We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad attitude, entitlement, expensive, arrogance need I say more”
Review of Ember

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ember
Ranked #9 of 64 Restaurants in Marshfield
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“bad attitude, entitlement, expensive, arrogance need I say more”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

can't wait till they go out of business and someone new opens there--we have not been back for over year due to bad attitude, entitlement, expensive, arrogance of the owner "C" need I say more. They also don't recycle and were nasty about that when asked.

Spend your money elsewhere where it means something to your enjoyment

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank frank g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    17
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“City Feel on the South Shore”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Sophisticated but relaxed city feel on the South Shore. The food is ver good especially the starters and a good drink selection. It hard to find this type of place in the suburbs.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb Service, Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We were invited to join another couple at Ember. We only live 15 minutes away but it would be our first time dining there. Although a bit hesitant based on other mixed reviews, we graciously accepted. Let me tell you... GLAD WE DID !!!!!

They accept reservations for any size party so our table for four was ready when we arrived. We were welcomed and escorted to our table. Alyssa, our waitress, provided exemplary service. She knew the menu, explained the various dishes, was attentive to our needs without being overbearing and made us feel very welcome with her brilliant smile and great personality. Kudos to Ember management

Although we didn't order appetizers before our meal, the martinis were delicious. Our entrees,
pan seared duck with confit leg, oven roasted chicken breast (2) and an eggplant pizza were SUPERB. With the exception of 2 slices of pizza, there was not a bit of food left on any plate. For me, the duck was the best I have ever had !!!! The creme brulees for dessert... again SUPERB.

We sat at our table from 7p - 10:45p. We were never rushed or made to feel rushed. It was just a great dining experience. WE WILL RETURN...

One note: I would recommend reservations as we saw several parties turned away because all tables were reserved.

Thanks... glad we found this place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ssei1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fabulous Dining Experience”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed a delicious New Year's Eve dinner at Embers. Restaurant ambiance is soothing, in contemporary shades of grey. Server was courteous,attentive to our wants, efficient, and highly knowledgeable of the eclectic menu. Selections ranged from several fish dishes, poultry, and many wood grilled meat selections.Entrees were priced from the high $20's to mid $30's. Food was piping hot, beautifully presented, with ample portions. My wife began with an arugula salad, mounded on top of a pear tartlet, candied pecans, and laced with a sherry vinaigrette. I had a salad consisting of field greens, marcona almonds, dried cranberries,and a dollop of panko encrusted goat cheese. I enjoyed a sirloin steak , which was prepared perfectly, and drizzled with a whiskey pepper sauce. Sides of grilled asparagus and a stilton potato gratin rounded out my plate. My wife chose a thick tenderloin with Idaho hand cut shoestring fries, braised swisschard, and sauteed porcini mushrooms. We had no room for dessert, as we were quite full with our meals. Would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys an upscale dining experience, without traveling to Boston. Embers is our new favorite venue! Will definitely return in the near future. Hats off to the amazing chef! Our experience was a 10++.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rozydozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Slow and steady doesn't win the race”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

First time to Ember. Awesome atmosphere food was very good but service was incredible slow especially the bar. Difficult to get waited on or served. Too big a place for just two bartenders.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ember also viewed

 

Been to Ember? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing