We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of a Kind in SE Massachusetts”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ansel Gurney House

Ansel Gurney House
Ranked #4 of 14 Restaurants in Marion
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of a Kind in SE Massachusetts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Ansel Gurney House is a great gals day out. I have been several times with different groups of friends at all times of the year (although I find I go more in the fall) and the lunch is very good, fresh soups and sandwiches always very tasty. The atmosphere is wonderful; antique house filled to the brim with boutique gift items to please.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank czorbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holbrook, Massachusetts
1 review
“Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

My family and I vacationed in Wareham for many years, one of the things we always did as a special treat was to have lunch at the Ansel Gurney house. My children always loved to wander through the many different rooms to find new treasures. The food was always excellent, especially the onion soup. We did this thirty years ago. My husband and I are planning on going, only now we will be bringing our grandchildren.

A. Rankin

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arankin14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acushnet, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
173 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Lovely and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Ansel Gurney house is a delightful place to shop and get away for a nice lunch. The signature chowder, soups and sandwiches are innovative and delicious.
Great desserts, my favorite is the Indian pudding!
Nice atmosphere, very New England and overlooking the gardens.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FQRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
314 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Pleasant place to spend a few hours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

This quaint antique house has 11 rooms chock full of merchandise and is great place to buy gifts. Lots of kitchen-wares, stationery, baby gifts, books, ornaments, linens and a nice selection of unique clothing, jewelry and handbags. After your gift shop experience stop into the cafe for a light lunch or dessert. There are also small gardens to walk around in the proper seasons. I would say 2 to 2 1/2 hours can be spent here with lunch included.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NekoCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ma
Level Contributor
141 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Quaint out of the way restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

A nice place to visit with a great gift shop. Limited menu but good food. Service was very slow not a place to go if your in a hurry.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keetlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ansel Gurney House also viewed

 

Been to Ansel Gurney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing