We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diner delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casey's Diner

Casey's Diner
Ranked #1 of 129 Restaurants in Natick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $12
Cuisines: American, Fast Food, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout
Description: Located in Natick, Massachusetts, Casey's Diner has been in operation for over 120 years. Casey's Diner was first established in 1890 with a 4-stool, horse drawn wagon that Fred Casey purchased from the Brooks family. The current diner was built in 1922 by the Worcester Lunch Car Company and has been located in downtown Natick since 1927. It has passed from father to son for four generations. Famous for its steamed hotdogs, Casey's is a local landmark in Natick, serving generations of families for more than a century. The Diner is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is one of the oldest operating diners in Massachusetts (possibly even the United States!).
Level Contributor
169 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Diner delicious”
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

A real throw back to the classic diner set in a train caboose. A real local atmosphere with quick service, wit and fresh food. We started with the classic hot dog in a bun followed by hamburgers with your choice of garnish. Can't beat the prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rubyfoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    24
    4
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
409 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Unique diner experience”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Went after hearing lots of good things. Such a cool diner experience in the trolley car. The staff was super friendly. We tried a hot dog and a split a burger. The hot dog was good, but I thought the burger was really the thing that made me want to come back. I'll return for sure.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“20 years and another generation later, It is still the BEST!!”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

It had been 20 years or so since my last visit to Casey's Diner in Natick,MA. Now that I know they are open on Sundays (11am-3pm) I will be going back a LOT sooner! It is a 10 stool Worcester Lunch Car built in 1922 and formerly horse drawn. The next generation of Caseys were running it this day and it seems the same as it did when I was last there. The bright silver hood, copper steamer and original coffee urn, the mosaic tile floor, stools and wooden sliding door are still there. It is a block off of Rts 135 and 27. i have been on a busy weekday when someone is almost sliding under you as you get up to take your stool and a LINE at the takeout window. This Sunday they had just opend and it seems that would be a great time if you have kids in tow. It is on the Historic Register and is a MUST for any true diner fan. Hint( listen to the hot dog lingo after you order, ( down the middle, around the world, etc,) Take your kids and have fun!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mbp144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must visit”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Old fashion dining car with 10 stools. Great hamburgers, tuna melts and dogs by the bushel. Good Old fashion lunch food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Thosbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Its limited, inexpensive, but really popular”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Casey's is a Natick institution. Don't expect "gourmet", but you can get really good hot dogs and burgers for very little money. Menu is limited, seating is limited, but every little league team, pop warner team, etc. is there in the summer. People wait in line outside, and they handle the crowds quickly. If you're just looking for a quick burger, and a good one, Casey's is the place.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casey's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Casey's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing