We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pheasant Hill Inn
Nearby Hotels
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel Salem(Salem)(Great Value!)
$179
$174
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Danvers)
$70
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plaza Motel(Peabody)
$69
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
71
5
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
5
2
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 78 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Superb 3 day stay at the Pheasant Hill in a lovely comfortable room. The owner couldn't do enough to make our stay perfect including lending beach towels and hats!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAD1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Pheasant Hill B&B offers great value: reasonable rate coupled with terrific service at a very, very comfortable facility. We had the Garden Suite, very large 2-room suite with private outdoor deck, TV, easy chairs, desk, CD player, books on the shelves, nice bathroom amenities.. everything you could want. Owners were helpful and friendly, and even left us a little gift of 2 small bottles of Prosecco because she new it was my birthday. I'm not always a fan of the accommodations in B&B's (compared to inns and hotels), but the room here was ultra-comfortable. There's a nice living room / dining area with coffee and tea always available, couches, a fireplace, books and magazines and lots of information about the surrounding area. Breakfast is very basic, but good: excellent Greek yogurt, hard boiled eggs, a bread assortment for toast, cereals, etc. Basic but good.

Located deep in a quiet residential neighborhood. No beach or ocean view, HOWEVER, Devereux Beach is a 5 minute walk from the B&B. It's a tame, family beach, which was actually fine with us. There's a nice little snack-shack (Lime Rickey's) right on the beach. Somewhat crowded with lots of kids... kind of a fun, hopping family place.

About the location: if you're looking for a wilder, more isolated beach experience, you'll have to travel further north. The Marblehead location is a bit of a trade-off - closer in to Boston, but not quite out of the congestion of "greater Boston". You're at the beach, but you feel like you're at the edge of the suburbs. That's not a bad thing - just depends on what you're looking for, and how far you want to drive.

Restaurants and other amenities are either in Marblehead (walking distance, though not very close), or in Salem. There are excellent restaurants in both towns. Recommended: Sixty2 on Wharf (in Salem), and 5 Corners Kitchen in Marblehead. Best "clam-shack" experience on the North Shore is at Farnham's in Essex. Best fish and clam fry in the area, nice marsh views, friendly owners... joint is jumpin'.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seeker1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

There are so many positive reasons for staying at the Pheasant Hill Inn B&B in Marblehead , MA, that it remains a real challenge to know where to begin one's praise: The sublime quietude (except for delightful bird calls and ocean waves splashing on the nearby shore), the breathtaking beauty of the natural surroundings, the comfortable beds and deliciously clean linens and rooms, the most splendid breakfast buffet in a dining room with a view of the Atlantic Ocean, the nearness to all the tourist services and attractions you could wish for in this charming jewel of an oceanside community, all the special little touches that are too numerous to mention, but above all, the amicable, generous and caring hosts, Nancy and Bill, who go out of their way to make certain your stay is as carefree as possible. It simply cannot get better!

We have just completed our second, nine-day stay at this B&B (a fact which I believe speaks for itself) and are looking forward to our next sojourn there. We have also had the pleasure of rooming in each of the three very spacious, adorable, light-filled suites available in what has become our “home away from home”. So give yourself a special, unforgettable experience, too, as we have – and find your way to the Pheasant Hill Inn B&B. You will love it. That's certain!

As a final anecdote, we would like to comment on Nancy's outstanding success at presenting an irresistible variety of breakfast buffets ..... morning after morning. There are more than enough choices for all tastes. Personally, we were really happy every morning to find exactly what we enjoy most for our own breakfasts at home. And it was always a treat when Nancy included her special homemade grapefruit marmelade, something we had never tasted before. Some mornings there was a special plate of the most delectable smoked salmon, accompanied with capers and chopped red onions. Considering the restrictions stated in the Marblehead B&B code that limit what she is allowed to prepare , Nancy's breakfast buffets are simply phenomenal!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald182163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

We were fortunate to be able to stay at Pheasant Hill. With the help of Nancy and Bill we were able to visit wonderful places in the area. Their dinner suggestions were fantastic and the ambiance of the B&B were marvelous.
If you have never been to this area, this is the best spot. It is easy to find and then they help you to negotiate the twists and turns of the locale. We visited the Peabody-Essex Museum at their urging and it was fabulous (we generally do not 'do' museums).
It was a memorable grand stay!

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank josephone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

My wife and I spent 4 days at the Pheasant Hill B & B. Nancy and Bill were very attentive and helped us plan our trips around Boston, Lexington and Concord. Nancy prepared a wonderful continental breakfast every morning and volunteered to check us in for our return flight. The B & B is gorgeous and the rooms are spacious and clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing stay at the Pheasant Hill B & B and would highly recommend it .

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilbreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews