We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent BBQ”
Review of Firefly's BBQ

Firefly's BBQ
Reserve with OpenTable
Firefly's BBQ is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 152 Restaurants in Marlborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: After Winning More Than 20 National Bar-B-Que Awards Owner Steve Uliss won the Massachusetts State BBQ Championships and represented the Commonwealth in the Jack Daniels World Invitational Barbecue Competition. "It took me about nine years to perfect my rib recipe... Now you can sink your choppers into some of the best bar-b-que on the planet, right here at Firefly's... And the awards keep piling up to prove it!" Walk into one of our restaurants and, in addition to receiving a warm welcome with Southern-style hospitality, you'll be greeted by the mouthwatering aromas of authentic American bar-b-que. We smoke our meats for up to 12 hours, blending apple, cherry and hickory woods to create the signature red smoke ring that identifies the genuine low-fire, slow-cooking process of true bar-b-que. We offer four different styles of ribs and mop sauces from around the South including North and South Carolina, Tennessee and Texas. In addition to bar-b-cue, you'll find many other Southern specialties on our menu including Cracklin' Bread, Fried Chicken, Red Beans 'n Rice, Sweet Potato Pecan Puddin' and more! We're also New England's largest BBQ Caterer catering parties for 20 to 20,000! Be sure to check out our Catering Menu if you're even thinkin' about having a party. Kick back, relax, and enjoy Firefly's award-winning bar-b-que and Southern fare at our restaurant, take a feast home, or let us cater your next big party or get together.
Lusby, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Enjoyed the St. Louis ribs - were nicely cooked. Sauces excellent and range from sweet to spicy to very spicy. Sides very good, especially mac & cheese.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank e6bgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    92
    27
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very good BBQ, can't comment on the atmosphere”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We got take out from Firefly's, and everything was great. Good selection, although it would be nice to see more beef rib options instead of just the one beef rib dinner. The sides are great, and there are lots of choices, and my husband and brother both really liked the chicken waffle dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Freya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“BBQ - goodness!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Disclaimer: a vegetarian at a BBQ restaurant? Yes, indeedy! Firefly's has the best veggie burger hands-down in the area! And their selection of barbeque sauces is awesome - my personal favorite is the Memphis BBQ sauce but they're all good! Nice selection of beers, both on tap and in bottles plus the condiment bar with complimentary four bean salad, pepperoncini's, beets, etc. is awesome. There's also a rack of hot sauces available from mild up to 'call the fire department.' Add to that the back room, Dante's, where there are smokin' hot musical acts every weekend and you've got a total package! Just writing this is making me think about going there tonight! (For the record, I'm not giving it top honors for romance because it's hard to look good when you're covered in BBQ sauce! ;-) )

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great BBQ”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a close to home restaurant and I'm glad! The BBq pulled chicken is my go to with the cucumber salad. My husband LOVES their burgers too. Something for everyone here and not bad on the prices

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mytimemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“FireFly’s is BACK! (food-wise but not entertainment-wise)”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Loved this restaurant after it first opened, however, after a couple years in they seemed to have lost their way (often a sign of over-expansion when the owners attention is focused somewhere else), after several blazingly mediocre meals we had crossed it off our restaurant go-to list.

Got invited there by a friend a couple months ago and I was pleasantly surprised at the ribs, back to meaty, moist and very tasty. Since then I have been back three times and have been impressed with the food each time. If you are a BBQ fan – good news - FireFly’s is back!

St. Louis ribs with the Memphis sweet sauce are my family’s favorites, for sides sweet potato pudding and their fries are a treat. They have a new menu with expanded choices so non-BBQ people can have more choices – can’t speak to them (never tasted a one) but the shrimp poor-boy sandwich looks good.

Entertainment wise they have Dante’s back room, which has a variety of bands in for a reasonable cover – be very careful though as they have some ABSOLUTELY DREADFUL tables, and it takes an act of congress to change once you go in, even for a non-sold out show.

If you get table number 604(?) (it is a foot square piece of wood attached to the wall accompanied by two very wobbly backless stools), don’t even sit down – immediately demand a table change or your money back. Not only is it tiny and hyper-uncomfortable, acoustically it is in a ‘prime’ location, in back of the speakers, so you can hear only reverb. I did ask the manager about a table change, but apparently they were saving the empty four-tops for customers who never actually appeared vs. customers who were there spending money and then left mid-show when their backs gave out.

So, Firefly’s food deserves a 5 star rating and their entertainment policies a 1 star, I did however give them 4 stars overall as it is primarily a restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EWZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firefly's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Firefly's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing