We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best chowder on the island. Great fish”

Menemsha Fish Market
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Menemsha
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best chowder on the island. Great fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

It may look scruffy, but it is the best. The owners are caring and friendly. The fish often comes in that morning caught by the owner himself. They sell the best chowder, bisque and lobster rolls on the island. The cooked lobster orders are always ready on schedule.

Unlike any of the competing shops, these owners stay open all year long to serve their community the freshest fish long after the tourist season ends.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mrpicky65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    37
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malta, New York
Level Contributor
135 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The hot lobster roll was delicious, though pricey, but it's lobster, you get what you pay for. Friendly service, too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravenclaw79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great lobster value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Friendly people and quick service. The $20 lobster dinner with bisque or chowder at sunset was a highlight of my visit. It's a fish market order at the counter and they cook it up right away. Limited seating or tables outside but it just makes for part of the adventure.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The real thing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

great chowda!! great shellfish, year in and year out. its a refreshing authentic experience served raw and UN-curated. not really a restaurant but i never miss a trip. would have given them 5 balls if they hadn't turned LobsterZilla into bisque!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 888kenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Roll on the island.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I know, I know, everyone says Larsen's and I will go to Larsen's 10 times out of 10 for some chowder, but the Larsen's lobster roll is only served cold and the bread gets too soggy. For the best lobster roll I've ever had, I go to the Menemsha Fish market, a true hidden Vineyard gem!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoneFishing0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Menemsha Fish Market also viewed

Menemsha, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Menemsha Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing