We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lobster value!”

Menemsha Fish Market
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Menemsha
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Covina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great lobster value!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Friendly people and quick service. The $20 lobster dinner with bisque or chowder at sunset was a highlight of my visit. It's a fish market order at the counter and they cook it up right away. Limited seating or tables outside but it just makes for part of the adventure.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    40
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The real thing”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

great chowda!! great shellfish, year in and year out. its a refreshing authentic experience served raw and UN-curated. not really a restaurant but i never miss a trip. would have given them 5 balls if they hadn't turned LobsterZilla into bisque!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 888kenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Roll on the island.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I know, I know, everyone says Larsen's and I will go to Larsen's 10 times out of 10 for some chowder, but the Larsen's lobster roll is only served cold and the bread gets too soggy. For the best lobster roll I've ever had, I go to the Menemsha Fish market, a true hidden Vineyard gem!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoneFishing0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great place "please read"”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Went to larsons fish market first and the line was out the door! We were pressed for time due to the ferry closing at 5pm disappointed that we wouldn't have time for lobsters we past menemsha fish market and talked to an older fisherman outside and told him our dilemma, he brought us inside and told us not to worry he would make it happen for us. In less then 10 minutes we had two lobsters,clam chowder,and drinks. We made the ferry just in time and enjoyed the lobsters and chowder on the beach,just so happened to be named lobsterville beach. I can't say enough about how nice everyone was there ESP the older fisherman, they went out of there way to help us and make us happy and I will never forget the kindness they showed us. On a side note lobsterville beach has free parking and the beach was beautiful and not crowded and the sunset was just as amazing. There's a bike ferry the runs from menemsha to lobsterville beach form 9 to 5 so u can go to the shops and eat there then go back to the beach and u won't have to deal with the Mob of pple.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Drewlou102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, MA
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“All the flavor, slightly less hip”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

MFM suffers only from being next door to Larsen's. The more famous neighbor has cooler t-shirts and souvenirs. Other than that, they are darned close in quality and value. MFM seems to try a little harder, and will cook your catch if you charter fish, where Larsen's will not. The special last week was hot or cold lobster roll with lobster bisque or clam chowder for $13-15 or so. Free samples of the soups help you decide and seal the deal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TwilightChrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Menemsha Fish Market also viewed

Menemsha, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Menemsha Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing