We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay with lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Marlborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2010

This is a comfortable, convenient and well-priced hotel. The rooms are clean, large and although there are some dated elements (non-flat screen TVs, plastic cups, etc.), the hotel is being renovated and will only improve. The complimentary breakfast was excellent. And the staff goes out of their way to be helpful and accommodating. The only negatives were that they have overly stuffed, hard pillows, and all six in the room were the same. and no internet connection was available outside of the business center.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50sTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 221 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2010

just did 2 nights at the Holiday Inn. They are renovating. My room was renovated, but still had the old Tube TV. New flat screens haven't shown up yet I guess.
Room: clean, spacious. Old style TV. Towels are the thin variety.
Breakfast - both days they were out of eggs. They were always 'coming'. Somewhat limited - but included free breakfast.
Lobby - fine. No internet stations in the lobby to use.
Wireless - free, worked fine. A bit slow at night time - faster in the AM.
Other comments - highway does edge the highway - and therefore you WILL hear road noise. I asked for a quiet room - not quiet enough for me. If you are a light sleeper - please ask for a quiet room NOT on the highway side.
I have stayed in the Holiday Inn express Hudson before - it was sold out - which pushed me to this place. Given the choice - and the money - I would probably go back to the HI-Hudson - although this place was fine.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentFlyerNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2008

Visited Marlborough with a friend who had businessthere. We stayed 3 nights and although the hotel is outdated and a little shabby, it was clean and met our needs. My friend had a training and seminar at this hotel so we stayed here. All the staff we had dealings with were friendly and helpful. Nice indoor pool, internet access and an adequate workout room. The complimentary breakfast included bacon, sausage, eggs, pancakes,french toast, hot and cold cereals,fresh fruit and assorted pastryand very good coffee. The waitresses were friendly especially appreciated Patty-she was very friendly and such a hard worker. Fresh fruit and cookies were available at the front desk 2 of the days we were there and there was a free shuttle to nearby restaurants or shops. At the hotels suggestion we ate at Allora just afew blocks from the hotel. It was a very nice restaurant and we ate the best calamari I have had. It was fresh, tender and crispy not a rubbery morsel to be found. i had the ricotta stuffed eggplant and it was excellent. Back at the hotel another Patty in guest services helped me with suggestions for Boston. All in all it was a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank trvl4fun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2007

I stayed here on business the last week of November 2007. I agree with a previous poster that says the hotel smells of faint cigarette smoke.

However, the thing that bothered me the most was the rear elevator. When I first entered it, I pressed my floor and no light lit up. I pressed it several times and it never lit up. Then I pressed other floors and I got the same response. Finally, the door closed on me, but I wasn't sure if a floor had been pressed or not. It had, it turns out the lights in the elevator buttons were out. This has got to be a safety violation I would imagine, as I thought I had been trapped in the elevator, as it takes a long time to changes floors.

My room was decent, the internet connection worked well, and the shower was okay, but the pressure was not very high, but bearable.

I had trouble controlling the heat in the room. MA gets cold in late November, and I'm from Texas, so I need a nice cozy room. However, I had trouble regulating the temperature from keeping it either blazing hot or freezing. This is common at hotels without a thermostat, however, and I was able to get the perfect temperature by the last night, when I slept very well.

The breakfast buffet was terrible. The scrambled eggs were crusty and the sausage and bacon were overcooked. In fact, the sausage was so overcooked its skin was wrinkly.

The fruit was not ripe and the bread was stale. The OJ and coffee were good, though, as were the pastries. The waitresses left much to be desired.

Overall, I wouldn't recommend this hotel unless you have no other choice or are forced to stay there by your company. There's a nearby Courtyard across 495 that is far better from what I heard and the rates are comparable.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank crazyAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2007

From check in to check out it was above average.Had a meeting here and staff was excelent. Breakfast free if Priorty Club member. Food was very good for Holiday Inn . Parking ,location good also.

Stayed: November 2007
Thank Think-Esales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

We had a coupon for a low rate at this hotel. Staff were polite and helpful.

The room was smaller than some cheaper hotels, but it and the bathroom were absolutely clean. The internet connection probably worked but we didn't manage to connect.

As a party of 4, we expected that a room with 2 double beds would be suitably equipped for more than one guest. However there was only one towel, and later we discovered that there were no cups for the coffee maker, but plenty of lids. The towel issue was dealt with promptly by reception and housekeeping, but we decided to use our own cups rather than tip for further delivery of items that should have been there in the first place.

Beware, coupon-users, breakfast was not included, although coffee was available.

Overall, I suspect that Holiday Inn generally does better for its guests, and although this was not a perfect experience I would probably choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jarOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago Illinois
25
Reviewed July 13, 2006

If you are looking to impress someone this is not the place to take them. Somewhat dingy with the feel of a nursing home. This is not one of Holiday Inns better properties. A faint smell of cigarette smoke fills the air. The place is barely acceptable. It was quiet though which is a plus. The breakfast buffet is mediocre, not the worst food I ever had.
If nothing else was available I might stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marlborough hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Marlborough
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Boston Marlborough
Courtyard Boston Marlborough
#7 of 12 in Marlborough
171 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Marlborough
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 12 in Marlborough
82 reviews
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston Marlborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough

Address: 265 Lakeside Ave, Marlborough, MA 01752-4503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marlborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Marlborough
Price Range: $88 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering on the MetroWest region of the State, the smoke-freeHoliday Inn Hotel and Suites in Marlborough is at the Crossroads of New England in central Massachusetts. Situated on Rt. 495, minutes from Route 290 and the Mass Pike, Route 90, the hotel is surrounded by industry leaders in the fields of bio-tech, high-tech, finance and defense.We offer 153 well-appointed rooms and 20 spacious two-room suites. Suites feature a kitchenette, dining area, living room, and a king bedroom. Standard rooms include our kings and rooms with 2 double beds. Whether traveling for business or with family, our rooms are designed to fit your needs. Our 2nd and 3rd floor rooms are completely renovated with the rest of our rooms and suites scheduled for completion before summer. Hotel amenities include free parking, fitness center, indoor pool, restaurant, room service, lounge with pool table and big screen TV, on-site laundry, valet, ATM and business center. The hotel is completely smoke-free. Complimentary shuttle service is available to local companies as well as restaurants and shopping within a 5 mile radius. Downtown Boston, home of the Boston Red Sox, Bruins and Celtics and the TD BankNorth Garden, is within 40 minutes. Round trip van service to Logan Airport is available for a fee. Worcester, home of many colleges, the arts, hospitals and the DCU Center, is less than 18 miles away. The New England Sports Center is within 4 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Marlboro
Holiday Inn Marlborough
Marlborough Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing