We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm service, but old property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Boston Marlborough
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Marlborough
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,767 reviews
327 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 668 helpful votes
“Warm service, but old property”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Marlborough is a small town, so all the hotels here are old and not trend setting. The lobby here is nicer than the Embassy Suites where i stayed before. Got a rooom on the 1st floor just next to the parking lot. So there's no view, plus i need the curtains closed everytime i'm changing my clothes

Room as old as the hotel in general, and luckily they replaced the tv with flat screen. Like most US hotels, they have the safety hazard tub, and there's no toothbrush nor bottled water. They do have free wifi, but it's slow. For faster speeds, it's $5 per day. Turned on the heater in the room and it's like a freight train going past your room every 15mins. Also didn't turn on the toilet ventilation much, that's another freight train

Had a steak at the restaurant and it was awful. My medium steak was so tough and overcooked. Breakfast was the usual eggs, cereal, bacon, potatoes and some fruits, nothing more

It's ok when you're here for a few days on business

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    70
    34
    8
    2
See reviews for
39
17
6
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
245 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stay here a few times for business. Very busy lobby with a crowd nightly for drinks or food and lounging. Nice large screen tv. Ordered a drink or had a coffee a couple of times on different trips and noticed that when paying with cash, bar staff never has change or tries to skip on giving you change. What's up with that? How can such an active bar screen never have change to make for your customers. Happened too often to think this is a rare occurence. Internet was not your average hotel speed.

Room Tip: Find a better value
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorosel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Boston Marlborough, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor survey. We are delighted that your stay with the Courtyard Boston Marlborough was enjoyable. We apologize about the issues you indicated in your response, and hope this doe snot interfere with your future stays.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

My family and I were heading North skiing and stayed here one night 2/21/14. I reserved 2 rooms with king-size beds. When we arrived we were greeted by a friendly desk person who pointed out various details to do with the hotel and gave us our keys. We were on floor 4. Our rooms were right next to each other which was nice. The rooms were very nice, clean and looked pretty new. The bathroom was very large and the bed was very comfortable. We had a mini-fridge in both rooms which was a bonus, also free wifi. We did eat at the breakfast buffet in the morning which was the usual hot items (eggs, sausage, oatmeal, etc.) and cold items (cereal, fruit, bagels, etc.) - not too fancy but everything was fresh and good. If in the area again, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary S, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Marlborough, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay was. We welcome comments about our hotel and are very happy when we can satisfy our guests. Thank you for choosing the Marlborough Courtyard as your hotel when traveling to central Massachusetts. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed at the hotel on 02/15/14 due to a snowstorm. The staff was very friendly and seemed to really enjoy their jobs. The service in the restaurant was also great and the food was good. The room was nice but not typical Marriott quality. There were stains on the ceiling, looked like water problems. The TV was analog and it showed. Could have been worse, but could have been better. Not my favorite Marriott.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Minitrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Customer service is of no help on issues. Pool closed but still on website. Internet doesn't work. Restaurant food mediocre. Points program is decent, so unless your Marriott gold or something like this would go somewhere else. Out of the places i've tried in the area the hampton is better.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lev Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary S, General Manager at Courtyard Boston Marlborough, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay. We welcome comments about our Hotel and are, of course, very concerned when a guest is dissatisfied in any way.
I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced in regards to the pool closing and the wireless. The pool had to be closed unexpectedly for a repair and the wireless provider was called to investigate the problem you mentioned.
I have spoken to the Executive Chef in regards to your comment on food quality, he will correct any deficiencies immediately.
Thank you again for taking the time to let us know and certainly hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you given again when travel plans bring you back to the Marlborough area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights and got a pretty good take on the property. It's conveniently located to a lot of stuff and there's plenty of parking.

However, they need a lot of work.

The hotel itself is quite dated. The lobby area has been updated, but the rooms are still the same (popcorn ceiling). The first room I got looked fine - until I took my shoes off and stepped in a very large wet spot in front of the bed - the kind a pet may make (they swore that they cleaned the carpet for a spot and it was just still wet).

I marched right back downstairs and was given lots of apologies and a new room. The second room looked very similar - except this one had a fridge. And, lucky for me, the last guest left plenty of half-eaten food in the fridge for me to enjoy. Well, I passed on that and brought the leftovers down to the front desk where I got even more apologies.

The staff is the brightest point. Amber, Samantha and Dom couldn't be nicer and treated me like a valued guest the entire time - initial problems notwithstanding.

As far as the hotel goes - they have big HDTV's in every room, but with seriously crappy analog service. I'd prefer to watch TV on an old tube TV instead of analog on an HDTV. Come on - it's almost 2014 (they blamed a corporate Marriott contract).

There's a limited gym - an elliptical, 2 treadmills, a bike and some free weights. There's also a nicer gym in the basement, but you need to pay $10/day for that as they lease the space out to a private company. Tacky nickel-and-dime way to avoid investing in their own gym.

The internet access is free and slow - or you can pay extra every day for "faster" service, without them telling you what either speed is. Another tacky nickel-and-dime thing to do to guests.

This hotel is quite expensive for the area, and the only justification is being part of the Marriott chain.

Overall, I'll likely be back since there are no other brands in Marlborough that I belong to, but if there were, I'd skip this one easily (despite the great staff).

It's a great example of how Courtyard pales in comparison to competitors like Hyatt Place or even Aloft.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dansville, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed here for a wedding and found it a bit uncomfortable. The room i was given was on the first floor, facing the entry driveway. I could hear the car traffic and people talking... car alarms going off... horns honking... very frustrating. The room was clean, but the pillows are the worst ever. If i have to stay here again, will bring my own. The worst thing was the heater in the room. So loud and annoying it made sleeping difficult. It comes on and off every ten minutes or so and had a loud bang when it was ready to shut off. It was nightmare. so if you are given room 103, ask for another. A big surprise was on sunday morning, we went out to have breakfast buffet ( it looked really good saturday morning but we were unable to enjoy) to be told, oh we dont serve that on sundays. WOW!!!!! we could not believe it. The only thing available was what was available at the starbucks. So we ordered coffee to go.... IT WAS AWFUL.... complete waste of money.

The best thing about this hotel was the staff... they are the best...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaM692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marlborough hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Marlborough
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Marlborough
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston Marlborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Marlborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Boston Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Boston Marlborough

Property: Courtyard Boston Marlborough
Address: 75 Felton St, Marlborough, MA 01752-1917
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marlborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Marlborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Boston Marlborough 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Boston Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Boston Marlborough Hotel Marlborough
Marriott Marlborough
Courtyard Marlborough
Marlborough Courtyard
Marlborough Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing