We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of Harbor Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbor Light Inn
Ranked #1 of 19 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival we felt the warmth from one of several fireplaces, as well as from the reception. Our room was tidy and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and we felt we were in an elegant setting. Loved how all was set up throughout. We would love to return for another visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lassnlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 456 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

Dear husband and I love to visit New England B&B's, and this was one of the best marriages of convenience and charm we've seen so far. Our room (32, beautiful architecture, nice big bed, natural light, private and quiet) was a dream. This B&B has a lot of rooms (I think we were told that there were 40) but you still get the personal service and intimate breakfast that you would expect from a smaller establishment. Breakfast, by the way, was yummy!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dotsebeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for a lovely review and compliments on our breakfast!. We always enjoy hearing the response of our guests trips. We are much smaller than you thought, just 20 rooms which does give us plenty of interaction with our guests. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to N.E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My boyfriend and I went for a birthday getaway and had a wonderful time at the Inn. Our room (#22) was fantastic, with fireplace and double jacuzzi tub in a garden bathroom. We enjoyed it so much the second night we stayed in by the fire and ordered pizza!
The staff was friendly and helpful and the full breakfast was delicious.
I highly recommend the Harbor Light Inn!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this Inn for a weekend get away without the kids. I had my reservations because March can be cold and raw on the North Shore of Mass. We had a great time and this Inn was perfect even with one stormy day. We had room 24 with a fireplace and it was clean, warm and comfortable. This Inn is right in the middle of Old Town Marblehead and close to all the shops, restaurants and museums. Everything is just a few minutes walk from here. There is lots to do and see whether your a sailor, history buff or just a patriotic American! The Inn is tastefully decorated in period furniture and seemed well cared for. At check in the lady at the front desk was very nice and took time to tell us about the town and Inn. In the afternoon they served coffee / tea and some pastries. We relaxed in the large family room as the warm fire burned and we scouted the restaurant menus. We had dinner at Maddies Sail Loft right around the corner and had a great meal upstairs. Our mattress was firm, comfortable and we slept great in the 4 post bed. The next morning we had a nice breakfast. They served bagels, quiche, French toast and fresh fruit salad. They also served coffee, tea, assorted juices etc. The dining area was large, bright and open. Check out was pleasant and easy. The parking in the back was adequate but I can see that being real tight with some bigger cars during the busy season. We never made it to the tavern and obviously the pool was closed. If you go, make sure to visit Crocker Park, Fort Sewell and "The Spirit of 76" painting at Abbott Hall (all an easy walk from the Inn). Check out the lighthouse and Castle Rock on Marblehead Neck. Over all it was a great stay and was very relaxing due to the off season. We would definetely recommend and will stay again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a fire place. The "off season" can be nice too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The term, "hidden jewel" is very overused and since I believe this gem of a B&B is not so hidden anymore it would require more creativity than I have for an adequate way to describe what was one of our best travel experiences ever! First, I'm not even sure B&B is a fair description since the look and the feel of this wonderfully restored historic property is more reminiscent of a boutique hotel with the charm of an upscale B&B. That being said there was no pretense here as the staff were very welcoming, down to earth, and accommodating. I was even traveling with my wife and two children and they found a way to accommodate us in top form and at the last minute. The Inn boasts beautiful parlors, a main dinning room with a sumptuous breakfast buffet, and there is even a great little pub right on the property. While I was there the inn keeper Peter Conway happened to stop by the pub and was very gracious with his stories about the history of the Inn. Apparently he opened the Inn with his wife back in the 1980's well in advance of the B&B travel boom and they remain owner operators to this day. Needless to say this can't be done without a great manager and staff who were also on hand to guide us in the right direction for dinner and sightseeing. The room was comfortable and spacious on the third floor with the original celling beams from the buildings construction in the 1700's. Add the historic charm of Marblehead Massachusetts and the inns proximity to all the areas shops and restaurants and I have to say this was like that feeling you get when you know you've found something very special that you will return to again and again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Owner at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

We were so pleased to read your review, as we strive to provide our guests with a memorable stay.
Our staff focuses on customer satisfaction and we are happy we achieved this with your family.
The inn has been meticulously restored so that we are able to provide a combination of history meets modern day amenities.
Should you plan on returning for a stay, we would love to host you again. Summer is also wonderful time here !
Regards,
Suzanne Conway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Nice 2-night stay-package included $50 restaurant certificate ($20-30 savings).The receptionist was very helpful with restaurants and things to see. A different hostess equally helpful on day 2. Took care of dinner reservations too. The suite (Rm 25) was nice-on second floor, and part of an addition so it was modern vs. old New England quaint. Quiet at back of house, comfy King bed, large bath with jacuzzi (very large so we didn't try it since it would take long time to fill; small gas fireplace. Suite's sitting room somewhat claustrophobic due to wall to enable private door-- we really didn't need it. Good if you had a teenager with you- sofabed. Breakfast just OK but nice sun room--ample continental; one hot item, but these were not great (a somewhat greasy quiche one morning, and an egg and veggie casserole that was a bit tired by 8:30 when we ate. Pricey, but relaxing inn with several sitting rooms, Nice tea/coffee service available all day, newspapers/games/puzzles. Very few guests during our stay so it was not bustling--perhaps in the summer, a better vibe in evening and at breakfast. The tavern is really just a small room--well appointed but not really a place you'd want to linger.

Room Tip: If you want more than one bed, the suite (rm 25) is most expensive but gives privacy. Jaciuzzi coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPWAnnapolisW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

I cannot write enough wonderful things about our visit to Marblehead and the Harbor Light Inn. Marblehead itself is such an idyllic town. The people we encountered were pleasant and friendly. The architectural sights and the views of the harbor are lovely.
As for the inn, the room (room #5) was spacious, clean, and quiet. The breakfast was tasty, and the coffee was really good. We arrived on a Sunday. My husband is a huge football fan, and the owner and manager happily accommodated him by turning the game on the big-screen TV located in the dining area. All of the staff were helpful and nice. Our visit was perfect, and I highly recommend a visit to the town and the inn!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank adieringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. We are always happy to hear you enjoyed staying with us and that we made your stay perfect! We look forward to seeing you in the future to experience more that Marblehead has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
2.3 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
2.4 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,013 reviews
5.7 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
246 reviews
13.0 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
1.2 mi away
Marblehead Inn
Marblehead Inn
#2 of 19 in Marblehead
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Light Inn

Address: 58 Washington St, Marblehead, MA 01945-3553
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range: $219 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Light Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old town Marblehead and the harbor district, the Harbor Light Inn offers easy access to beaches, shopping, art galleries, historic homes, museums and a variety of great restaurants. The Harbor Light Inn offers complimentary parking, wireless Internet and an on-site Tavern. Within short driving distance to neighboring Salem, Massachusetts and less than 18 miles to Boston. Corporate retreats, small weddings and executive meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Harbor Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Light Hotel Marblehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing