We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harbor Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor Light Inn
Ranked #1 of 20 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Romantic Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We decided to spend alittle more than we usually do to stay at this lovely Inn with it's working fireplaces. We had great weather and spent lots of time walking around, enjoying the ocean and the good restaurants, always coming back to the welcoming Inn and its friendly staff. The owner is especially pleasant and helpful. Most certainly worth the extra expense for the extra special experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay with us . We put that little extra touch into all we do to make your visit memorable. We hope you will find the time this winter to return and enjoy our winter specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    71
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
60
252
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Harbor Light inn in Marblehead, MA. I must say, that this was the best inn we ever stayed at. (We have stayed at many, across the country)

It's actually more like a hotel with fabulous amenities, and a real "full" breakfast. Comfy rooms, and a really neat tavern.

The town of Marblehead, is quite amazing, as well. We will try to come back here is the summer.

Thanks to the staff and owners for making this a very pleasurable stay.

Room Tip: From what I saw, all the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
What a lovely compliment from such a seasoned traveler. It truly is our pleasure to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
I am happy to hear you enjoyed our abuntant breakfast in the morning and our cosy Tavern in the evening.
We look forward to providing you with another fabulous visit this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at the Harbor Light Inn. It is located within walking distance to shops and restaurants and we easily found our way into Boston. The building has a lot of charm and is tastefully decorated. Our room was comfortable and cozy and had a fireplace and jacuzzi which was perfect for the chilly & rainy days while we were there. All of the staff were extremely friendly and very accommodating. We will definitely be recommending this Inn to friends and family and we hope to return again after the Holiday season!! Thanks again for such a relaxing getaway!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KirstenG035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
We were so pleased to see your stay with us was rated five star and we look forward to treating your friends with the same friendly hospitality that you came to enjoy on your visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Spent one night in this B & B and had a wonderful time. Firstly - the location in the old part of Marblehead is very nice. Secondly, the Inn, made up of 2 old houses, is nicely done in New England style. our room was very nice with a good old fashioned poster bed. It even has a small bar which was full of guests after we got back from our dinner - and we joined them for a nightcap in a very cozy atmosphere sitting around the (gas) fireplace.
The only criticism I could give would be the breakfast - which we found to be a little bit small in choice and which was made worse that when we arrived after a nice walk around the harbour/Fort Sewall area, the main dish was already finished. They did, however, provide us with nice fresh scrambled eggs, which was a nice replacement.
The price we paid was a bit higher than what we would have expected to pay for a B&B, however it does offer a bit more than what one would expect and all in all, a very nice experience worth the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your Romantic Getaway. We truly appreciate feedback so we can continue to give the very best service and strive to be better.I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and took full advantage of enjoying our "Select Registry Inn".
We do have a wonderful full breakfast buffet and are always willing to cook to order if any item runs low or any dietary restrictions apply. I am pleased to hear my staff did take care of this situation and make you eggs to order . We are happy to do this.
We look forward to your next visit to the Harbor Light Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I may have been expecting too much after reading all the wonderful reviews and learning they were part of "Select Registry". The breakfast was very good and the common rooms were quite lovely. Loved that they had a little bar and you could order small plates. Staff was friendly as well.
Read a review about it being noisy if you had a room on the street side. We were in room #26 and it was on the street side but did not notice the noise as we had to run the window a/c unit at all times. The windows were painted shut. I noticed other rooms had the windows open so must have just been ours. The chipped paint on doors, around door handles, and window were not very pleasing to the eye. The hallway ceiling had a lot of stains also. My husband is very easy going but when we got to our room he actually want to find other lodging. Unfortunately that is not possible with most B&B's so we just dealt with it. Again, maybe our standards are just too high but I think the room was clean but in disrepair.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WakeboardingMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Owner at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the cozy tavern. It is unfortunate that your room was not up to your standards and we would have gladly moved you to another room if you had let us know. The hallway ceiling that you photographed was caused by a guest above the week prior to your stay. He wanted to create a steam bath, so he turned on the shower full blast and closed the bath door and waited for it to "heat up". Unfortunately he did not close the shower door and the spray landed on the floor and poured through the ceiling in the hall. We had to wait over a week for it to dry. It has been repaired and repainted. The peeled paint that you found on the shutter in your room was located in the pocket behind the window shutter. Since it was not visible with the shutters in their open position, housekeeping and our maintenance man missed it. Thank you for bringing that to our attention. It has been repainted.
I could not find a problem with any of the windows in the room. I checked each one and they all opened easily. We would never paint a window closed. Since they are approximately 200 years old, they have original glass and may seem fragile. I hope that the overall condition of the inn better reflects the attention to detail that we strive for.
Thank you for your comments and bringing the shutter paint to our attention.
Peter C.

We appreciate all comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Harbor Light Inn is welcoming warm and comfortable.It is in Marblehead which is more quaint than quirky Salem.Positioned very close to the harbour means it is quiet and is in a lovely period house.The restaurant only serves a plentiful breakfast but limited bar snacks are available on request-this is good as there are not many restaurants in walking distance.The exception is the excellent 'Barnacle'about 10 minutes walk away.Our room on the ground floor had a large private terrace which has close proximity to the swimming pool in season.Staff were very helpful and as usual,coffee and cakes were available in the afternoons.Use of a computer was complimentary and overall we had a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the ground floor if you are not good with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cristerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsville, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I recently travelled to MASS. from Ontario, Canada on a last minute honeymoon. The highlight of our trip was going to be our stay in Salem over the weekend leading up to Halloween. However, the entire city was booked solid! Luckily, the Harbour Light Inn in Marblehead, a very short and scenic drive from Salem, had a last minute vacancy and put us up in a fantastic room.

The staff was extremely friendly, accommodating and eager to show off the best Marblehead has to offer. The Inn is very welcoming, with fireplaces to greet you in two sitting rooms and the dining room. Our room (22) was fit with a double jaccuzzi tub and a log burning fireplace, which they lit for us. The Inn also includes a "nook" fit with a wet bar and a friendly bartender to serve up some drinks. The bar was a great place to come for a night cap and meet other guests. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful and is served in the very cute dining room that looks out onto the pool area. Good coffee too!

My husband and I later reflected that we wish we had known of this place before stopping in Salem and Boston to make this is home - base, doing day trips along the MASS coast.

Driving times, with decent traffic:
Salem - 15 mins
Boston - up to an hour
Plymouth - took us 2 hours with insane traffic in the Boston area

We'd love to come back, and hope to bring some friends along with us. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodihalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Owner at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We are so glad that we were able to be part of your honeymoon trip. It was a great time to visit our area with all the activities going on at that time. The staff enjoyed sharing our town with you and appreciate our kind comments.
Hope we see you on anniversary soon.
Peter C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
2.3 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
2.4 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
11.7 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
5.7 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
1.2 mi away
Marblehead Inn
Marblehead Inn
#2 of 20 in Marblehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Light Inn

Property: Harbor Light Inn
Address: 58 Washington Street, Marblehead, MA 01945
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Light Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old town Marblehead and the harbor district, the Harbor Light Inn offers easy access to beaches, shopping, art galleries, historic homes, museums and a variety of great restaurants. The Harbor Light Inn offers complimentary parking, wireless Internet and an on-site Tavern. Within short driving distance to neighboring Salem, Massachusetts and less than 18 miles to Boston. Corporate retreats, small weddings and executive meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Light Hotel Marblehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing