We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Intimate, beautiful and fun!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Ashford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 New Ashford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Intimate, beautiful and fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

I stayed at Berkshires Shirakaba for a night with a group of friends and we had a great time! Hosts Louise and Sadao were warm and very accommodating. The food was excellent (you'll die for their miso soup) and the grounds were beautiful...with a great view from their gazebo. Throw in a little late night pool and jacuzzi fun with tempurpedic sleeping, I woke feeling fulfilled and refreshed, and that was before their selective and deeeeeeeelish breakfast. (Japanese and American options) I would definitely recommend Berkshires Shirakaba to couples, family or friends, especially if you're interested in an authentic Japanese dining and sleeping experience.

Room Tip: They have two sweets, check out their website, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshires-Shirakaba, Owner at Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Thank you!
It was a pleasure hosting you and your friends. We can accommodate 2 couples per suite ( if one sleeps Japanese style on futons on tatami mats in the Matsu No Ma suite.
We love to help you celebrate special events or just a gathering of friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
85
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

a quiet private place to stay. It is a japanese b&b with private indoor pool, tatami tea room etc. A little piece of Japan in the middle of the Berkshires.

We had 3 days of relaxation with japanese breakfasts, cooking classes, massages, fun in the pool, stargazing etc.

They have a suite with a normal bedroom with king size bed, a hallway, a tatami tea room where the kids can sleep, own bathroom with shower and direct access to indoor heated pool and the deck with a hot tub. Just a few minutes from Jiminey Peak and 15 minutes from the Shaker Village.

It was really nice and relaxed. It is a japanaese B&B and they totally spoil you with any wish you have. They stock up your fridge daily with softdrinks, teas and snacks and you just have to mention you like something and it is there. It is all included.

The innkeepers go out and beyond for you to feel at home. I don't think any innkeepers before have done so much as these do two did for us. They really made that weekend unforgettable.

We were there for Mothers Day and we did opt to get a lot of extras such as cooking class, Sukiyaki dinner etc. All the food was really authentic and it was thus not a surprise when we learned that Sedao previously had owned a boarding house in Japan.

The other innkeeper Louise has a heart as big as this planet. She is so loving and although I am not a fan of hugs and stuff then she immediately embraces and hugs you when you arrive. She does it in such a nice manner that I didn't feel completely overwhelmed. The entire time we were there she was asking to read books to our children, taking us for walks etc etc.

When we left we left loaded with little gifts, soaps, washcloths, bags, caps etc. All made from with their logo and very japanese to give all these gifts.

I was so happy because with Earthquakes etc we can't go to Japan but this way our children got to get a taste of Japan, without flying for 14+ hours.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dkrejser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshires-Shirakaba, Owner at Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Thank you!
It was such a joy to meet your family. Not being blessed as yet with grandchildren, I love to read to any guests who are interested. Gift giving is always important in Japan. we are glad you enjoyed them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

I really enjoyed my hosts because they both made me feel at home and extremely comfortable. The suite we had was very comfortable, airy, and tastefully furnished including a large screen tv in each room. The Japanese snacks are delicious! The fridge is well stocked with juices, sodas or water, depending on your own preference. There is also an electic water heater to make your own tea or hot chocolate.

We were located within 15 miles of both Vermont and New York, several large cities and shopping malls, museums, historical sites, and just plain beautiful mountains.

We really enjoyed the heated indoor lap pool and the beautiful white gazebo located down a well lit, tree shaded path, about a 2-3 minute leisurely walk from the guest house. The Gazebo is located on a cliff with unobstructed views of the mountains. The grounds of the guest house provide a serene setting including a waterfall flowing into the gold fish pond.

Room Tip: both suites are excellent, a couple might like the 2 person shower better, any noise is made by your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palavoie02724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshires-Shirakaba, Owner at Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Thank you! It was lovely to meet you and share in your discoveries around us, especially the blue eggs! It was great that you were able to extend your stay with us! We now have a policy to rent both suites if groups are traveling with children under 12
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

This was a fantastic stay. Nothing was too much trouble for Louise and they made us and our two girls (3 and 9) feel like we were staying with kindly relatives rather than in a B&B. Very relaxing. The Berkshires is a beautiful area too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonturton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshires-Shirakaba, Owner at Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Thank you. It is always fun meeting families from other countries.
Your daughters are delightful. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your US visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

The Shirakaba Guest House is a little gem in the Berkshires. It is very intimate and filled with personalized attention. We rented both suites, and had a full family vacation. There are plenty of options to relax at the house - whether to lounge on the deck and enjoy the mountain views, or sit in the common area and watch a movie with great sound quality and huge screen. The innkeepers are lovely and most helpful - from personalized drinks in your mini fridge, to made to order breakfasts, and even tickets to the sold out James Taylor concert. Louise thinks of everything to attend to your comforts and needs. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable - including great sheets and mattress! The outside jacuzzi was a treat at night under the stars, and we regret not taking advantage of the swimming pool! There is always next time...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winebrilliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshires-Shirakaba, Owner at Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Thank you. We enjoy catering to our guests and I do get on the phone early to try and get James Taylor tickets to Tanglewood. We enjoyed meeting you all and are happy you enjoyed your stay in the Berkshires!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

My spouse and I did not celebrate our wedding anniversary last year because he was in the emergency room. This year we wanted to make up for it and do something very special so we chose Berkshire Shirakaba. I had worked at the Kushi Institute in Becket MA and also studied macrobiotic cooking at the Vega Institute in CA. For those of you unfamiliar with macrobiotics it is Japanese style cooking. My spouse also likes Japanese food. I can assure that you if you are looking for an authentic Japanese experience, you won't be dissapointed. We started with steamed edamame and sake on the gazebo which has a panoramic view of the Berkshire Hills. Then we were dressed in Japanese robes and escorted to the tatami room (floor seating on very comfortable mats) for our 4 course dinner. I chose Salmon with ginger and soy and my spouse had salmon with teriyaki. It was cooked on sizzling plates with broccoli with side bowls of steamed rice. Both were fabulous. Prior to the main course, we were treated to cucumber salad (cool and sweet), miso soup (perfectly brewed) and chawanmushi soup (gorgeous sweet fish cake soup with tiny lotus shaped carrots on top and loaded with pink striped fish cakes and mitake or shitake mushrooms). Dessert was amaretto cake, freshly baked warm brownies with cinnamon and chocolate chips and green tea ice cream. You will not leave hungry! We were given a button to press in between courses to "ring" for the next course. Now that's service! There was plenty of freshly brewed hot green tea (delicious), ice water (with or without lemon wedges) and hot sake throughout the meal. Afterward, we sat on the expansive deck and viewed the constellations through an IPad which you point toward the sky and it identifies the stars and planets! Our fanatabulous evening lasted 5 hours! We were never rushed and we were treated like royalty. If you are looking for a unique and very special evening, this is where you want to go. Honey bunch and I are looking forward to a fall visit where we plan to stay overnight and soak in the hot tub under the stars in the cool crisp autumn air.

Room Tip: We did not stay overnight but toured the rooms and all are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbiandjerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshires-Shirakaba, Owner at Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Thank you! It was a pleasure to help you celebrate your special day with us.
We now serve dinners to parties of 4-6 in the Japanese tatami mat room or at a western table, summer offers more options with the gazebo, screened in porch and deck dining.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed in one of the two suites at the Berkshires-Shirakaba Guest House. There was more than ample room to spread out, with two rooms, private bath, and a little terrace looking out over a beautifully planted garden The bed was exceptionally comforable. Tea, fruit, and wonderful Japanese cookies were always available. We both enjoyed our American and Japanese breakfasts. Our hosts could not have been more friendly or helpful. This is a good spot from which to explore Williamstown and environs.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynthialilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshires-Shirakaba, Owner at Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Thank you! We love meeting new people and we strive to have your suite stocked with your favorite things!. New Ashford is a good spot to explore.
Being so close to VT and Williamstown MA and a pleasant drive south to Lenox or Great Barrington
is helpful for our guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Ashford
3.1 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
9.9 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Wyndham at Bentley Brook
8.0 mi away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
19.0 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House

Property: Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House
Address: 20 Mallery Road, New Ashford, MA 01237-9623
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > New Ashford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21+ acres, private, two suite, resort style, Berkshires bed and breakfast, Williamstown MA area, free wi-fi, 9' x 39' indoor pool, 6 person hot tub, 3 person Saunatec Far Infared Sauna.. Matsu No Ma Suite, 418 sq.ft., king size Tempur Pedic bed, Japanese Tatami mat room use as sitting room for Romantic getaway, sleeps second couple Japanese style, or up to 3 children, full bath, shower for two, Take No Ma Suite, 415 sq.ft., has Queen size bed, private bath w/shower/tub, second private bedroom/sitting room with full size sofa bed. Suites have: Mini fridge, microwave, HDTV w/cable/Bluray player ( Take No Ma Suite has them in both bedrooms), Japanese hot water pot. Complimentary snacks and beverages. Free Japanese or made to order Western breakfast, optional 6 course Japanese dinners. BYOB no credit cards accepted ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House New Ashford, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing