We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and company outpaced the food.”
Review of New England Seafood Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
New England Seafood Restaurant
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
markus2229
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Service and company outpaced the food.”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stopped with my wife on the way back from New Hampshire, it was a Sunday afternoon. Saw the sign from the highway and decided to give it a shot. The interior was eclectic, lots of seafood type decor and keno signs everywhere. The crowd was sparse and distinctly older. My lovely wife ordered the fried cod basket and fried and I ordered the scallops basket. To be honest, we received generous portions of both. Also honest--- food was very greasy and worse yet, bland. Literally flavorless. Perhaps to cater to the older crowd? We did share a banana concoction for dessert that we both loved. The service was excellent and if the food were a bit better we may have stopped again. As it stands, no.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markus2229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    15
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windham, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hit or miss”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Never know what your going to get... Food is good most times. Staff on the ball. Sometimes the bands are to loud...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JOHN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I never would have stopped here if it were not for the reviews I read. It is right off the highway in a motel that is not the greatest. However, the food here is excellent. They always have specials and typically that includes a lobster special. Their lobster salad is also good as is their fried whole body clams.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank terry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, ME
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not bad, reasonably priced”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Liked having a restaurant right at the hotel so I didn't have to drive around in an unfamiliar area looking for a place to eat. Food was decent. I'd recommend it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Seafood”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Came here for my birthday dinner. Love the fish and chips.....fried clams are to die for too!! Definitely will go back!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New England Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing