We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family favorite”
Review of Not Your Average Joe's - CLOSED

Not Your Average Joe's
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 135
Transit: Mass Transit bus: 59... Commuter Rail access: Needham Center Stop...
Description: What does creative casual cuisine mean? Exactly what it says. We"re creative, because we reject the same-old-same-old in favor of tastes that are interesting and unique. We're casual because while our food may be worth getting dressed up for, we invite you to come as you are. We're all about cuisine in the sense that our chefs apply high standards of culinary art. There it is. Creative. Casual. Cuisine. If it sounds like your kind of place, then you – like us- are not your average Joe.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
238 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Family favorite”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Always a great place to take kids. We go regularly. I love the goat cheese salad with salmon, but especially the bread and dip! Mac n cheese for the kids is very cheesy- my daughter doesn't like it so rich- so be prepared.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Freya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    60
    32
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“SShhhh. Don't tell the staff that this is actually a chain.”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My family eats here at least once a month and it's uniformly good. I would never have guessed it's a chain. The staff all seems like they like to be there. They are friendly without being cheesy. We get the same servers frequently. The quality of the food is really good -- so much better than you'd expect from a chain restaurant. The interior is fun and quirky. The only downside is the often long lines to get in.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelhappyboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, FL
Level Contributor
303 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Unusual Menu, Delicious Food, Warm Service”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We mt anther couple or dinner Friday evening. NYAJ was crowded but they had a large booth ready for us at 7 as reserved.

The ladies split a carafe of wine, the guys chose Margaritas. They were tasty generous cocktails, served in shakers. Easily two standard drinks and for about $8.

The menu was quite interesting with unusual options, but not an overwhelming number of items to challenge the kitchen.

I opted or the cranberry-teriyaki chicken with butternut squash cannelloni. It made a beautiful presentation and it was delicious.

S enjoyed her rosemary skewered scallops with a succotash of israeli couscous, roasted butternut squash, spinach. She had them hold the bacon.

The waiter was friendly and attentive, and despite the bustle of a full house we felt well tended to.

This was my first visit to Not Your Average Joe's. It won't be my last. I only regret they don't have a location near the Tampa Bay area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OldRoadWarrior60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great takeout, always crowded”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We use it mostly for takeaway pizza, which has always been excellent and comes in several unusual combination in addition to the standard ones. The inside part of the restaurant is fairly small, always crowded and usually noisy, but the food has been good the couple of times we have eaten inside.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank bosox67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Below average”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Let's get one thing straight - my family and I have been coming regularly to NYAJ for as long as it's been open, some fifteen years. We like NYAJ for its decent food at a good price point, and the ambience is fine - place is popular with families with young kids. Unfortunately, the restaurant cannot maintain a consistent standard. Our meal on New Year's Eve was remarkably poor. A mustard-chicken entrée was extremely dry, coffees were served almost cold and bread pudding was unattractive and not served with any custard, cream or ice cream to make it palatable. The restaurant may have had a bad day, and it was NY Eve, so we won't stop going, but we won't take it for granted that MYAJ is predictably good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JadedInBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Not Your Average Joe's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing