We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful Stay at The Harbor Light Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Light Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor Light Inn
Ranked #1 of 22 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay at The Harbor Light Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed there, and it was all around 5 stars. We had a Fireplace and a jacuzzi room that was to die for.

Nice tavern and access to some great restaurants in Marblehead. The staff was super-accommodating.

Loved the full breakfast! And it was really great.

We definitely will be back.

Room Tip: Any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Thank you kindly for your five star review following your recent stay at the Harbor Light Inn. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return to the Inn and Tavern.

Sincerely,

The staff at the Harbor Light Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    70
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
54
225
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Besides all the wonderful amenities, they have a great tavern, fire places and it's located right down town in the historic section of Marblehead.

My favorite part is that they have a full free breakfast, that changes everyday.....not continental, but a FULL FREE BREAKFAST.

The best, all around. Great staff, as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

My fiance and I spent a Saturday night in January. Even though the weather was freezing outside, this historic inn was warm and cozy inside. All the common rooms, as well as our room, had working fireplaces. The general manager, Susan George, was a wonderful host and gave us great advice on dining choices in the area. The Inn serves an incredible hot breakfast; probably the best "continental breakfast" I have every had. There is a cute bar next to the dining room. We especially loved the ship models displayed and the overall decor of the inn. Susan was very helpful and warm, without being too intrusive. Location is excellent, near the water, shops and restaurants. You couldn't ask for a better getaway and at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Room 24 is excellent..romantic with fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dear guests,

From the staff at the Harbor Light Inn, we thank you very much for your complimentary review. We are happy to hear that you and your fiancé enjoyed the accommodations and amenities provided.

We hope you will return again to Marblehead in the seasons ahead.

All the best to you and yours in 2012!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
222 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Extremely well appointed makeover of a 1729 home into a great inn. The fireplace room is warm and inviting and the bar is quite amazing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolnRobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you kindly for this lovely review.

We recently opened a new gas fireplace during the holiday season in our green sitting parlor, adjacent to the Tavern. We hope you will enjoy during a future stay at the Inn.

All the best in 2012!

The staff at the Harbor Light Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

How lucky I feel to have found the Harbor Light Inn for a weekend of festivities in honor of my son's Bar Mitzvah! From the arrival of my out-of-town guests on Friday night, the tone was set - warmth, elegance, comfort, coziness to the after temple services celebratory luncheon that was so magnificent allowing guests an opportunity to really connect with each other and to feel like they were in a gracious, sprawling, beautiful home to a wonderful breakfast send-off on Sunday morning after a overnight in gorgeous rooms - it all was magical. And topping it off and guiding me through all my planning decisions and ensuring that everything was perfect ..., the very special General Manager of the Inn Susan George - charming, funny, warm and intelligent, Who could ask for more?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Thank you for selecting the Harbor Light Inn for your celebratory weekend.

It was a pleasure hosting you and yours. We are pleased to hear that you found satisfaction with our guest rooms and event space. In addition, the warmth, elegance, comfort, coziness and service you described with other prospective visitors is greatly appreciated.

We hope you will return to the Inn and Tavern for future events and gatherings in the New Year.

Sincerely,

The staff at the Harbor Light Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

This B&B is located in the center of Ol'Town Marblehead with its quaint shops old seaman bars adjacent to the Harbor and all within walking distance. The pool area is lovely and a great place to have a cocktail and cheese/cracker happy hour. The staff are so helpful and willing to accomodate even the most obscure wishes. Period furnishings make this true departure.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathyC9411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Thanks Kathy C. for your lovely review.

We greatly appreciate the informative details you shared with prospective travelers to the Harbor Light Inn and Old Town Marblehead. We hope you will visit us again in 2012!

All the best to you and yours,

The staff at the Harbor Light Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Taking a dream trip with a childhood friend, we stayed at the Harbor Light Inn and fell in love with it. The rooms were cozy and comfortable, the staff was incredible, and the food was delish! We stayed for three nights in October 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We felt welcome and well taken care of by the staff, loved wandering the streets of Marblehead and of course ventured over to Salem for the Halloween goodness. I'm already making plans to go back and stay at the Inn again... this is definitely a place worth checking out if you are anywhere in the area!

Room Tip: Regarding Room #2, on the ground floor: It was located just off the front desk and the tavern, so in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbaldwin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you for your great review of the Harbor Light Inn and the room tips shared with others. We are excited to hear that you loved your stay and will be returning again. Please be sure to visit the front desk and let our staff know that this is return trip for you and yours. We look forward to meeting you in the future.

Happy Halloween!

The staff at the Harbor Light Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
2.3 mi away
The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
2.4 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 1,796 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
7.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
1.2 mi away
Marblehead Inn
Marblehead Inn
#4 of 22 in Marblehead
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Light Inn

Property: Harbor Light Inn
Address: 58 Washington St, Marblehead, MA 01945-3553
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Light Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old town Marblehead and the harbor district, the Harbor Light Inn offers easy access to beaches, shopping, art galleries, historic homes, museums and a variety of great restaurants. The Harbor Light Inn offers complimentary parking, wireless Internet and an on-site Tavern. Within short driving distance to neighboring Salem, Massachusetts and less than 18 miles to Boston. Corporate retreats, small weddings and executive meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Harbor Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Light Hotel Marblehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing