We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting, friendly plus good food”

The Monterey General Store
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Monterey
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Re-opened with great fanfare in the Autumn of 2012, under the stewardship of veteran restaurateur Scott Edward Cole, The “New” Monterey General Store is happily serving the needs of the local community. As well, drawing visitors from near and far to experience its simple, rustic charms, and to partake in wholesome, house made foods derived from many local and nearby sources.At the Monterey General Store, you will find pantry staples, home made baked goods and pastries, breakfast and lunch offerings, specialty food items, meats and cheeses, housewares, and other curiosities.We are exceedingly proud to offer local maple syrup, honey, goat cheese, vegetables, and artisanal craft items all created by our friends and neighbors.
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting, friendly plus good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

Great Soup, welcoming atmosphere. Inside and outside tables to sit at while you enjoy your food. No rush.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joaniefk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellefontaine, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Roadside gourmet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

The breakfast food was okay. Not much else unless you are in the market for gourmet food. Not really a general store. Everything is pricey. Roast beef @ 11.95 or Roast turkey@ 12.95. Have to get back to my local market where roast beef is $4.99 a pound and locally raised.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“sentimental”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I love this place for its significance in my family history. It is incredibly charming and welcoming.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank denver68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire County, MA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little snooty”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you need a nine dollar loaf of bread, this is the place for you. There doesn't seem to be much for sale, and they're very into "craftsy" stuff ... home made jam and things like that. I was told they had beer, but when I went in last May for a sixie, the girl said they didn't have their license yet. Maybe they do now. They don't sell smokes. Far too snooty to stoop to such pedestrian merchandise. Très gauche, dontch know.

The summer Montereyan's, mostly from the NYC metro, seem to like the place. But they would. The litter the local landscape from Memorial Day to Labor Day, with their artsy and aloof swagger. The owner seems a bit ... self-absorbed and off-putting. We'll see how he survives the off-season for the next year or two, when you have to be good to the locals because that's all you have.

If you're looking for snoot, snobbery and very, very ... fahncy, well drop it to the Monterey General store for some web surfing and a fahncy snack. From the back tables you can look straight down your nose to the front door.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank GeoffFromMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Berkshires, MA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Breakfast and lunch but no longer a general store”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Forget the groceries, but if you're in the area and looking for breakfast or lunch, check out this unusual eatery. There are some high-end pricy food items to buy and a nice take-out deli, but eating in is the deal. We had our lunch on the back deck overlooking the river. My husband really liked his ham and cheese sandwich and i had chicken curry on a bed of greens. A few extra greens would have been nice since all sandwiches are served with greens.

The service was inept and the very nice young people clearly untrained. My salad arrived without utensils. My iced chi tea (a nice touch) didn't arrive so I asked for it. Then another server showed up with another glass when my meal was almost done. He claimed he couldn't find me.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank webwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Monterey General Store also viewed

 

Been to The Monterey General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing