We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting food rude owner and staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Sweetheart Inn

Sweetheart Inn
Ranked #43 of 119 Restaurants in Methuen
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disgusting food rude owner and staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

The food was awful the waitstaff was very rude and the owner was also very rude.Avoid this place and go elsewhere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Bell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    11
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
159 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“One of a kind Mom and Pop Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This restaurant is tucked away in the country so it was hard to find but once we arrived, the food was great. There were many menu items and specials. Service was great. I would recommend this Restaurant.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank EilSat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
121 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Sweethheart Inn is a Classic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

This restaurant is tucked out of the way in the woods. The place needs a make over as it appears to be a throw back to the 1950's. The menu is extensive and is probably the reason that the food is just average. With some renovations and an updated menu, the place has potential but is in a time warp at this time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tfjm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Always on Valentine's Day...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have been sharing our Valentine's Day with the Sweetheart Inn for many years now. We always call for reservations and request 'our' special corner booth (only if it's available)...and it always is...thank you Leean! Last night's dinner was as good as it usually is. A bit of a wait for drinks (if only 1 bartender was on, I'd have put on another...). The mussels were superb, the seafood cakes good but a bit overdone. We ordered filets...both medium rare...and only one came that way - the other was quite clearly medium-medium well. We split them so we each could enjoy part of a good steak...which, the MR was awesome. Lovely dessert (volcano cake) and who doesn't ADORE heart-shaped shortbread cookies and a long stemmed red rose to end a wonderful evening out at a cozy little spot in the middle of the snow covered woods in our home town?

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ctwix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“disappointment around every corner”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Calling the food mediocre is a compliment to the sub-par food.
Service is incredibly slow.
Wait staff (aside from the attentive bus boy) was dismissive, inattentive and slow.
If you can avoid this restaurant, please do!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank MMBD1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetheart Inn also viewed

 

Been to Sweetheart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing