We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good food and service. Limited menu, I think by design.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gourmet Decisions Cafe & Grill

Gourmet Decisions Cafe & Grill
Ranked #19 of 125 Restaurants in Natick
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food and service. Limited menu, I think by design.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

The food is always good, cost a little, I only go when I have a coupon for discount.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank stme1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    7
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
222 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

They have a fabulous, different brunch and dinner is served Th-Sunday only with the food being top quality and fresh. They have the best bread ever, too. It's small and intimate and best of all, QUIET. You can actually talk to each other here. Great place.

Helpful?
Thank whales44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem MA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Greatly Disappointing Dinner Experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

This is, perhaps, a place that means well during the dinner hour. I haven't had breakfast or lunch here, and maybe that's when they do well. But dinner was greatly disappointing.

Not that they aren't superficially trying to be ambitious. Their dinner menu looks quite exotic. An appetizer of butternut squash ravioil with sage, prosciutto, in a butter-cream-lemon sauce. The execution? The ravioli were fine, but not much sage and way too heavy on the lemon, which practically drowned out everything else. The sauce was like a much too lemony hollandaise.

We also ordered beef short ribs topped with a blueberry balsamic reduction sauce. The beef was fine. The problem is that the sauce wasn't reduced enough. You got tart blueberries and vinegar. If the sauce had been reduced more, you would have gotten more of the sugary, even caramelized aspects of the fruit, and the fruit and the vinegar would have melded together more. Instead, it was fruit (at least you could tell that the fruit was fresh) and vinegar on short ribs.

A salad we ordered, according to the menu, consisted of "filed greens" (sic) and romaine lettuce, among other things. The 'field greens' were barely in evidence, with much more of the romaine that was mostly near the stem, rather than the more leafy green part. The salad base came off as more of one you'd find in pre-prepared plastic package in your nearby Stop & Shop.

Prices are high at dinner. $9 for the ravioli appetizer (with 5 medium sized ravioli), and $24.95 for the short ribs, which came accompanied with some seasonal vegetables and mashed potatoes.

Service was slow. There was one waitress for the entire restaurant (though about a dozen tables in the place) and there was a woman, who appeared to be the manager, was also helping out. She was very nice, but at one point came over and asked us how the ravioli was. When we mentioned that while the ravioli were fine, the sauce had much too much lemon in it, covering up the more subtle flavors. Her response was, "Everyone likes that dish". I could only respond to that with "Maybe it's an off night for it."

So, it's from only one sample on which I write this review, but the meal was a great disappointment. I can't recommend anything about it from our one experience there. The menu is ambitious, but the execution just couldn't match it by a long shot. And for the price? Forgeddaboutit. Perhap stick to lunch or breakfast.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AnalogJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Every bite is delicious.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

Here's a local favorite; Gourmet Decisions in Natick, MA. Tucked into a corner next to The Dolphin restaurant, this place is the best for breakfast for miles around. For starters, their bread used for toast is excellent. I love the West Coast Benedict and the Huevos Rancheros. All the ingredients are fresh and of high quality and combined in thoughtful and tasty ways. The owner, Stephanie, and the staff are friendly and the atmosphere is cozy in the winter with a gas fireplace to sit next to if your lucky.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cadmiumyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food in tucked away restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

My husband and I had dinner at Gourmet Decisions last Thursday night. Our server was very informative and helpful. We shared two meals: Osso Bucco and Roast Duckling. Both meals were excellently prepared and came with parmesan polenta (osso bucco), wild brown rice (duckling), and roasted vegetables (both). The Osso Bucco also came with a garden salad with fresh greens. All were cooked/prepared to perfection. It was the first time we dined at this restaurant and plan to return for dinner and also to try their breakfasts and lunches.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourmet Decisions Cafe & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Gourmet Decisions Cafe & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing