We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great changes since last stayed here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Marlborough
Reviewed October 23, 2013

weve stayed here in the past several years before the renovations. We were very happy to see the change in the place, more modern, more bright. The new location of the restraurant and the hot breakfast items were nice. Everyhing was fresh and flavorful. The room was large enough to accomodate our adult daughter, my husband and myself. The king bed was extremely comfortable, our daughter had a sofabed to sleep on. The wifi was excellent, you only needed to call the desk to get the password before using it. The only issue we had was the bathroom facilites, toilet was slow and backed up at one point. Using the rest room off the lobby encountered same thing. Must be having plumbing issues throughout it seems. Other than that enjoyed the stay and will stay again in the future when in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for pointing out our recent renovations! We are very excited about the new changes and know they will make your stay more memorable. Isn’t it nice having lightning fast wifi? We’ve made sure to keep you connected so you aren’t slowed down. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Rick Skinner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (814)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

643 - 649 of 814 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

Upon checking we discovered our reservation was not for adjoining rooms, which had been requested. The following morning, Leslie, the front desk clerk was very helpful. She listened to our complaint, said she would move us to adjoining rooms by 1:00, which she did.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

I’m glad we were able to take good care of you. I’ll be sure to pass the compliment on to Leslie. She, like the rest of our staff, works very hard to make your stay memorable. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!
Much thanks,
Rick Skinner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here recently for 4 nights as part of a 50 strong Travel Department group touring New England in the Fall. Rooms were clean and comforable with plenty of toiletries. However, breakfast every morning was extremely disorganised. We got down early every morning (7am due to jet lag) and were satisfied. However, by the time we were finishing up, the whole place was in chaos - staff couldn't cope with the numbers, there were long queues and food was not being replenished. Any staff that I had dealings with were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K1Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

I’m glad you enjoyed your room and that our staff took great care of you! We work extra hard to make your stay special. Your feedback on our breakfast maintenance has been noted as we’re always trying to improve our service. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Best wishes,
Rick Skinner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a bid overflow property that should not be a plus. The property is not well maintained and elevators are slow and the property is good for big groups maybe. The property was oviously another flag before joining hte Best Western group probably because it lost the flag of someone. Not sure the property charged $200.00 and the value was one of a$60 hotel. When you charge $200.00 for a hotel and you only give a $60 value you should expect to get a report on the negative side.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. Our prices are competitively priced with the competition in the area and we’re confident that we offer the best bang for your buck. Big groups, families, business travelers, all guests are treated with the utmost care to ensure a comfortable stay. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Sincerely,
Rick Skinner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

New England Traditions convention...
this is our second year staying at the hotel while we paint, paint, paint. Knowing the restaurants are overwhelmed for breakfast, we asked for a fridge and microwave, which they put in our room minutes after arriving. This let us grab a bite to eat before our morning classes and get there in time. Our beds were comfortable, and the room staff was great. Our air conditioner stopped working our first evening there and the repair man replaced it within the hour. Our bathroom sink was stopped up when we got there, and one phone call to the front desk had the repairs done in minutes. I found the public bathrooms very clean and neat. There was always drinking water in each of the classrooms, a blessing. Overall I can't say enough good things, and I will be booking my room for next year as soon as I can.....

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krazldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

We are thrilled you had such a great stay! Whether it’s making sure the rooms are spotless, or fulfilling a simple request, our staff’s attention to detail is what sets them apart. We care about our guests and want their stay to be memorable. Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to your next stay!
See you soon,
Rick Skinner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We spent 4 nights at this hotel last week as part of an organized tour. Our room was quiet. I have to say that they have the WORST customer service ever. There were 7 - 8 tour busses there every evening and I know that most of them had continental breakfasts each day. They would only have 1 person working in this area to collect tickets, refresh food, etc. They constantly ran out of food and the staff, while not "rude", were less than accommodating.

Almost everyone in our group had problems with their electronic keys not working and had to get replacements. A friend found bedbugs - we did not.

When we returned from our first day trip, I stuck the key in the door - and thee door swung open. The maid hadn't closed the door properly.

The pool was cold.

I definitely would not go to this place again.

Room Tip: The only tip I have is STAY AWAY
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retta61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I’m sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. It is our goal to provide a great experience for guests and surpass their expectations. Your suggestions and concerns have been noted and I’ll be sure to address them during our next staff meeting.
Respectfully,
Rick Skinner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Large hotel, but very quiet. Comfy beds. Good place for a large meeting or conference. Staff very accomodating. A little off the highway and not that easy to find, but worth the trouble. Nice bar area with a big screen tv.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bonnie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Every guest can expect to find peace and quiet during their stay with us. We do whatever it takes to make your trip relaxing. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to see you again soon!
Many thanks,
Rick Skinner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marlborough hotels
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Marlborough
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Marlborough
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston Marlborough
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Boston Marlborough
Courtyard Boston Marlborough
#6 of 12 in Marlborough
171 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 12 in Marlborough
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center

Address: 181 Boston Post Rd W, Marlborough, MA 01752-1840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marlborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Marlborough
Price Range: $91 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center 3*
Number of rooms: 431
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel And Trade Center
Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Marlborough
Marlborough Best Western
Best Western Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing