We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of Japan”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Ashford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 New Ashford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 29, 2012

What a great place for a weekend getaway! Sitting on the tatami mats in our bedroom, we really did feel like we were in Japan, accompanied with tea and sweet and salty Japanese cookies. The breakfast was incredible, served in several courses in a relaxing room. It was fun wearing our kimonos for the occasion. Throughout the day, we were offered delicious brownies and ginger pear ice cream and even given some for the road! Just outside our room we had our own private hot tub, sauna and lap pool. We enjoyed walking to the gazebo, overlooking the mountains where the trees were just beginning to change colors. A goldfinch kept us company there! Louise was a wonderful host, who made us feel like we were part of her family. She recommended a great place to eat in Williamstown called Mezze and even made the reservations for us. She added personal touches at every turn, giving us laptop cases, water bottles and embroidered washclothes as complimentary gifts. I would highly recommended this stop for anyone who is interested in Japanese culture or just wants a pleasant getaway! It's a splurge, but well worth it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 164 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

We shared the whole place with two other friends and had the best time. The place was luxurious and extra comfortable without being ridiculously over the top. Owners had thought of everything their guests might need, we didn't have to worry about anything. The beds were exceptionally cozy and the place was super quiet and peaceful. The food was just spectacular, especially the 2-hrs breakfasts out in the sunshine of the wide wrap around deck. Then there was the pool, hot tub, sauna...we likened the hosts to staying with the parents of our best friends! Would definitely go again

Room Tip: You have 2 options - it will depend on how many beds you want in your suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RinaW83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

After reading the glowing review from the NYT, I knew there was no other place better to kidnap my wife for a surprise 40th birthday celebration. (Furtively planned with Louise's gleeful participation, from the 'unexpected' massage in the pool area, to the artfully baked birthday cake!)

The grounds were beautiful, the house immaculate and charming, the hosts extraordinary. Louise and Sadao couldnt have been more friendly, attentive and considerate - at all times we both felt completely enveloped by their attention to our every need, and thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful serenity and calm of the inn. And the food? Generous, delicious and accompanied by incomparable ambience.

We will always remember this weekend fondly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mangaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were looking for somewhere special to stay in the Berkshires on our last night before picking up our kids at camp. Shirakaba stood out as an option, and we were not disappointed. Our stay at Shirakaba and meeting our hosts Louise & Sadao -- ranks among our most memorable travel adventures (and we've been on many adventures including trips to Iceland, Singapore, and Tanzania.)

Louise brings her mid-west hospitality to this Berkshire B & B that has Japanese architecture and traditional decor, Zen gardening with coy pond, and kimonos.

There are two suites on this beautifully designed property. Both are lovely, comfortable, and private. The attention to detail was amazing- robes and slippers are sized for the guest. Service is highly personalized. The menu for breakfast was like a survey and provided options galore. Special touches kept popping up -- home-made ice-cream, cookies and personalized items are a few examples. We opted in for the special dinner and highly recommend that as well.

We tend to be thrifty travelers, but decided to splurge on this experience. We were not disappointed. While we paid more than we have ever spent on any hotel room, we considered the price to be more than fair for this 24 hour adventure.

We were here as a couple in July and would love to return with our teen daughters for a ski weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skipperpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The big question when planning a stay here is which of the two amazing suites to reserve. A hard choice, because both are great, but ultimately an easy decision, because they are different. Just know what kind of experience you want. The Take No Ma suite offers two large rooms. Each room has a spacious closet, a bed big enough for two, and large windows with two exposures. One room faces the koi pond and I fell asleep blissfully to the sound of the waterfall that feeds it. The Matsu No Ma suite has a woodsy setting and I woke up to bird calls. One room has a large bed and the other room is an intimate tatami room which, if you use it for sleeping, will fit futons. Fewer closets and fewer windows but your private non-Western space. Your choice and you can't go wrong.
The multi-course Japanese dinner is a leisurely, delicious pleasure. I also recommend the Japanese breakfast, especially when taken in the tatami room.
Sadao and Louise are welcoming and attentive hosts, the inn is pristine and the setting is beautiful. A stay at Shirakaba is special in every way.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My partner and I spent two nights at Berhshires Shirakaba this past week and couldn't have had a better time. Our stay managed to combine the casual freedom of being at home with the pampered luxury of a great inn. We could not have felt more at home in Louise and Sadao's house: getting drinks from the fridge, using their Direct TV, and just generally hanging out around the beautiful property. But unlike being at home, our every need was attended to: all the food and drink we could handle (including an amazing selection of homemade ice creams), special robes to wear to the pool and hot tub (in addition to the yukata for the house), a load of laundry done for us, and a bag of goodies to take with us when we left. We had initially planned the weekend as an Explore-Western-Mass-Getaway (and it is a perfect home base for the Williamstown Theater Festival, Mass MoCA, Tanglewood, etc.), but loved it so much at the house that we ended up spending most of our time there, except for the two evening shows we already had tickets for. You will love it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J1_and_J2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

When we arrived, Louise and Sadao met us at the door with our slippers. Which was followed by kimonos, personalized items, and unique experiences like screen "painting" Japanese letters that disappear. We ate breakfast outside, under the morning sun, each day, to the sound of Japanese lullabies. During my "Japanese" breakfast, I became adept at dipping thin seaweed strips into soy sauce and then, with my chopsticks, wrapping each strip around a portion of rice. All was tasty and presented beautifully and thoughtfully. When we went to the private indoor pool for a swim, we saw a bowl of cherries waiting for my wife (who had mentioned earlier that she liked cherries). Desires and whims were anticipated by our friendly and attentive hosts. When we returned from the James Taylor concert (Louise arranged for our tickets), there was homemade ice cream of pallate-peeking (or is it peaking or maybe even piquing?) flavors waiting for us at Shirakaba, in Japanese dishes with small decorative spoons. Nice location to tap into Pittsfield, Stockbridge, Tanglewood, Lenox, and Williamstown. Our five days at Shirakaba were active but restful, exotic but comfortable, and private but homey. Domo Arigato Louise and Sadao. Arleen and Marc Sandy Block

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Ashford
3.1 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
9.9 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
494 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#3 of 16 in Lenox
573 reviews
17.8 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
6.8 mi away
The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House

Address: 20 Mallery Road, New Ashford, MA 01237-9623
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > New Ashford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Ashford
Price Range: $345 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21+ acres, private, two suite, resort style, Berkshires bed and breakfast, Williamstown MA area, free wi-fi, 9' x 39' indoor pool, 6 person hot tub, 3 person Saunatec Far Infared Sauna.. Matsu No Ma Suite, 418 sq.ft., king size Tempur Pedic bed, Japanese Tatami mat room use as sitting room for Romantic getaway, sleeps second couple Japanese style, or up to 3 children, full bath, shower for two, Take No Ma Suite, 415 sq.ft., has Queen size bed, private bath w/shower/tub, second private bedroom/sitting room with full size sofa bed. Suites have: Mini fridge, microwave, HDTV w/cable/Bluray player ( Take No Ma Suite has them in both bedrooms), Japanese hot water pot. Complimentary snacks and beverages. Free Japanese or made to order Western breakfast, optional 6 course Japanese dinners. BYOB no credit cards accepted ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House New Ashford, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing