are very nice and sweet. They are caring and considerate. They seem to enjoy serving their guest and doing whatever they can for their guest. So omg they make fresh baked cookies to your liking! Freaking deeeeeliciousssss!!!! Heated bathroom floors, jacuzzi, swimming pool, they even drove us and picked us up for snow boarding.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karinachu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We're a family of four and recently spent a couple of nights at Shirakaba. Wonderful hosts. Louise and Sadao capture the essence of Japanese and American hospitality. Great breakfast and baked goods. Everything was cooked to perfection. Lovely pool and hot tub. They went all out for us, even arranging to have a pizza delivered for dinner. Thank you Louise and Sadao for a special weekend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
242322
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We are a family of five and decided to spend five days skiing at the nearby Jiminy Peak station and were looking for a convenient place to stay. Shirakaba ended up being the highlight of our vacation. We lived in Japan for six years and were looking forward to Japanese-style lodging but nothing prepared us for the incredible dedication we experienced from our hosts. Louise and Sadao have a sense of hospitality that definitively goes beyond anything you would expect from a bed and breakfast. The rooms are extremely comfortable, the indoor pool, sauna and jacuzzi were a real treat after a day on the slopes and the house itself is very airy and welcoming with a genuine Japanese feel. The breakfast choices are unlimited and generous, and we thoroughly enjoyed our 6-course Japanese diner prepared by Sadao. But what made our stay unforgettable is the passion Louise and Sadao put in making their guests feel so special. From shuttling us back and forth to the ski lifts so we could avoid parking problems, showering us with souvenirs, teaching us how to play mahjong, decorating the house for our daughter's birthday, giving us snacks to eat on the slopes, the list goes on and on. Their generosity, nurturing and humor blew us away. Our youngest son ended up asking why we had to go skying since we were having so much fun at the house. You may indeed be tempted to skip excursions to spend more time with your hosts. As we were leaving we truly felt we had become family. Thank you Louise and Sadao for turning our stay into a real experience!

Room Tip: We ended up booking both rooms - having the whole house to ourselves was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisphi_guelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We visited Shirakaba for one night in early December -- arriving on Sunday afternoon and leaving around noon on Monday. We were the only guests and were treated like a combination guests/friends of the family.

After we arrived and settled in, we took a walk to the Gazebo about 5 minutes down their road. We sat in the chill night air for a while looked at the stars, the houses across the road and hardly noticed the traffic on Rt 7 some 100' below. The Gazebo was located on a nicely landscaped piece of land -- just perfect for a wedding.

The food was great -- all of it. Between our hosts, Louise and Sadao, they cooked up a storm and were just wonderful to be with. It was a pleasure to talk to them, hear their stories and marvel at the attention to detail in the house.

Although we didn't take advantage of the swimming pool, we did use the hot tub and the sauna. Both were wonderfully refreshing and were a great way to end the day before slipping into the king sized Tempurpedic bed for a wonderfully restful sleep. Our bed had a number of pillows to suit one's taste for firmness -- including a traditional Japanese buckwheat husk pillow. (That type of pillow was firm but would mold itself to your head contour and was just wonderful.)

We could have but didn't use the traditional tatami-mat room in our suite or the traditional Japanese dinner table. We chose to sit at a Western-style dinner table since one of us had traveled to Japan and did enough sitting on tatami mats.

To give us a sense of intimacy, Louise set up a traditional screen with wonderful artwork. Just that touch made us forget we were sitting in the dining area near the kitchen.

We highly recommend staying here and using it as a base to explore Williamstown and the surrounding area. We had a short but wonderful experience that we hope to enjoy again in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our stay at Berkshire-Shirakaba was restful and restorative: Louise and Sadao capture the essence of Japanese and American hospitality with Japanese aesthetics and American warmth. We loved the tatami/tokonoma rooms which we enjoyed as part of our suite and as a dining room as part of the house. Our sukiyaki dinner was exquisite, delicious and beautifully paced; we felt transported to Japan as we enjoyed our meal admiring the Japanese architecture along with the koto music. The accommodations are beautiful and peaceful, the indoor pool a real treat. Louise and Sadao took such attentive care of us we were fortified to continue our exploration of the Berkshires. Their hospitality and generosity, the location, the building and the amenities combine to make this a highlight in our years of travel. Tom and I thank Louise and Sadao for a truly memorable stay.

Room Tip: We loved having the Japanese style suite with its tatami room and Japanese desk. The setting feels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank washoaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our stay at the Shirakaba Guest House was different from any other B&B experience we have had. The rooms were not luxurious but the service was. Sadao made a wonderful dinner. Louise made the most fabulous desserts including cookies of our choice which she also sent us home with. The breakfast was wonderful. And of couse, it was even better eating and sitting around in the kimonos which they provided for us. The beds and bedding were very comforable, and Sadao and Louise were always looking for any way to make our stay more comfortable. They created a very personal and relaxing week-end, and we hope to go again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Ashford
3.1 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
9.9 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
411 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
450 reviews
16.3 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
551 reviews
19.0 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House

Property: Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House
Address: 20 Mallery Road, New Ashford, MA 01237-9623
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > New Ashford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21+ acres, private, two suite, resort style, Berkshires bed and breakfast, Williamstown MA area, free wi-fi, 9' x 39' indoor pool, 6 person hot tub, 3 person Saunatec Far Infared Sauna.. Matsu No Ma Suite, 418 sq.ft., king size Tempur Pedic bed, Japanese Tatami mat room use as sitting room for Romantic getaway, sleeps second couple Japanese style, or up to 3 children, full bath, shower for two, Take No Ma Suite, 415 sq.ft., has Queen size bed, private bath w/shower/tub, second private bedroom/sitting room with full size sofa bed. Suites have: Mini fridge, microwave, HDTV w/cable/Bluray player ( Take No Ma Suite has them in both bedrooms), Japanese hot water pot. Complimentary snacks and beverages. Free Japanese or made to order Western breakfast, optional 6 course Japanese dinners. BYOB no credit cards accepted ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House New Ashford, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing