We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed with the food”
Review of The Beach Plum Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Menemsha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beach Plum Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Menemsha B&B and Inns
oak bluffs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“disappointed with the food”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We've been coming for years. Love the place, the location, and everything. This time the staff were wonderful and the place just as great as ever.

BUT the chef changed. That did not mean more than happy curiosity until we saw the menu.

Limited choices. Very. Also too much fried (the only chicken was fried). Fish bland - chef does not know herbs and red pepper? Paprika? A slab of white fish on a white plate with a pale sauce and pale veg ( very few of the above) not appetizing.
Green salad so small for 12 dollars virtually a dollar a leaf.
Extra charges for veg or potatoes etc.

Just a rip off now. So sad. We'd have paid up happily for good food and a bit of a choice!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    21
    8
    12
    8
See reviews for
16
42
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Menemsha is our favorite place to stay on the island. And the Beach Plum and Menemsha Inn are really the (only) places to stay, save week-long plus house rentals. The area is quiet, calm and serene. The beaches nearby - in Menemsha and Lucy Vincent are great and the area surrounding is rural and refreshing (especially after siting on a packed ferry and navigating through Oak Bluffs and Vineyard Haven traffic and tourists). We spent a few days exploring the more bustling towns and quickly wished busted back to the Inn.

For the peace and quiet and tranquility, you will pay a price. For the $$, you'll likely get less in accommodation "quality" than you might typically expect (old school small TVs w/VHS slots, dorm refrigerators that don't work, quasi-operational windows, etc.). I think most people who stay there recognize this and appreciate the Beach Plum and Menemsha Inns for what they are.

Breakfast is nice and free - cereal, granola, fresh OJ, coffee, some baked goods - with larger breakfasts available for additional $s.

Food is available at the Inn, in Menemsha, and nearby at the (relatively) new State Rd restaurant.

Menemsha is dry, which was fine by us as we BYO and enjoyed only paying corkage vs. huge mark-ups. Something to consider and plan for.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chilmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

after meeting another couple on the porch and admiring the beautiful grounds and view, things went downhill. we were told that there was no tonic for the gin and that the chair cushions were put away after their prior two events of the season. this was Beach Plums 1st night serving dinner for 2012. The service was fine. The meals were not. The main complaint was the size of the dishes. I was the only one who was satisfied and I had a lobster appetizer and a side of the beets. Very good. My husband is lactose intolerant, couldn't have the boulliabaisse and was told the chef could make a delicious monk dish. He said it was mediocre and there was little of it. One of our party did have the bouillabaisse and it was a very small portion and the oddest looking bouillabaisse we had ever seen. There was no tomato base, it was dry and the amount of seafood served was almost laughable. The 4th person had chicken. There were 3 small chunks of white meat with something attached to it, she thought it may be a part fois gras and didn't eat it. She didn't eat the vegetables as well. They didn't look appetizing. The dessert menu sounded very interesting. We ordered the chocolate, bruille etc. to split. When it was presented, we were astounded at the size of the dish! 3 or 4 small bites of a chocolate cake, surrounded by tiny squirts of I'm assuming the bruille or lemon something. It wasn't possible to get it onto a spoon.
I heard our friend fairly loudly exclaim his dismay about the meal when we were going out the front door: I think his displeasure was heard by more than myself.
Sadly, we won't be eating there again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Chilmarkislandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Menemsha hotels

london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

The location is beautiful - of the beaten track and a lovely place to visit for a short break.

Menemsha itself is very quiet and bar the port there is not a lot going on - that being said the scenery is beautiful and the lobster rolls and chowder at the many eateries are quality.
We headed out to Oak Bluffs and Edgar Town for more sight seeing.

We stayed in the Hosta Cottage at the beach plum inn - we were travelling with our 5 month son and note to any young families the residence does not have any kettles so if you are in your own room by a travel kettle.

The staff were friendly and helpful in parts and bar an issue regards charging my credit card for the room payment twice all went well.

The B&B is a lovely location and nice accomodation - however some levels of service do not meet with being a first class establishment. This could be because they know they have a great product with no competition in the area or just due to a very laid back attitude.

That being said we were on holiday and did have a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diddyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The Beach Plum is off the beaten path, but that's what makes it great! Quite, tranquil, and peaceful. The staff is friendly and helpful. You can always go to the local towns and get in the mix, but then come back in time for the best sunsets on the island. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The Cosmo great for Single or Couple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mifcnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The food is pricy but in line with MV's upscale places. The service is professional.Food is well-prepared.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank doylemoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Traveled to MV from NYC via Sea Streak ferry from East 35th st arriving at 10pm on friday. The Beach Plum easily accommodated our late check-in and left a detailed hand written note with directions to room as well as a key, as the hotel shuts its lobby at 10pm.

The breakfast could have been a little more imaginative, but it offered breads, yogurts and other basics.

We stopped by the lobby in the morning to inquire about the bicycles that the Plum had to offer. We rented the bikes and were given directions to the Lucy something beach. The beach is about a twenty minute ride from the hotel and you have to ride on a heavily trafficked road. We were not offered helmets and if we were we would have taken them as my girlfriend took a bad fall in a steep hill. She was badly bruised and beaten, upon returning to the hotel we asked why no helmets were offered... no clear answer was given. This did not really kill our trip, she was a trooper.

We decided to have dinner at the Beach Plum inn that night. The night was beautiful and the sunset was magical. The menu looked very interesting, we just wanted to have a small bite as we had eaten two huge lobsters in the menemsha harbor a few hours prior. Can not recall what we had for apps but we decided to share the chicken. They wanted to charge us $10 to share... Never heard of it... coming from NYC i dont think twice looking at the prices on the menu.
When we received the check it was over $120!?! no liquor or wine as the island is mainly dry. I was shocked, two apps and a little chicken. too much for a sub-par meal.

Over all great stay and such friendly and caring staff that really looked after us and all the guests.

We will be returning in the fall.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheGooseNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menemsha
10.7 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
801 reviews
13.4 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
950 reviews
12.7 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
111 reviews
12.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
13.1 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Plum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Plum Inn

Property: The Beach Plum Inn
Address: 50 Beach Plum Lane, Menemsha, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02552
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Menemsha
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Menemsha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Plum Inn & Restaurant is small inn overlooking Menemsha fishing port and the waters of the vineyard sound. We offer warm hospitality in a naturally beautiful setting to assure guestts a delightful vacation. Located on seven acres, the Inn offers spectacular sea views, country gardens and privacy for those who wish. Its eleven rooms are either in the main house or private cottages, some with ocean views, all comfortable and lovingly furnished with private baths , air-conditioning, cable television, and touch touch tone telephones. Each evening our guests pause to witness the stunning spectacle of the sun setting into the waters of Vineyard Sound. Luxurious yet laid-back, the Inn is just short stroll down a winding path to the famous Menemsha Beach and Menemsha's 300 year old commercial fishing wharf. Guests receive passes to Chilmarks famous private beaches. On property we have tennis, fitness center and bikes and Kayaks to rent. The inn is know around the world as a magical wedding location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beach Plum Hotel Menemsha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing