We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Beautiful from Donna and Robert”
Review of Harborside House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marblehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harborside House
Ranked #3 of 19 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Simply Beautiful from Donna and Robert”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Susan was the perfect host from the start planning our weekend getaway to the Marblehead coast. Her dining recommendations were exceptional, outdoor waterfront mid-afternoon lunch at The Landing and the best dish ever for dinner at Jack-Tar. Walking into the Harborside House you receive an instant warm family atmosphere. Susan's home is extremely clean and elegantly decorated but still comfortable to feel relaxed. The harbor views from the front of the house were stunning and the garden view from the rear was simply beautiful. The Harborside House is located so that everything is in walking distance, park your car and enjoy the fresh air. I would have to say one of my most enjoyable moments was having coffee in the living room with Susan taking in her history of the home, Marblehead and her experiences. So pleasant.

Room Tip: We chose the garden view room which was quit and peaceful, I cannot speak for the harbor view room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
64
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bury UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Wonderful four days visiting the Boston area. We were made to feel so relaxed, Susan is so helpful and thoughtful. She shared with us her knowledge of Boston, the local transport and the lovely village of Marblehead. The recommendation to dine at Jack Tar's was inspired, though even Susan couldn't arrange a win for the Red Sox when we went to Fenway Park ! We were fortunate to share her lovely home, comfortable and well appointed. A super place to stay on the way back to the UK, for the peace of the coast, yet close enough to Boston. We hope to return on one of our trips in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The hostess is amazing! She is very thoughtful and entertaining. She is very helpful on the location of things in Marblehead and on the history as well. The atmosphere she has created for her guests in the house is very welcoming and relaxing. The place immediately makes you feel calm and at home. My girlfriend (now fiancee) and I are usually busy during the week with work and the weekend we spent here helped take away the stress. Two of my favorite things were the nicely prepared breakfast and the classical music in the common room. Thanks again for everything Susan!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

The proprieter is delightful, and she thinks of everything. Yet she isn't 'in your face' like some B&B owners are. We are big people, so we would have preferred a king-sized bed. But the cookies on the welcome desk made up for that. Because it is an authentic, historic home, the winding stairs are quite tight, so it was not easy for older people to get their suitcases up and down the stairs. It is not a place cut out for the handicapped, as both guest rooms are upstairs.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKtravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth RI,
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

A hidden gem tucked in among the historic homes along Gregory St. A short walk to the harbor, parks, and restaurants. A lovely,comfortable room with plenty of space, reading material (local history and much more), and a harbor view window. The breakfast was excellent in many ways: the setting, the food, and the engaging conversation/stories with our host, Susan.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed one night at the Harborside House and it was a great night and a great value. We were able to walk into town for dinner and walk along the water and do some great exploring of the area. We definitely plan on returning to the Harborside House.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trentbysc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2012

This past weekend my husband and I used our smatbox gift to stay in the Garden room. It was lovely, comfortable and felt like going home. Susan is warm and smart and a wonderful hostess. The breakfast was healthy and tasty with lots to choose from. The location is great for seeing a lot of the North Shore of Boston. We would stay again. Laura K.

Room Tip: couples should stay in the garden room for comfort and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacation104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
2.4 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
2.5 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,954 reviews
5.6 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbor Light Inn
Harbor Light Inn
#1 of 19 in Marblehead
435 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marblehead Inn
Marblehead Inn
#2 of 19 in Marblehead
319 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside House

Property: Harborside House
Address: 23 Gregory Street, Marblehead, MA 01945
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harborside House offers gracious accommodations and warm hospitality in a great location. Handsome 1850 home in the historic district overlooks picturesque Marblehead Harbor. Guests enjoy water views from its wood-paneled parlor, period dining room and summer breakfast porch. Two well-appointed guestrooms feature antique furnishings and period wallpaper.Choice of twin beds or double bed. A private bath and air-conditioning are available. Amenities include terry robes, hairdryers, toiletries, two bicycles, WI-FI, beach towels and chairs. Off-street parking. A short walk from Harborside House are antique shops, art galleries, shops of local craftsmen and dining choices to suit every taste bud and budget. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing