We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent chain” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Not Your Average Joe's - CLOSED

Not Your Average Joe's
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 16
Transit: We are located in the Station Landing Complex, across the Skywalk from the Wellington T stop on the Orange Line.
Description: What does creative casual cuisine mean? Exactly what it says. We"re creative, because we reject the same-old-same-old in favor of tastes that are interesting and unique. We're casual because while our food may be worth getting dressed up for, we invite you to come as you are. We're all about cuisine in the sense that our chefs apply high standards of culinary art. There it is. Creative. Casual. Cuisine. If it sounds like your kind of place, then you – like us- are not your average Joe.
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“excellent chain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

nice bar and interesting variety of entrees and appetizers--I especially like half price appetizers after 9 pm

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Esther W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    27
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
271 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Great food...great price...great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Absolutely love going to NYAJ in Medford. The service is always good, food prepared fresh and exceeds all expectations, and the price is right. We love sitting in the bar watching sports and taking our time. Managers always cycle around the place to ensure service is up to par. Despite all the snow, management ensures there is always enough parking to accommodate everyone. Absolutely love this place...and will continue to go given its great location and fine cuisine.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BostonRedSoxFan2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

My family and I were there for a special occasion. We were all totally and completely disappointed! Salads were dried out and wilted, entrees were severed cold and not as should have been prepared. We even thought we were served the wrong entree. The manager was unhelpful. Will not go back ever.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Boston13twin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“pretty average . . .”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I used to be a fan of this chain but the dishes seems to be getting heavier and unhealthier. The service is usually friendly and crisp and the have a nice selection of wines and beers. But it's looking pretty average to me these days.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BostonJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better Than Your Average Joe's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

The atmosphere just before Xmas was very lively and because the restaurant was not full of "regulars" the waitstaff were on their best behavior to explain the menu, recommend favorites, etc.
The meals were ample, well prepared fish and beef dishes that had a little twist to make them better than average. Both my wife and I were pleasantly surprised (our fear was that with so much business, we'd get skimpy meals tossed at us). We would absolutely visit this chain restaurant again and without the apprehension. In fact, we'll look forward to an affordable meal with some culinary flair.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Not Your Average Joe's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing