We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pantry

The Pantry
Ranked #23 of 129 Restaurants in Natick
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 9
Description: The Pantry is our three meal ode to classic American cuisine. The Pantry has been custom designed to celebrate all things culinary. We have highlighted pieces of equipment that are in all of our kitchens from our unique cutlery lighting fixtures to the rolling pin and muffin tin walls to videos showcasing some of our favorite chefs in the art of cooking. Our menu is full of classic American favorites with a modern twist. We buy the best products in the area and present them with fresh and innovative style. Our Chef's Pantry buffet table at breakfast offers fresh cut fruits, granola, a selection of breads, muffins, eggs, potatoes, bacon and sausage. Other morning signatures include our breakfast pizzas and specialty pancakes. Lunch and Dinner offerings include a daily soup, specialty burgers, and a variety of salads, sandwiches and savory entrees. Every morning The Pantry restaurant offers breakfast buffet of fresh cut fruits, granola, a selection of breads, muffins, eggs, potatoes, bacon and sausage and also includes lunch options which change on a weekly basis but include pasta, fresh fruits, salad, soup du jour, chicken, seasonal sides, omelets and a selection of desserts.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza during a weekend shopping trip to Natick. For breakfast, we went to the Pantry. What a great way to start the day. Loved the fun decor and the food was very good. Wish we had found the Pantry earlier and tried the dinner menu. You definitely should not pass up the Pantry!

Helpful?
Thank CJnLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    26
    11
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service on the slow side”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

As other reviewers mentioned, the Pantry is not well known, as it's in the Verve (Crown Plaza) Hotel. The decor is fairly contemporary, with clean lines, but the constantly running silent loop of food shows - including the French Chef with Julia Child - are a bit distracting.
It took me a while from the time I ordered my drink until I received it. The Violet Thorn is one of their signature drinks, and was excellent. We had the baked oysters, which were fresh and wonderfully prepared. The mussels were excellent as well. We also each ordered salads, and they were fresh, tasty and filling. Mine had orange, pistachio, and some fried goat cheese as garnish.
The Pantry is a refreshing change from all the chain restaurants along route 9. The only drawback is that they had one wait person for the restaurant, and she was gracious but very apologetic for the delays.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank megalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great date night find.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We decided to give the new restaurant in the Crowne Plaza a shot. We had tickets to a movie down the street and wanted to go someplace local where the food and drinks would be as good as driving into Boston. This restaurant was very good. My husbands steak was cooked perfectly. I had the scallop dish. Scallops were beautiful. The sauce was a little too sweet for my taste, but overall, still a nice entree. We got a fancy banana split for dessert and it was amazing! Drinks were solid and service was attentitive. The only downside is it was empty at 6pm on Friday, so it felt a little bizarre being the only diners there. That said, we will definitely be back. It was reasonably priced for a nice dinner out, and there are only so many restaurants in this area that serve a more sophisticated menu. Great place for a date night. I hope word gets out about this place because I'd like it/executive chef to stick around!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bos2nGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem of Natick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

My husband is very quick to buy online deals. I was skeptical of trying a hotel restaurant that doesn't have many reviews, but was pleasantly surprised from the moment I entered The Verve hotel. The restaurant was quiet, so we got exceptional service from both the waitstaff and manager. They offer free wine tasting before choosing a glass to compliment your meal, which is always fun and the manager graciously brought out two house cocktails for us to try, since I couldn't make up my mind. They were both amazing!!! Kudos to the mixologist-purified aloe water, lemongrass, and Belvedere-great combo! We started out with a tasty calamari with fried jalepeno rings and the salmon and fra diavalo entrees were a home run! We ended the night with a refreshing raspberry sorbet that was surprisingly better than expected. Overall, we had a great dinner at a quiet, clean, and fresh new restaurant. There aren't that many unique eateries in the Metrowest area, but The Pantry is definitely worth trying!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RLK1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food in a shocking location - its at the Crowne Plaza hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

The seafood fra diavolo was spicy and delish, pasta linguini was cooked perfect. The manager Paolo took great care of us and my 5 year old, she loved her custom made Luau drink and ice creal sundae!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scanna283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pantry also viewed

 

Been to The Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing