We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Awful”

Bolton Street Tavern
Ranked #60 of 152 Restaurants in Marlborough
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Northbridge, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just Awful”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We ate here on a weeknight to celebrate a birthday. We needed a table to seat 5 people and the hostess made a strange table configuration which would have had one person almost sitting in the same booth as another party! We asked to move to another table and they cleared a table so we could sit, however, they also wiped the seats and when we sat down, the seats were wet.

The food was just awful. I ordered the lamb and it was so overcooked, I couldn't tell if it was lamb or beef. Another person in our party ordered the sirloin steak cooked medium and it was well done. Frankly I am tired of paying good money on terrible food.

The server tried hard but was poorly trained and unprofessional. We will not go here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank moog718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    10
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Destin, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I didn't read the reviews prior to eating here. We arrived between 5&6 pm, $9.99 specials in effect, good menu variety, margarita was good. I'd eat here again if I lived here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank morebeerplz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Place Needs Chef Ramsey”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I read the unimpressive reviews...but like another poster, was willing to give this place a shot and wanted it to be good as my wife and I like the location and the bar atmosphere in the back. We were fans of the Piccadilly. Hmmm...not so good! My wife ordered the nachos and I ordered a burger...the nachos were ordinary...in fact, they looked like something my middle school kids would put together and shove in the microwave...burger was bad--I had ordered it to be cooked medium rare and it was not...but more importantly, the quality was just bad (* side note: ate a burger at Sully's a few days later and there was absolutely no comparison). Anyway, my wife wanted to rate this a 1, but I decided on a 2 because the atmosphere is still nice and our server was friendly. One poster commented that he wasn't sure why the reviews are bad...what do you expect from pub food? My response would be that I think 20 years ago that would fly...now, people expect more than typical bar food...they want quality for their $11 burger. Chef Ramsey...where are you?

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mikey41662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Food, Friendly , Attentive Staff”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We ate here on a Wed night, good crowd for a Wed night
we were seated right away, nicely remodeled place
Waitress came right over for drink order and said while we were looking over our menus', brought fresh baked bread and told us about the specials.

we had the fish sandwich and a chicken pannini, both tasty

Fish was friend, but, not heavy or greasy

New coffee was made for us.

There was enough attention, in case we needed someting, but, not overly done.

Will go back there often, as all of the dinners and sandwiches around us looked very tempting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ginnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Non-existent customer service, average food”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I was there with a friend and her daughter. The restaurant was full and very noisy, and our waitress spoke in a tiny voice that we couldn't hear at all. We received no kids menu, our waitress was completely inattentive. The food was meh - nothing special. My friend had the chicken broccoli ziti and said it was good; I had a bacon cheeseburger that was greasy and about average. The sweet potato fries were pretty good but again about average. We were there for much longer than we had expected because it took so long to get our waitress' attention, particularly when it came time to get our check. While we were trying to get her attention some older man came over and didn't identify himself at all but I assume he was a manager, and asked how our meal was. We said it was ok and we were trying to get our check, and he just walked away.

No one we encountered had here had every heard of customer service... For the price, I could find dozens of other places to go and get better food and better service. I won't be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan12369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bolton Street Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Bolton Street Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing