We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected much better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Marlborough
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My family and I stayed here for a hockey tournament last weekend. You would think a hotel that is supposed to cater to families and large events would be more prepared and professional. The staff was curt, sarcastic and unhelpful. There were a few associates during the morning breakfast that were very nice(Jeff and a young lady at the hostess desk that i did not get her name) but other than that - from the hotel front desk to especially Zachary's - awful. The property was understaffed, dirty, smelled, had fill-in security guards - lackluster to say to least.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeniseH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Guest,
We’re glad that you experienced friendly customer service from our staff during breakfast. We’ve noted your other feedback to take back to the staff to ensure we better live up to your expectations. I can assure we take our guests’ feedback seriously as we are always striving to improve our service and hotel.
Sincerely,
Rick Skinner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (822)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

705 - 711 of 822 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank MLT47
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed at this hotel for a hockey tournament. When we booked there was a disclaimer stating no alcohol or hockey sticks allowed in hotel. Since when is alcohol not allowed in a hotel! We finally checked in and there was a dead fly on heater, and some lady bugs. The counter in bathroom was broke in half. We went to the restaurant in lobby for supper and the food was horrible and the service was even worse. These were the rudest people ever and they added in gratuity! ! Continental breakfast was huge but you have to pay extra for hot stuff and the food was horrible to say the least. Do not stay here! There is a pool that will hold approximately 30 people for the 600+ guest! There was also 18 year old security guards walking up and down hallways for nothing.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moosetalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are sorry to hear about your feedback. We've made a notes of your experience and will address it in our training meetings. We will also reinforce the importance of quality service and kindness to our staff. We are always striving to improve the quality of our hotel and providing our guests with friendly customer service is our top priority. I know you will experience that if you visit us again.
Sincerely,
Rick Skinner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I attend meetings on a regular basis at the Best Western Royal Plaza in Marlborough. I again made the mistake of eating food from the very limited menu that is offered for delivery in meeting rooms. Today I had the caesar salad with chicken and the dressing on the side. The uninspiring salad came with dried out chicken and the dressing was Heinz in a packet. I turned to the person next to me and made the promise that under no circumstance would I ever eat food again at this hotel. Call me stupid, I've been eating this awful food for too many years. I'm done! The hotel should consider a broader menu with some healthy choices (the poor excuse for a Caesar Salad was the healthiest choice on the menu.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Boston2Bronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are sorry to hear that you found the food delivered to you unsatisfactory. We revise our offerings on a frequent basis and hope you enjoy future menu items that will be coming. We aim to please all food type preferences the best we can but will pass along your feedback to the restaurant. We hope the rest of your stay with us, and your room, were relaxing and comfortable.
Sincerely,
Rick Skinner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel was clean, the room was spacious and wonderful for all of us. The pool area and work out room were clean and neat. Great experience overall. The restaurant where we ate breakfast had a wide selection of foods to eat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Stacy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room, breakfast and our pool neat. Thanks so much for leaving us a review about your stay and we hope you’ll choose to stay with us again for your next visit.
Sincerely,
Rick Skinner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had two issues that I asked about. One was the pass card, I was given two and only one worked, had it reflashed, but still only one worked. The other was the phone in the room, the flash key did not work and that is necessary for access to my company's phone system. I asked to change it out but that never got done

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thanks for filling out our survey from your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for any malfunction of your keycard/phone. We hope the rest of your stay with us was enjoyable and relaxing.
Thanks,
Rick Skinner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marlborough hotels
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Marlborough
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston Marlborough
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Marlborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Boston Marlborough
Courtyard Boston Marlborough
#7 of 12 in Marlborough
172 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 12 in Marlborough
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center

Address: 181 Boston Post Rd W, Marlborough, MA 01752-1840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marlborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Marlborough
Price Range: $123 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center 3*
Number of rooms: 431
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel And Trade Center
Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Marlborough
Marlborough Best Western
Best Western Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing