We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DELISH!”

Dolce Freddo Gelato
Ranked #2 of 5 Dessert in Methuen
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
673 reviews
384 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“DELISH!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Methuen is lucky to have this gem! Dolce Freddo Gelato has the single best Gelato around.
Don't by fooled by others...this is the real deal! The flavor I think is BETTER than regular run of the mill ice cream. I love ice cream but Gelato brings the flavor out in a different way. Less fat too! Oh yeah and don't be fooled by the portion size...this stuff is that flavorful. Eating with those small spoons just adds to the whole experience. Always a joy to visit here.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CMC_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
McAllen
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“After Dinner Delight”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a hard time finding the place at night, but the gelato was well worth the search. There were so many flavors to choose from that it was difficult to make a decision, but I ended up with the chocolate (always my favorite) and my husband had the coffee. We ordered coffee (an expresso and a latte) to go with the gelatos and it, too, was superb. And as was noted in some of the other reviews, the staff is SO friendly...we were treated so well. It was perfect ending to a wonderful evening in Methune! If you are in the vicinity and like a good gelato or coffee served by friendly staff, Dolce Freddo's is the place to go!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGG45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

No one could ask for more than authentic gelato made in an authentic Italian machine by an Italian born and bred man.

The fact that the gelato has far less cream than ice cream allows the flavors to really come out but still not be too strong. Master gelato maker Andrea has a perfect touch.

Many folks love the deep rich chocolate flavors, but I more a fan of the lighter flavors. I recently had the orange creamsicle, which tastes like a high quality orange sherbet.

I also enjoy the non-alcoholic Amaretto flavor and often select the white chocolate peanut butter cup. The tiramisu gelato, which includes Andrea's made-from-scratch tiramisu, is equally good.

Andrea has an equal, and even more rare, talent for finding teens who seem to enjoy their work. They are always helpful and cheerful on even very busy days. (I would be too if I could have the incredible gelato every day.)

Further, the prices are comparable to what you would pay for ice cream of very good, but not as good as gelato, quality.

The Italian cups and neon spoons add to the fun.

Run, do not walk, to the locations in Methuen, Newburyport, and (soon) Portsmouth.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAtraveller87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“What's Not To Love??”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

LOVE their gelato...and such friendly service. Don't just eat some there but take some home!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smiley14355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent cappuccino, espresso and of course gelato”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We go here often for the cappuccino and it's worth the trip. The gelato is the real deal. Andrea makes it on the premises and you can sample whatever flavor you're interested in.
I love the cappuccino and espresso. Beats DD's, Starbucks hands down.
Quaint cafe atmosphere and friendly staff make it an enjoyable experience. Owner Andrea is very friendly and a pleasure to talk with.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Macboy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolce Freddo Gelato also viewed

 

Been to Dolce Freddo Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing