We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Harbor Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor Light Inn
Ranked #1 of 20 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just returned from two wonderful days in Marblehead....the Harbor Light Inn was the perfect place to spend the last two days of our week-long New England getaway (we flew out just 20 hours prior to Hurricane Sandy arriving in the New England area).
The inn is beautiful and the staff is friendly, helpful and full of information about the area. I would highly recommend this historic inn as the perfect place to stay in the Marblehead/Salem area. We hope to return.
Shari and Roger
Tampa, Florida

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shari b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Owner at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Shari and Roger,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad that you got out on time and hope the weather was also in your favor when you returned to Florida. Hopefully, you flwe over the storm.
Hope you come back soon.
Peter Conway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    72
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
61
256
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Warm and wonderful bed and breakfast. The staff is superb, the rooms are romantic and beautiful. The area is lovely. Not only is the inn in the quaint town of Marblehead, but it is convenient to Salem, Rockport, Newburyport, and of course Boston. My only regret is that we didn't stay longer.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a fireplace during the colder months. Not so much for comfort, but for romance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you very much for rating the Harbor Light Inn with 5 stars! We greatly appreciate your superb review of our staff, guest rooms and area attractions. We hope you will re-visit the area in the future and join us again at the historic Harbor Light Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We spent two nights at the Harbor Light Inn with three other couples after a weekend in Boston attending the Boston College-Clemson University football game. The staff was very friendly and helpful with restaurants and sightseeing suggestions. Location is great. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: No elevator so if stairs are a problem, ask for first floor which is up one flight from the ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigermb98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Many thanks for your recent review and recommendation to other prospective travelers. It was a great pleasure to host you and yours at the Harbor Light Inn during your celebratory visit to Boston and the North Shore region. We are delighted to hear that you found our location and staff to be accommodating. We sincerely look forward to hosting you again next football season.
All the best,
The staff at the Harbor Light Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here to celebrate my mom's 90th birthday--she loves Colonial architecture and was delighted with this inn. The staff was very kind and helped make our stay special. The stairs would have been difficult for her to manage but I explained the situation when I made the reservation and they put her in a room on the first floor just steps from the back entrance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not in the front--the morning trucks were a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Owner at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Joan L,
We are glad that you and your mother had an enjoyable stay at the inn. It was a pleasure to meet you both and glad that room 4 worked out so well for her. We made a notation in your file to suggest the first floor rooms for your mother when you hoipefully, return.
Thank you
Peter C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We wanted a "special" place for a management team meeting with a group of 8. The Harbor Light Inn provided great rooms, a dining area that converted to meeting space, lovely bar for relaxing at night...and the incredibly quaint town of Marblehead with restaurants and views that took us truly "away" from usual city life and convention facilities. Topped with service from the heart, this is one place I would return to in a heartbeat....and heartily recommend.

Room Tip: Every room is different, so ask for what you want. One of our team members is well over 6' tall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UpYourService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Owner at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us, Your group was a plesure to host at the inn and the entire staff enjoyed helping to make your meeting agenda go smoothly. I am enjoying your book that you wrote about service in our industry and look forward to see you all again.
Sincerely
Peter C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swampscott, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My husband sent me on a surprise overnight as a "mom break" to the neighboring town of marblehead. (A great idea hubbies out there!) I was given such a warm welcome and tour and stayed in a beautiful large room full of character! I decided to sleep in so I missed breakfast but was aware of wonderful smells from the dining room and was offered a "to go"bag when I was on my way out. A nice experience all around and would certainly recommend to out of town guests!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear neighbor,

Many thanks, to you and your sweet husband for joining us at the Harbor Light Inn. Your review was well received by our front and heart of the house staff.

We are glad to hear you woke up slow and really enjoyed your "mom break" to the fullest. We aim to please and provide our guests with the highest level of service. We are very glad your experience was well-received all around.

We hope to see you and yours at Harbor Light Inn and Tavern in the future.

Yours truly,

The staff at the Harbor Light Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed at the Harbor Light Inn for two nights in July and really enjoyed our stay. I was especially impressed by how friendly and helpful the staff was; the front desk was able to answer our questions about restaurants, beaches etc. and their recommendations were great. Breakfast is serve yourself buffet with fresh fruit, two hot egg or sausage casseroles, juice, coffee. They have a parking lot, which allows you to be right in the middle of Marblehead and not have to use your car for most things. Rooms are all different so ask about specific needs. Very clean. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmg4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Jmg4848,

From the entire staff at the Harbor Light Inn, we thank you very much for reviewing your two night stay in July at the Harbor Light Inn. We appreciate your kind words and detailed information provided to other travelers seeking out accommodations in the area. Please come back again soon for our fresh, homemade and convenient location in the historic district.

Many thanks,

The staff at the Harbor Light Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
2.3 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
2.4 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,933 reviews
13.0 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
192 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marblehead Inn
Marblehead Inn
#2 of 20 in Marblehead
315 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Light Inn

Property: Harbor Light Inn
Address: 58 Washington St, Marblehead, MA 01945-3553
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Light Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old town Marblehead and the harbor district, the Harbor Light Inn offers easy access to beaches, shopping, art galleries, historic homes, museums and a variety of great restaurants. The Harbor Light Inn offers complimentary parking, wireless Internet and an on-site Tavern. Within short driving distance to neighboring Salem, Massachusetts and less than 18 miles to Boston. Corporate retreats, small weddings and executive meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Light Hotel Marblehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing