We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rigid Rules”
Review of Santana Rae's - CLOSED

Santana Rae's
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rigid Rules”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The food was pretty good the drinks were good. I wanted to get a variety of tacos. Three come with a meal. They refused to honor my request. I thought it was foolish. Had three fish taco, they were pretty good.
They don't take the Discover Card for payment. 5% off restraunts now.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    9
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worse Than Average”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We went here a couple months ago and were not impressed with food at all. My wife is half mexican, so we have tried most of the cantinas within 50 miles. We know the cuisine. The flavors were confused or just not there, and all our dishes were sent back. Best thing was the dogfish head on tap.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matty2999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“More Authentic than 90% of Mexican Restaurants around”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I'll just say a few things:
- The Margarita's were NOT from a mix, and they were excellent !!!
- The wait person was awesome !!!
- The decor wasn't great, but it was a Bugaboo Creek before so I'll give 'em a break. Just didn't feel 'festive' (not that it really should, but that's the feeling I had).
- Chips and Salsa reminded me of Restaurants in Texas (or even San Diego), not the Northeast
- The Entree I had (enchilada) was very good, but not excellent (a bit over sauced). This is the main reason it's a 4 star and not a 5 star

I would highly recommend this restaurant, especially considering the other choices in this area!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MyGirlsDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Needs some work”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

regardless of not so good reviews we decided to give it a shot. Service was good although we heard the girl who sat the couple behind us made it a point to tell them some of the favorites and where the drink menu was...which was ON the table but we hadn't looked at it until after the waiter brought our drinks (and we would have ordered off that rather than the limited drinks (margaritas) on the menu with the food but in any event the gentleman just sat us and never said another word ...the food was good but it was far from hot. There were no specials and a very limited menu. We got enchiladas and a burrito because nothing else interested us. Would I go back? Maybe but maybe not. there should be NO reason for barely warm food with hardly anyone in the restaurant but that's a kitchen issue. and if the parking lot looks full I'm guessing it's because when we went we saw people parking there and walking to the loop

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jltmet56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First time, intrigued by website”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Not a 5 star place but hubby and I agreed we would come again. By the looks of the parking lot (which appeared FULL), we weren't going to go in but hubby scoped it out while I parked. We sat at the bar - which was huge. The service was a bit slow and we couldn't quite tell who our waiter was because several people served us. Not sure if the bartenders cover for one another for those dining at the bar? We're not drinkers so can't vouch for the drinks but hubby had the chile rubbed pork lion and I had the baha fish tacos. His pork was very tender and he enjoyed his dish, my fish tacos were very good but my rice and black beans were bland (which was OK with me because I'm not a spicy person but if one enjoys spice, there was none) and the sides luke warm :-(. My dish would have been much better if both sides were hot. Overall, not a bad meal...about $33 before tip, no drinks. The place never completely filled up but it seemed busy. The bar was comfortable, spacious and not too loud. The servers were friendly but not overly attentive. Sitting right at the bar, you would think my water would have been refilled at some point??? We'd give it another try!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dkiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santana Rae's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing