We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oozing with charm”
Review of Harbor Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor Light Inn
Ranked #1 of 19 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oozing with charm”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

What an amazing weekend we had! This was my husband and my first trip to Marblehead and only happened to stumble upon it by accident. We booked this stay at the last minute and being the 4th of July weekend, we were blessed to find there was one vacancy left. This was a very special weekend in historic Marblehead with lots going on including an Arts Festival which I adore! The accommodations were positively charming and our room was impeccable! It was so clean and bright and plenty spacious. We even had a whirlpool tub which fit 2 people with plenty of room to spare! The hot breakfast was one of the best we've had which included plenty of choices including savory quiche, sausage, homemade french toast, assorted pastries, yogurts, cereal, fresh fruit...etc... An afternoon snack is set out for the guests to enjoy as well along with some ice cold freshly brewed iced tea which my husband enjoyed out by the sparking swimming pool. Although my husband and I don't drink, for those of you who enjoy a cocktail or two, there is a quaint lounge with a bar that opens early evening and offers a light fare of appetizers. The staff was courteous and friendly and provided a wealth of information on the activities happening around the town. The Inn is so conveniently located in the heart of Marblehead Neck that everything was within walking distance including restaurants and beaches. We parked our car for the weekend and left the keys in our room. We have fallen in love with this quaint little town and had the most fabulous time! We will definitely be returning to the Harbor Light Inn and highly recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We both got lucky this holiday! You discovered Marblehead and Harbor Light Inn when we had a cancellation and we now have a new guest excited about returning to our Charming Inn. I am so glad to hear everything was perfect for you. Thank you for sharing your story! We look forward to your return visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    72
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
61
256
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

A beautiful place to stay in the heart of historic Marblehead, I loved my visit here! Hospitable,lovely staff and everything is a small lovely walk away! You can smell the salt sea air and stroll through the winding, historical streets of Marblehead. Just a perfect vacation spot in a glorious town!

Room Tip: Indulge in a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyReeding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

My husband and I were moving to Marblehead, and wanted to spend our first night before the closing in the town. Harbor Light Inn staff were amazing. Margie and Dominic (may have spelling wrong) were the best welcome into town we could want. They gave us the best recommendations on where to eat, and what to do when we moved in. In Marblehead your transfer station sticker is also your beach sticker. Best advice ever!! Thank you Margie. The room we had was on the third floor but this didn't matter since the hotel is the best kept older Inn we have ever stayed at. Even continuous hot water in the bathroom. Our room had a private deck, which was perfect for a cup of coffee in the morning. The breakfast provided was perfect. They even had a small "tavern bar" for wine, beer, and after dinner drinks served again by the amazing Margie who gave us even more helpful tips to living in Marblehead. Worth every penny. Wish we could spend Christmas there!!

Room Tip: They do have a pool which could be considered Kids activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Welcome to town! I am so happy to hear you had the opportunity to enjoy our amazing staff and Inn.
Marj is our incredible one women Chamber of Commerce and loves to share her knowledge with guests. Marj and Dominique couldn't be more pleasant and welcoming. I am so proud of all of my staff and appreciate hearing that they helped create a wonderful experience here at the Inn.
We look forward to welcoming you at our Tavern now that your a neighbor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

we stayed here Last weekend, what a great place to stay, the town of marblehead was small and all the shops were within walking distance. the Inn itself was very clean and the staff was super nice, also the breakfeast was fantastic . i hope to come back to this area again and will stay here if I do.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jkdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Flight at Logan cancelled with no hotel availability in Boston. Found HLI through online search. I was definitely in a pinch for a place to rest my head for the evening and the fine folks at the HLI came through for me in a big way. They made sure I felt at home. The room was clean comfy and classy. The surrounding area was a site to behold. There were beautiful homes, a bay within short walking distance with breathtaking views and plenty of places to eat and shop nearby. HLI staff put me on great places to eat, sites to see and arranged transportation back to Logan for the next day. It’s actually good that my flight was cancelled because I just found my future place to stay on my next trip to MA!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bramharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Isn't it great when things work out for the best! I was so pleased to hear my staff helped turn around a bad airport situation and created a pleasant stay at the end of your day. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you have business in Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We were a party of two on a weekend getaway this past weekend and are so delighted that we chose to stay at Harbor Light Inn. The room was lovely...four poster bed, and an (admittedly unused but charming) fireplace lent just the right touch of romance without being sappy. The staff was very accommodating to our requests for things like...keeping our ice packs in their freezer, chilling wine brought with us for a picnic elsewhere, extra towels, etc. Everyone smiled and seemed truly happy to be working in the gracious surroundings. We found the breakfast to be delicious, the hot foods kept hot and the selection of fruit was great. I generally don't eat cereal but I noticed provision for those who do as well as yogurt and homemade breads. On Sunday freshly made biscotti (white chocolate-cranberry) was made available for the afternoon munchies and my SO found it delicious. The only issue, and truly the ONLY one, was that there are not enough outlets for the modern traveler...two phones to charge, two computers to charge...one Nook...but we managed anyway and had a FABULOUS stay. The town itself is wonderful and steeped in history and beautiful homes and scenery. We didn't spend nearly enough time exploring so I think this trip may be a repeater!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor near the front door and the stairs but didn't have a problem with noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write the five Star review! It is such a pleasure having you visit us and I am so pleased you enjoyed all that we have to offer.
Since we are a beautiful old antique home, if a room does not have enough outlets to keep up with technology we have power strips to give guests who require more. On your next visit if you should need one please don't hesitate to ask at our reception.
There is so much to do and explore in our lovely town that one couldn't possible complete in one weekend. I know you will return. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Thomaston, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This place is so warm and wonderful. Okay YES, they have a very good photographer and the rooms look a bit more elegant than they are. But not by much. But think about it- good website, good photography...yep they tend to do everything well here. All first rate. Polite, elegant, romantic, ambiance, style, service, location, class and most of the breakfast is beyond description. Even the coffee is first rate. You'll love this place. Seriously.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
What a great compliment! Thank you for taking the time to write and spread the word with such an enthusiastic review!
It is our pleasure to have you visit and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
2.3 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
2.4 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,952 reviews
13.0 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
1.2 mi away
Marblehead Inn
Marblehead Inn
#2 of 19 in Marblehead
316 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Light Inn

Property: Harbor Light Inn
Address: 58 Washington St, Marblehead, MA 01945-3553
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Light Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old town Marblehead and the harbor district, the Harbor Light Inn offers easy access to beaches, shopping, art galleries, historic homes, museums and a variety of great restaurants. The Harbor Light Inn offers complimentary parking, wireless Internet and an on-site Tavern. Within short driving distance to neighboring Salem, Massachusetts and less than 18 miles to Boston. Corporate retreats, small weddings and executive meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Light Hotel Marblehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing