We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What...are you serious... no closet?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Marlborough
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What...are you serious... no closet?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

I can't ever recall staying in a hotel without a closet. But unbelievably this place had absolutely nowhere to hang any clothes. No dresser either. The closet space had a rack of cubby holes stuffed inside which was unusable. Room also lacked any place to open up my suit case other than the floor. Otherwise, the room was generally clean and I slept OK. I'll never stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoVA_Traveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear NoVA_Traveler66,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. I am truly sorry our hotel fell short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will share these with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCarec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    64
    35
    21
    15
See reviews for
63
16
19
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland , Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

The best of the best people to take care of you after a long day of traveling . Weather it's business or pleasure , from the front desk at check in , to dinner in the restaurant , to breakfast in the morning , there is just no other place better than this hotel to stay , that makes it feels like home.

Room Tip: Chose no other place , this is the one to stay at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Portland_MaineHowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel seems nice enough at first sight but you will quickly notice several things that make it an uncomfortable stay. You will wish you stayed at Embassy Suites down the road instead!

For example:
- heaters in rooms are LOUD. We chose to be cold rather than kept awake by the obnoxious sound
- water pressure was awful. Like being sprinkled by a watering can.
- food at the hotel restaurant was disgusting. I felt sick for half the day after eating the scrambled eggs. Everything was cold and the selection was sad. The only thing worse than the quality of the food was the service. Our waitress was completely out to lunch and I had to ask for silverware, bowls, condiments, etc that should have already been at the table. Then I had to chase her down to pay our bill. Other hotels typically offer continental breakfasts but I actually had to PAY for this awful experience! $22 in fact, which doesn't seem like much - until you think about what you just spent it on - garbage food and even worse service.

We were here for a hockey tournament and visited friends at Embassy Suites down the road... They have an amazing selection of food at their cafeteria-style restaurant and it's FREE. The hotel is much more kid-friendly too and while it may not be as up-to-date as Holiday Inn, it would be a much more comfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Sherri L,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I regret to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. I was happy to see the high score given for Cleanliness. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Marlboro.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marlborough hotels

Smyrna, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I enjoyed my stay. It might have been more because of the picturesque location than the hotel but I still enjoyed it. The property is fine. It seemed a little pricy but that may be just the going rate for the area. I was not impressed with the buffet breakfast at all. It was about like a medium quality free hot breakfast anywhere else but here you paid about $10 for it. If you wanted hot bread you had to put the bagels in the toaster and wait.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RegularTraveler_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

A co-worker and I stayed here for 1 night. Prior to arrival I called and asked if I could send a box of product to the hotel to see if they would hold it for me. The lady at the front desk was very helpful and directed me how to mark the package. Upon arrival we were greeted very friendly by the same person I spoke to on the phone and the package was in a room right next to the desk waiting for me. As a platinum member, she asked me if I wanted a free upgrade to a suite. Wow, what a nice room. It had a Kuerig coffee maker, micro oven, cups, utensils, plates, 2 separate rooms (1 bedroom with a real comfortable bed and a nice open room with a couch, TV and chair. We had breakfast the next morning which had a nice spread and the food was good. The only negative was the workout room felt like 110 degrees. I could only stay in there for about 12 minutes as it was so hot that I could not workout comfortably. In choosing a hotel the workout room would not sway me as this hotel was top notch and I would stay here in a heartbeat again!!!!

Room Tip: I was in room 427!! My co-worker was in a regular 2 queen bed room 403 which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM265, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Platinum Guest!

Thank you so much for the great comments regarding your last stay. We truly appreciate every time you make the decision to stay with us over the many options in the area and we share your comments with our staff to make sure they know that you noticed the little things. I will make sure we adjust the temperature in the fitness room so next time your workout in that area last longer than 12 minutes! We look forward to your next visit and hope to meet you personally at our receptions every Wednesday!

Travel Safe,
Ms. Jahayra Santiago
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel and it was a great experience. Hotel was extremely clean and every employee was efficient from check-in to check-out. I had a great interaction with Coley Wall in the Food and Beverage Department. You have a great staff and it was an awesome stay! I am new to traveling for business and I will be back in the future!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM265, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Tim P,

Thank you! It is always wonderful to read guest reviews that mention our employees and managers by name; Coley has been a major asset to our hotel for many years and I know he appreciates your comments! We pride ourselves with offering great service to everyone and we are happy you enjoyed your stay!

Safe Travels!

Ms. Jahayra Santiago
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here with a group of people. Some of the problems were that the heater in the room was very loud and made it impossible to sleep, the woman at the front desk was not people friendly, the potato skins were overcooked and terrible, and the pool was freezing as was most of the downstairs. The good points were that the room was clean, the rest of the food was good and the rest of the staff were nice. One important point I was told was that if I booked from an alt. site, or prepaid the kids would not eat free. A huge reason why we stayed here. I would not return to this hotel, plenty of other options in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tennisplyr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear tennisplyr1,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlborough
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Marlborough
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Marlborough
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Boston Marlborough
Courtyard Boston Marlborough
#5 of 10 in Marlborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston Marlborough
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston-Marlboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough
Address: 265 Lakeside Avenue, Marlborough, MA 01752
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marlborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Marlborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering on the MetroWest region of the State, the smoke-freeHoliday Inn Hotel and Suites in Marlborough is at the Crossroads of New England in central Massachusetts. Situated on Rt. 495, minutes from Route 290 and the Mass Pike, Route 90, the hotel is surrounded by industry leaders in the fields of bio-tech, high-tech, finance and defense.We offer 153 well-appointed rooms and 20 spacious two-room suites. Suites feature a kitchenette, dining area, living room, and a king bedroom. Standard rooms include our kings and rooms with 2 double beds. Whether traveling for business or with family, our rooms are designed to fit your needs. Our 2nd and 3rd floor rooms are completely renovated with the rest of our rooms and suites scheduled for completion before summer. Hotel amenities include free parking, fitness center, indoor pool, restaurant, room service, lounge with pool table and big screen TV, on-site laundry, valet, ATM and business center. The hotel is completely smoke-free. Complimentary shuttle service is available to local companies as well as restaurants and shopping within a 5 mile radius. Downtown Boston, home of the Boston Red Sox, Bruins and Celtics and the TD BankNorth Garden, is within 40 minutes. Round trip van service to Logan Airport is available for a fee. Worcester, home of many colleges, the arts, hospitals and the DCU Center, is less than 18 miles away. The New England Sports Center is within 4 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Marlboro
Holiday Inn Marlborough
Marlborough Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing