We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a longshot” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of LongHorn Steakhouse

LongHorn Steakhouse
Ranked #7 of 150 Restaurants in Marlborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,669 reviews
1,031 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 643 helpful votes
“It's a longshot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is another chain restaurant, and apparently not very well regarded by the locals. Despite this, the place was full by 6pm! After a 30min wait at the bar, we finally got a table. We had soups and the lobster dip for starters. The chowder was average, and rather salty like most chowders in the US. The lobster dip was ok with nice black chips to go with. Most of us ordered the steak and they were tender and good, of a decent standard. The caesar salad side was average and the portion too large. The sweet potato side was unusual, and ok. Another friend had the trout and she like it. We were too stuffed for dessert and it looks good, though probably too sinfully sweet and over the top, as usual

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    70
    31
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northboro, MA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Whenever I go to one of these chain places I expect the worst...and too often that's the case. The last Longhorn I went to, in Florida, was a real disappointment.

I have a good friend with whom I have lunch every couple of weeks. We've tested several of the restaurants around Marlborough and have settled on this one.

The food is very good, and at lunch is a particularly good value. There is an enormous number of choices....salads, salad-sandwich combos, steaks, etc. All are well prepared and quite tasty. Good portions. Service has always been either very good or excellent. The place is well laid out and quite relaxing. Easy parking and very fair prices. Nice bar.

I'm not giving five stars because this is not a gourmet treat or anything particularly special. Just a good solid place. I would like to see a few more options for those of us who try eat on the healthy side. On a recent visit my server could not think of any option to a bulkie roll until I asked if she could put my beef on some brown bread served with the meal. But this is a quibble.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rkgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Consistent Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Typical chain steakhouse with pretty good food. The service was good, and the prices were in line with the quality fo the food. Safe bet for good food with the family.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
160 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“wow what a steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Close to our hotel we chose this restaurant based on internet research before we went. We chose the dinner for two for $30 which gives you two salads, two entrees and a shared dessert. The steak was to die for and the cheese cake was huge. We would search out one of these restaurants again in future travel.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LondonWesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“good for lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Ate there last week for lunch. They have some good lunch specials and the house made chips are a must. Service is very friendly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FStrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LongHorn Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to LongHorn Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing