We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for Light Sleepers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Boston/Medford
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Medford
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 1, 2007

Stayed here on a business trip. This appears to be converted from some earlier building.

PROS; Clean, Sizeable Rooms, Great TVs-

CONS: The entire hotel is loud.. The windows don't shield much of the road noise- you can hear trucks all night long. The air conditioner's are wall units- not quite ones either. The mini fridge gurgled louder than normal.

It is not clearly marked where to park and the entrance to the location is difficult to find. If you pull into the garage below the hotel- you can't get inside without a key. This requires you to either drive out or take your luggage and walk out the door around the entire hotel to the front. This could easily be avoided.

There are some strange design choices- granite countertop yet cheap flimsy plastic toilet seat.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank broadcast9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (906)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

830 - 836 of 906 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2007

I had a number of goldpassport points and booked this hotel for a recent vacation to Boston. This is a great little hotel that has been newly renovated. It is located in Medford Ma, just above Cambridge. We had a plesant stay but were a little annoyed at the fact that they did not offer a free airport shuttle (contrary to their website) and were not walking distance to the T stops. The hotel has a shuttle to the Davis St station (red line) and the wellington st station (orange line) however it stops running at 9pm and it's a $10 cab ride from the station to the hotel. The shuttle also does not have set times or a route and we often found ourselves waiting for 20-40min for the shuttle to arrive at the hotel and were told that it was out running errands. The hotel staff was great and the complimentary breakfast was wonderful. The rooms are quite large and exactly as pictured on the Hyatt place website.

All in all our stay was pleasant and we would probably stay here again....but ensure we had a car so we didn't have to deal with the shuttle.

Stayed: October 2007
Thank suzyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2007

This was an affordable alternative when we were trying to find hotels in Boston during an expensive time of year. Nicer hotels in Boston were running $300/night and higher for the lower end ones, and we got this one for $180/night. It is not in Boston itself, but about 7 miles outside in Medford - not too far away and accessible by the T line.

The hotel has been really nicely decorated. Lobby is gorgeous and modern. We walked into our room and were really pleased with the amount of space they had - basically two rooms with a nice large sectional sofa to sit on while you watch the big screen flat-panel tv's mounted on the walls. We were also pleased by the complimentary breakfast bar the next morning; though basic, it had almost everything you really needed.

Beds were comfortable, but I do feel like I have to mention one unpleasant thing that happened. If you have been travelling much lately, you probably know that bedbugs have made a comeback in the hotel industry and are rampant again, particularly in bigger cities with a lot of international travelers. They crawl into suitcases and travel easily from hotel to hotel, and are not being killed anymore by the pesticides that were being used at one time like DDT. They have become a big problem in the hotel industry again, and I had a very unpleasant experience with them 2 years ago in a hotel which is why I am now familiar with them.

At any rate, at the Hyatt Place medford, I was bitten during the first night by what I believe to be one (singular) bedbug - I had one line of bites down my shoulder that were exactly like what I had gotten before. That was the bad thing; the good thing was that the hotel handled this problem immediately - the hotel manager and housekeeping manager both came to my room and immediately stripped the bed and did a thorough search to find any signs of them (they were both well-versed in problem). They did not find anything at all, and the mattresses and everything in the room were new since they had just remodeled. So they immediately relocated me to another room, and I stayed there for 3 more nights without any other incidents.

So, though not happy with the bedbug incident, I was happy in how they handled the problem (although a bit disappointed that they didn't at least offer to discount or comp my room for one night - they probably would have if I had demanded it or been more outraged, but I am not that type of person). I would imagine that other room has been fumigated by now.

That is it; a bit disappointed that this was not very close to Boston and it was not that convenient to get into town, but on the other hand the price made it affordable at least, and you could get into town with a little effort.

Posting pics of the room, as I thought it was really nice.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank female_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2007

From the modern lobby to the well-appointed rooms, this was a lovely hotel only about 15 minutes from the North End (great Italian food!) of Boston -- without traffic of course. Medford itself is small with few amenities, but it was much less expensive than anything I looked at in downtown. It's not far from the T for public transportation, and it makes a good middle point if you plan to visit the North Shore.

The first room we checked into smelled of smoke and had a stain on the carpet, but we were readily moved to another, beautifully sunny room. In fact, it had a great view of the downtown skyline. The room also offered a nice bathroom/shower with 2 outside sinks, fridge and wet bar, very comfortable beds, quiet A/C, etc. It even had a large flat-panel TV -- almost too large for the size of the room. In addition, there was a separate seating area and desk with free wi-fi.

The rate included free breakfast, which was decent. I think they offered hot food, but it wasn't readily apparent how to order it. Coffee was great. The only reason why I rate it 'above average' is because it's not the "W". But it was a lot cheaper than the price of a high-end boutique -- this could be its location along with the fact that Hyatt had just taken it over from another owner.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank indieseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2007

When we first looked at staying in Boston our preference was for a city centre hotel, right in the middle of things within easy walking distance of the attractions. However, during autumn or 'The fall' prices increase substantially which prompted us to look just outside Boston in an effort to find something cheaper. The Hyatt Place in Medford fitted the bill well.

We flew into Logan airport from the Uk and took a free shuttle from the airport to the nearest T station (Boston has a great underground similar to London with colour coded lines). Here we bought a $15 Charlie ticket which allows 7 days travel on the underground plus local buses plus the inner city harbour ferry. We took the tube to Wellington station (About 15 mins with one change). Here, there is a bus station where we picked up a 134 bus which dropped us directly outside the Hyatt Place (about 10 mins).

The Hyatt Place is clean and comfortable and the staff are generally very friendly and helpful. There is a free courtesy bus which will take you to one of 2 T stations, either Wellington or Davis Square. The rooms are nicely decorated with a huge 42 inch wide screen TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The swimming pool whilst not large did provide a welcome break from the huge amount of walking we did round Boston seeing the sights.

The free Breakfast consisted of Bagels, muffins, toast, jam, honey, peanut butter, cereals, juices, tea and coffee (Starbucks). You could pay extra for set menu hot food such as scambled eggs and bacon if you wished. The eating area was small and did get a little congested from time to time but didn't bother us particularly.

There are 3 free internet PCs located next to the breakfasting area which are available 24 hours a day and the free apples at the front desk tasted very nice.

Overall a great value place to stay if visiting Boston with easy transport to the city.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank VegasRulesOk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2007

The hotel is evidently converted from some other brand. The room and amenities, plasma tv, etc are very modern and state-of the art.

It was a little hard to find as another reviewer mentioned because of lack of street signs or maybe they are just hard to see. We got a little lost trying to find it but when I looked up I saw it so we just drove towards it when we saw it.

The breakfast procedure was somewhat annoying. For instance, if you just want coffee, it's awkward because you have to elbow your way through people waiting in line for the foods. Another thing that was really odd was this- you're waiting after getting your beverage (they have tea now, I am a tea-drinker and would remember if they didn't have any) in line to get cereal or fruit, or bread, whatever, and you don't realize until 5 minutes go by that people in front of you are ordering a cooked to order breakfast. If you are not ordering it, you wasted your time waiting. The point is the order point for that should be elsewhere instead of holding up the line. The breakfast options were good enough for me, it was just the procedure that was not ideal.

Would stay again if the price was right now that I can find it.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PeachTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2007

Not up to standards. Light next to one of the beds was not working. The exaust fan in the bathroom was noisy and very loud. Traffic noise, mostly trucks, through the night from I93 was hard to ignore (unless you had earplugs) new 43 in plasma tv was spectacular.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nptinsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medford
1.6 mi away
AC Hotel Boston North
AC Hotel Boston North
#1 of 2 in Medford
197 reviews
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston Cambridge-Arlington
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 11 in Woburn
221 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Boston/Medford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Boston/Medford

Address: 116 Riverside Ave, Medford, MA 02155-4609
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Medford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Medford
Price Range: $105 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Boston/Medford 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near downtown Boston and only eight miles from Logan International Airport, Hyatt Place Boston/Medford is the ideal choice for casual travelers visiting Bean Town. Our beautifully designed accommodations and travel enhancing amenities create a seamless experience, so you have the simple essentials on your own time. Enjoy modern conveniences and up-close access to our vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Boston/Medford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Medford Hotel Medford
Medford Hyatt Place
Hyatt Medford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing