We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable, but nothing special”

Wildwood Steakhouse
Ranked #25 of 152 Restaurants in Marlborough
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Enjoyable, but nothing special”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I went here for a dinner party and i was a few minutes late and was never offered a beverage. we started off with a few flat breads for appetizers, which were really good. Then we moved to salads which were just the usual. for the meal, we had about 4 choices to choices to choose from---I chose the chicken piccata--it came with mashed potatoes and asparagus. the chicken was really good, but the rest of the meal was not so great. we ended with a chocolate cake, which was very good. Overall I would say the food is nothing great and we barely saw the wait staff while we were there. I probably wouldn't return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    57
    30
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wildwood Steakhouse”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Great atmosphere in the bar area and seating areas. Attentive and courteous waitstaff. Nice variety on the menu and all very delicious. Not just for steak! A local favorite.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
485 reviews
410 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good, but nothing special”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is fairly crowded every time we go there, but in general I have to say that the food is pretty average. We prefer to sit in the bar side, either at the long bar or one of the tables. The food is usually very good, just nothing special. Portions are adequate. On this visit, the steak tips were dry despite being ordered medium rare. The shrimp fettuccini was better. Good selection of wine, and the cocktails are tasty. I tend to think that the restaurant is crowded because there are a lack of good restaurants in the area. It is okay for the locals, but I wouldn't go out of my way to eat here.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wildwood needs more”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Wildwood is a good steakhouse located conveniently on Rt 20 in the east part of Marlborough. It is the best restaurant around for a couple of miles, but based on my multiple experiences, it is really more attempting to be a fine steakhouse than really accomplishing the goal.

Wildwood's atmosphere is modeled after a NY or Chicago style steakhouse. However, the steaks are mediocre but large. The whole atmosphere is like someone is trying to copy a top-end restaurant but not quite getting there. The salads aren't too fresh and are not made at the table. The steaks are large, but the meat is not the finest quality. The difference in temperature between medium and medium rare is either random or not discernable.

All in all, it's the best in the area - but not really at the fine end of dining.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frazier E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good Food and Service”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Had a business dinner here last night with 7 colleagues. Service was excellent for a group.

The food was quite good. We tried a number of the appetizers (calamari, clams, shrimp) and they were all very good. I enjoyed the Honey-Mustard Chicken, served with potatoes and squash ravioli (it's a lot of food for $15). Others ordered the steaks and said they were great.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank glftrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildwood Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Wildwood Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing