We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay right outside of Boston!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Boston/Medford
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Medford
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great hotel at a reasonable price. They offer free daily breakfast, free parking and also a free shuttle to the T station that takes you right into downtown Boston. Rooms were clean, service very friendly and price was right.
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhonzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_medford, General Manager at Hyatt Place Boston/Medford, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thank you! We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (868)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

549 - 555 of 868 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a good hotel just outside of boston. Usual hyatt place setup and layout.mrooms really good,made cent location. In downtown Boston in 15 minutes even with traffic. A bit confusing to find. Neighborhood is good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marco1234_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_medford, General Manager at Hyatt Place Boston/Medford, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay and had good luck with traffic into Boston - even on a holiday I prefer to say 20 minutes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We just stayed 2 nights at this hotel, we would have been delighted to stay longer if our schedule allowed. The room with a king bed was described as "Hyatt Grand Bed:Cozy Corner Sleeper-Sofa" and it was a very large room. More like a suite really with a nice view of what I think must be city hall. Best to ask for a room in the back, away from the highway to avoid noise issues and cars rushing by. Location very handy to I93 and easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. Free breakfast was nothing to write home about but was adequate, the usual cereal, yoghurt, eggs etc. Free underground parking was a nice plus. Great stay, recommended.

Room Tip: As I said elsewhere, Best to ask for a room in the back, away from the highway to avoid noise issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zepkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_medford, General Manager at Hyatt Place Boston/Medford, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for the review and glad to see you found the parking garage a plus. As the colder weather approaches it is a great option on a snowy day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel itself is very nice and does include a nice breakfast that is filled with everything from free starbucks coffee to cute little gourmet breakfast sandwiches. Although the rooms and breakfast for this hotel were a very good plus there was a few downsides. On the second night of our stay our toliet in the room had clogged for no reason. We had went down to the desk to ask if there was a maintenance man to come take a look to see what could be the problem. Instead of someone from the hotel checking it out the woman had insisted she was the only staff member in the entire hotel which sounded funny to me. She instead said she couldn't possibly come take a look and had given us a look that suggested that it was silly of us to even ask such a task as to look into our problem. She then proceeded to hand us a plunger and told us to take care of it ourselves. The hotel itself was fabulous and i did overall have good experience but the rating is so low due to the staff acting like they couldnt be bothered by any guest requests.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_medford, General Manager at Hyatt Place Boston/Medford, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

I am sorry to hear you did not receive great service at every turn during your stay. We will also find out why a Host was not able to personally help with a plumbing problem. As we begin the new year we will be renovating our bathrooms which will certainly prevent some of these situations and will give us a great new look.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I actually used my Hyatt points to stay here--I think it would have been around $240 rack rate--no
special corporate deals. It is a perfectly serviceable hotel, with free parking (clean and safe, underground) and free internet (slow, but it works at least). The food is nothing to write home about, but the free breakfast is like most of those places with free breakfasts--you eat it because it is a convenient buffet and it is there--you would never actually pay for this stuff. The rooms are clean, and the bed was quite comfortable. The room was quite large, with a separate sitting area. The plumbing worked well, as did the TV. It was quiet, both from inside and outside noise.

While this place is nothing fancy in the slightest, it also works well for what it is and there is little to complain about. I did not use room service nor eat in the restaurant, so no comment on those, but since you are in Boston, you have plenty of choices.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suitcasepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_medford, General Manager at Hyatt Place Boston/Medford, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write about your time with us. We hope we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

After a rocky start to a hotel stay in downtown Boston, we traveled up to this hotel due to its proximity to a wedding we were attending. We caught the shuttle from the red line stop at Davis square and were escorted to the hotel. After a quick check-in, we headed up to our hotel. Looking out our window, we had a great view of the city which made us pretty happy campers.

There isn't much in direct vicinity of the hotel, so we ordered a pizza for delivery to the hotel.

The room we had was very spacious and nice. There was a couch/sitting area on one side of the room, and behind a half-wall was the bed. The bed was comfy and there were ample outlets for charging all of our gadgets. The bathroom was clean and nice, and we had zero complaints.

We caught the shuttle the next morning for breakfast in Davis square and to head back down to Boston, and that was a simple affair.

Overall, 2 thumbs up to this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor with a room facing south with a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_medford, General Manager at Hyatt Place Boston/Medford, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to write a review. We enjoy hosting weddings and sharing in the excitement and happiness of the event. Hope to see you again when you have more time to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Good hotel for being a Hyatt Place - the hotel is located right off the 93 and is super easy to get to from downtown Boston. The rates are much more reasonable than Boston's and it includes breakfast, Internet and Parking.

The room is large and just like the photos show on here you get a separate sofa, and sleeping area. The room is standard and nothing really stood out other than the size. The carpet needs some love, but I just put towels down and we are golden.

The Internet was slow because it was free, but since it was free I dealt with it. The breakfast in the morning was amazing, although it is in a tighter area I can only imagine if a lot of families where in the hotel what a nightmare it must be. I was staying on a Tue/Wed and it was mainly business individuals who know how to get in and get out.

The room noise was here and there, you can hear the hallway and you can hear the traffic outside, but it really was never bad. The HVAC unit is in the room so you will hear that, so just a note that it will be "noisy" but thats because the unit is in your room and unlike your house it is not central. (Note this for most hotels, the until is much closer to you in a room than your home so you have to separate the difference between noise when you stay at hotels, rant complete)

The staff is just amazing, every person I met there and asked questions was on top of their game and so nice/outgoing. That truly made the stay - remember that this is a limited service hotel, the staff does everything there, it is not the staffs fault that it seems they are understaffed, they are working very hard to keep the cost down for the guest.

Food and beverage at Hyatt Place/Hyatt House's are always amazing- they have a 24/7 menu that is reasonably priced for a hotel and the staff is quick at making it for you. The breakfast is amazing for a free breakfast and the hotel has beers and wines available as well.

The parking was ok, you went into this garage that was kinda of creepy - it needs a bit more lighting and there was this alarm going off all the time which made it even worse. If you can find parking by the front drive area or behind the hotel - go for that. (unless it is the winter)

The location of the hotel is meh, it was the worst part of the experience. It is not a horrible area, but comes off shady. There is a main street area within a 10 minute walk that is neat, but go during the day. There is a grocery store and strip mall maybe 5-10 minutes drive and a target about a 10 minutes drive.

The hotel is about a 10-15 minute drive from downtown Boston without any tolls. Great option - even during traffic it maybe added 5-10 minutes onto the commute. Boston traffic is never that bad in my opinion (I come from Cali, soooo)

The bed was comfortable, staff was amazing, breakfast was a great perk and free parking. How can you go wrong?

Room Tip: You might hear some noise from the freeway, but isn't bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reinventtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_medford, General Manager at Hyatt Place Boston/Medford, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

I am glad you enjoyed your stay recently and that our clock-free menu is such benefit. This is certainly understandable when traveling across several time zones. We know the importance of fast WiFi access are in the midst of a bandwidth upgrade and will add further improvement early next year with an increased number of wireless access points.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medford
1.6 mi away
AC Hotel Boston North
AC Hotel Boston North
#1 of 2 in Medford
184 reviews
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston Cambridge-Arlington
2.5 mi away
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
#6 of 19 in Cambridge
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville
2.7 mi away
Freepoint Hotel
Freepoint Hotel
#15 of 19 in Cambridge
55 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Boston/Medford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Boston/Medford

Address: 116 Riverside Ave, Medford, MA 02155-4609
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Medford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Medford
Price Range: $124 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Boston/Medford 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near downtown Boston and only eight miles from Logan International Airport, Hyatt Place Boston/Medford is the ideal choice for casual travelers visiting Bean Town. Our beautifully designed accommodations and travel enhancing amenities create a seamless experience, so you have the simple essentials on your own time. Enjoy modern conveniences and up-close access to our vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Boston/Medford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Medford Hotel Medford
Medford Hyatt Place
Hyatt Medford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing