We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff was great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Marlborough
Albany, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staff was great!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

While staying at the hotel, we had car difficulty. Amit at the front desk was wonderfully helpful, accommodating and understanding of our situation. His helpfulness saved us a lot of stress and turned what could have been a disaster into a bearable bump along the way.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing. We are glad our front desk helped with your car situation and hope you will stay with us the next time you are in town.
Sincerely,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    192
    154
    83
    59
See reviews for
173
56
30
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Dirty, noisy (late at night), things broken & when brought to the attention of manager - not fixed. Dirty breakfast room, bad food. No apparent security personnel (a strange man tried to push past me into my room). Poor attitude on the part of desk persons.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We are sorry to hear about your experience with your room and breakfast. We will take your feedback into consideration as we strive to improve our customer experience. Thank you.
Sincerely,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marlborough hotels

Inverness, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel was not a bad place to stop over during our trip. The kids didn't mind the pool area though DH said it was fairly dark. The room was clean enough though it could really use some updates - there were "clean" stains on the chairs/floor too. The tiny bar fridge was situated in the room corner on the floor-seemed really out of place. I would likely look for another place to stay the next trip through, though in a pinch I'd stay here again. The staff were very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Maria919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel while you were traveling through. We are glad you enjoyed the pool area and the staff service you received. We hope we will see you again the next time you’re in town.
Sincerely,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Treated poorly by front desk clerk, told no rooms, I explained I had called less than 5 mins ago and was told plenty of rooms. He went to the back and spoke with someone and then in silence took my credit card and DL then had me sign a receipt and handed me the keys.......no explanation, no apology, no directions to the room....I was disgusted....not to mention that someone else came up and asked for a room from another clerk and got one right away!!!! Won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Travelers7400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We are sorry to hear about your experience with the front staff. We are always striving to make improvements, and will use this as an opportunity to further train our staff. Thank you for taking the time to provide a review and thank you for staying with us.
Sincerely,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I was in a room with a king size bed. There was not a duvet, but the old fashioned bedspread type cover. There was a couch and a desk chair. The tv was a good size. The actual room had recently been updated but the bathroom was tired. Old style tiles. Etc. the toiletries were good. No Keurig in the room, just and old fashioned type of hot water maker. There were lots of places in the hotel I did not visit becuase I was there for one day on business. There was a very large conference room and I was in a small breakout room for the day. They were fine. There was not much nearby this hotel, nothing really within walking distance, but there was a whole plaza just down the road. There was a very small indoor pool and the fitness room had a few pieces of equipment. I was not over the moon with this hotel, but it was ok.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank suchaskirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We are glad you had a good stay with us and thank you for providing feedback about our amenities and your hotel room. We will look into them further in order to improve future experiences at our hotel. There are many choices for lodging and want to express our gratitude for choosing to stay with us. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you’re visiting.
Sincerely,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We got the hotel through Priceline for three nights over the 4th of July Weekend. After reading the reviews, I was a little fearful, but it was a good location at a good price. We were very pleased. The staff was very efficient and helpful. The location is great-- very near Route 495, many restaurants and some shops. Very safe and pleasant area, other chain hotels and businesses nearby. The hotel is old, but very well kept, and clean. The furniture and decor were well cared for and the beds and bedding okay. The tv was very good, although no premium channels. The pool and gym were deserted and we enjoyed them. It is a large hotel and on the weekend there were some families, a couple of bus groups of foreign teenagers who stayed one night, were quiet and left, and some trade show exhibiters. Pretty empty for the size of the place and thus quiet. Air conditioning worked well, if a little noisy (earplugs helped) but it was a very bad heatwave for the area. The only criticisim I have was the bathtub did not drain well. Plenty of towels, lower end toloietries, but replaved and cleaned beautifully each day. Breakfast was not included, but there are places near by if you do not want the hotel restaurant-- Panera, McDonalds, Wendy's, Five Guys, Longhorn, others. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel ahead and ask for your type of bed, smoking preference, quiet needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggieMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. It’s always great to hear about good customer service and a positive experience. Thank you for providing feedback about the bathtub, we will look into it further. Don’t forget to book with us again the next time you’re in town.
Sincerely,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware, Usa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel was very nice. Room was clean & AC was a great relief for a 95` day.
The food at the on location sports bar was OK but $$. Breakfast at the on site restaurant was included in the room, however it was only "continental". I believe it was $6 X-tra for hot food. Most of the other Best Westerns I stay at include some hot food as part of the room.
All in all not bad @ $89 for a king single ( not including state & local room tax ).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We’re so happy you had a great stay with us! Leaving feedback here greatly helps us improve and continue to give great service. Stay with us again next you’re in town!
Sincerely,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marlborough hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Marlborough
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston Marlborough
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Marlborough
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Boston Marlborough
Courtyard Boston Marlborough
#6 of 10 in Marlborough
162 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 10 in Marlborough
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center

Property: Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center
Address: 181 Boston Post Rd W, Marlborough, MA 01752-1840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marlborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Marlborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center 3*
Number of rooms: 431
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Best Western, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel And Trade Center
Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Marlborough
Marlborough Best Western
Best Western Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing