We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Still a good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Boston/Medford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Place Boston/Medford
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Medford
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Still a good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had a chance to stay at Hyatt Place over the holidays and found it to continue to be a great value. The front-desk staff was terrific and very helpful. As some other reviewers have previously noted the quality of the breakfast has improved since our last visit one year ago.

The building and furnishings are showing signs of wear but this did not detract from our stay. the rooms are spacious - but the bathrooms are ridiculously and unnecessarily small.

We used the pool and found it to be clean and adequate for entertaining the kids.

We were located on the street side of the property which we found more noisy than the parking-lot side. Shuttle to the T is convenient as is free parking - some indoors.

I recommend this hotel for its value and friendly staff.

Room Tip: For a quieter room ask for something facing away from the street at the end of a hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skronsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    293
    111
    46
    32
See reviews for
326
132
33
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockingham, Vermont
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here last February and had a good experience. We came again for my son's surgery right before Christmas and it was still the same if not better. (the breakfast buffet was better). It was easier to take a taxi to Beth Israel than the "T". Staying here rather than Boston is much better and cheaper, even taking a taxi! The Hyatt Medford has free WiFi, breakfast and parking. We love downtown Medford! The restaurant choice rivals Boston. My daughter's favorite place is the "Blue Fuji". The food is excellent and we ate there two night's in a row. I have been telling my friends about this place when they decide to come to Boston.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room, but if you need to take a taxi to Boston, CALL Boston Taxi, NOT the Medfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnDiBernardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed here while I was doing some training in Boston. The hotel prices in downtown where just out of our price range, 3-4x what this Hyatt cost. The hotel was nice, clean, staff was friendly. The room was large had a nice couch and a great HD TV.

I really wish they would do a shuttle to Logan, but they do offer a shuttle to a Metro Station, Davis Park which is on the red line.

The only problems I had was they did not tell me that this shuttle did not start until 7:30am and as I waited, they waited until after 7:30am to even call the driver. They also did not explain how to get a shuttle back later that day so I just walked the 2 miles.

They are within walking distance to a few nice places to eat, maybe a 5min walk. The shops though seem to close early, CVS was closed by 8pm.

All in all I would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snaglpus00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at the Hyatt Place Medford for 8 nights, with my sister and my 7month old. Although we were in Boston for a sad occasion (my grandfather's funeral) I cannot say enough good things about the high standard of this hotel. We originally choose it for the kitchenette facility in the rooms, which are great for preparing baby food. But have to say we were pleasantly surprised - our stay at hyatt place was exceptional, from the friendly, helpful staff, superb, clean rooms, delicious breakfast spread and covienient shuttle service, there is just so much that contributed to making our stay an absolute pleasure.

I highly recommend this hotel.

To add a balanced view, the only things that may not be ideal is that the hotel is not in the centre of Boston, but it's not that far away on public transport. Even better if you have a car and I think the hotel offers free parking! Also there was no room service or restaurant, so you have to pop out to get food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purplechez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked this hotel via Hotwire at $113 a night tax and fees included. Room consisted of a mini-suite and was nicely appointed with wet bar and larger than average flat screen TV. Wet bar in the room had a mini-refrigerator. Front desk staff was very accommodating. Free breakfast was mostly continental but did include waffles and egg McMuffin type sandwiches. Exercise room was cardio only. No resistance machines or free weights. The shuttle will take you to the closest "T" station but you will need to take an additional city bus (free) to the next "T" station as the original station is closed on weekends. Room furniture was a bit worn but I felt matched the price paid for the room. I would give this hotel a 3 star rating.

Room Tip: Room #501 was away from elevator and ice machine and therefore quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drifter9143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a last minute stop due to a funeral and we got a top floor room with a view of the city. room was huge and nice. clean and comfy. Breakfast was good, lots of regular options and some home made things too. Its located right off 93 with free parking. Only negative was during a thunderstorm the satellite tv kept going in and out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, Calif
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

First the good:

Staff at front desk was great! Very helpful and professional. Breakfast was decent. Location was good for a walk into Medford. The shuttle to the "T" train into Boston was always available and on the pick-up back to the hotel, always prompt after we called for a pick-up.

The room was fine, but we were given a "physically impaired" one, which was a little awkward with the room layout not being as nice as that of our friends who got a regular room. This situation might have been because it appeared that the hotel was full due to Tuft U. parents' weekend and maybe some other events.

Which brings me to my only serious complaint- the price! We were charged $300/night, (through Expedia), and this was the "rack rate" posted on the back of the door. The price is way too high- should have been in the $150/night range. Another slight problem was our trying to use the "T" system into Boston- the staff should explain to everyone being shuttled to the transit system how to use the automated vending machines with the "Charlie" cards, etc. Would have saved us a confusing time at the Medford station which is unmanned.

That is why I am giving this only 3 stars.

Food Sniffer

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foodsniffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medford
1.6 mi away
AC Hotel Boston North
AC Hotel Boston North
#1 of 2 in Medford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Tria
Hotel Tria
#13 of 19 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
2.5 mi away
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
#17 of 19 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Boston/Medford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Boston/Medford

Property: Hyatt Place Boston/Medford
Address: 116 Riverside Ave, Medford, MA 02155-4609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Medford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Medford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Boston/Medford 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near downtown Boston and only eight miles from Logan International Airport, Hyatt Place Boston/Medford is the ideal choice for casual travelers visiting Bean Town. Our beautifully designed accommodations and travel enhancing amenities create a seamless experience, so you have the simple essentials on your own time. Enjoy modern conveniences and up-close access to our vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hyatt Place Boston/Medford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Medford Hotel Medford
Medford Hyatt Place
Hyatt Medford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing