We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming Inn, the very best in Marblehead!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harbor Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor Light Inn
Ranked #1 of 20 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
san francisco, california
1 review
“A charming Inn, the very best in Marblehead!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

We have stayed at the Harbor Light Inn for a number of years and each time we have been impressed with the highest standards for decor, cleanliness, service, food and selection of staff. The warm, welcoming atmosphere of the Inn to-gether with comfortable, beautifully appointed furnishings both in individual rooms, living rooms and dining room as well as lovely, carefully maintained gardens with a swimming pool all add to the charm of this wonderful Inn. When traveling to Boston, the Harbor Light Inn is the only place we would consider staying.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2010
It is always so gratifying to heard such lovely feedback from our guests. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    71
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
60
252
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
caneskappa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

This has to be one of the best experience my family has ever had traveling together, The staff was very kind and helpful and the innkeeper was wonderful. The meals were very tasty and served in their very quaint dining room with a fireplace. The bedrooms were comfortable and had such charm. The tavern had a great wine list and was open whenever we needed. I can not wait to stay here in the summer.

We Love you Harbor Light!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caneskappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2010
Thank you so much for your lovely words about our Inn. Come back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

We decided to stay at the Harbor Light for a New Year's Eve getaway. The inn was lovely, we stayed in room 5 which had a fireplace and jacuzzi. Although it was a wood burning fireplace we were told not to burn wood or anything else other than a Duraflame log which lasted approximatey 2 hours. Each time we needed another we had to go to the desk to request one and they had to place it on the grate. Very annoying - I was disappointed that I couldn't burn wood and insulted that they thought I wasn't able to light a Duraflame. Since it was winter we had coats and jackets and needed more hangers which I requested twice at the front desk and never received. I also had to request the complimentary bottled water and shampoo. The ad for the inn advertises wifi free internet service. I couldn't get the Internet from any where in the inn and I felt like I was putting them out when I asked for help. For the price we paid for that room these amenities should have been available to us. Why wasn't bottled water and Duraflame logs left in our room each day? They also had only one newspaper which was usually glomed up by another guest and never to be seen again. The inn had New England charm but the staff needs a refresher course in hospitablity. Amenities that should have made our stay special where missing. For the price we paid there are many other inns in the New England area that are willing to make us feel like special guests.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank framegirlmontclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phli, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2010
Thank you for your reviews of the Harbor Light Inn. We take all reviews into consideration and truly appreciate all of our guests who take the time to post a review of our establishment. We work hard to provide all of our guests with the level of service they expect and our sincerest apologies when we were not able to meet everyone's expectations.

In regards to the issue of wood burning fireplaces. We would love to let guests have real wood fires as we truly understand the charm and comfort a wood burning fire provides. However, the safety of all our guests is always our primary concern. Due to the safety concerns, for at any given time upwards of 40 people, and strict fire code regulations we have been limited to only Duraflame logs. Again due to fire code regulations the logs must be placed by a staff member. This is not intended to make any guest feel insulted and our apologies if it has. It is simply another step we have taken to insure the safety of all.

It is important to us that all of our guests feel special and we strive to do just that. On the rare occasion we fall short we want everyone to know we will work twice as hard to insure that it will not happen again. Yes, those amenities should be in your room waiting for you. All staff members have been reminded that we are here to provide the absolute best experience to each and every one of our guests.

We want all Trip Advisor users to know we are listening to all of you reviews, comments, and critiques and when an area arises where we can improve our service and therefore improve your experience. We will work hard to do just that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
120 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2009

I am so through with B&B's. It is staying in someone's home. One has to tip toe around and in this 200 year old place that is impossible without creaking noise. So, for me, no more B&B's. But if I have to I would stay here. This must be one of the best in the East. The rooms are old, obviously, but clean and well done. The tiny tavern (six stools) is pleasant and we had a bowl of soup (luke warm) that was otherwise good. Breakfast was kind of funky; salmon fratata is not my cup of tea for breakfast. My wife took the last of the sausages and they were not replenished. But, I didn't need them, anyway.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leatherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2009

We were greeted by the inn's owner and were helped with our luggage to our second floor room. We loved the corner fire place and the attention to detail found everywhere we turned in our bedroom. Then there was the tavern: A great selection of fine wine as well as wonderful cordials that mixed with nice warm soup on a cold winter day that made everything just perfect. The breakfast was a delight with choices every day that were always delicious. Peter the owner and his manager Susan could not have been better hosts. They were friendly and willing to make our stay memorable in every way. We will be back again but next time without the foot of snow on the ground so that we will be able to enjoy the out door garden with the pool and the beauty that is Marblehead.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbershoplead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, MA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

Harbor Light Inn is wonderful. The rooms are adorable and the staff far exceeded our expectations. Each day's breakfast was delicious, and the cozy tavern was great for hanging out with family. Thank you to Peter, Susan, Janice, Ron, and the rest of the staff-- you are the best!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nico9er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2009

My husband and I have been visiting Marblehead several times a year for the past four years and we always stay at the Harbor Light Inn. It feels like a home away from home. Susan George is the Manager of the Harbor Light and she is wonderful in her attention to taking care of her guests. My husband and I feel very comfortable and safe staying at the Harbor Light Inn and we would not think of staying anywhere else. The Inn is located in the Old Town section of Marblehead. There are many wonderful shops close by and places to eat. We highly recommend the Harbor Light Inn.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redhead1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
2.3 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
2.4 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
11.7 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
5.7 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
1.2 mi away
Marblehead Inn
Marblehead Inn
#2 of 20 in Marblehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Light Inn

Property: Harbor Light Inn
Address: 58 Washington Street, Marblehead, MA 01945
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Light Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old town Marblehead and the harbor district, the Harbor Light Inn offers easy access to beaches, shopping, art galleries, historic homes, museums and a variety of great restaurants. The Harbor Light Inn offers complimentary parking, wireless Internet and an on-site Tavern. Within short driving distance to neighboring Salem, Massachusetts and less than 18 miles to Boston. Corporate retreats, small weddings and executive meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Light Hotel Marblehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing