We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding”
Review of Harbor Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbor Light Inn
Ranked #1 of 19 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2007

We wanted a charming, intimate location for our wedding. We found the perfect place! Susan made everything so easy, she was amazing! Since we are from out of town, she was able to recommend a florist, caterer and photographer! She went out of her way to make sure that every detail was perfect! We were snowed in, so got to watch the Patriots win again on the big screen and Susan made that a special occaision for us as well, by serving us freshly made cookies and beverages. I can not emphasize enough what a truly wonderful experience we have had at the Harbor Light Inn, and we look forward to many nore visits to come.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 1971Smg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 456 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2007

The inn is actually a combination of two original houses, both built in the early 1700's. The inn itself is neat - winding staircases which are a bit of a mish-mash undoubtedly due to combining the houses. Almost all woodwork is original, although some is in need of removal of many years of paint. The inn is right on Washington, within walking distance of several restaurants and at the end of many small, nice shops. The exterior of the inn was in reasonable shape, until you look up at the gutters which were rotted clear through in several places.

The person attending the desk when we checked in was very nice. He showed us around, and brought our luggage up to our room. He also offered to make us dinner reservations and helped with a map and restaurant suggestions. He offered wine glasses & corkscrew and had coffee, tea and hot chocolate available 24x7.

We stayed in room 21, which admittedly was a cheaper room (they are all expensive, though). It was small but still reasonably sized and had a decent closet and bathroom. The decor was minimal, but appropriate to the inn/room. The view is to the street with electrical wires across the top of the windows. We had no trouble with street noise.

The shower and floor grout both could really use re-grouting. The bed was one of the worst I've slept in - not something I expect for an expensive inn. The pillows were not much better. I normally sleep quite easily, but here I didn't sleep well either night.

The chocolates on our nightstand were a nice touch, but again, I expected more amenities for this class of inn. The toiletries were just average.

As far as breakfast, we got mostly continental-type breakfast food, such as cereal, some breads which were good and juice. There was one hot casserole on a warming plate which ran out both mornings for a time and wasn't very warm. All food was self-serve. The only person somewhat attending did not speak English well, and seemed to only bus tables. Breakfast is served in a newer room that was quite nice, but overall, the experience was disappointing.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank laura790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2007

This is a lovely B&B located in beautiful old Marblehead. The lady at reception when we checked in was very nice and always happy to assist.

The room is pretty with nice little touches like the thick soft tissues and lovely smelling moisturiser. The bathroom is quite nice, the bed comfortable and the breakfast tasty, though we were sorry that the highly rated creme brulee french toast was not on offer when we were there.

Marblehead is a much more quaint and beautiful place to stay in then Salem. If visiting Salem, I would recommend staying in Marblehead and driving over to Salem, which is very touristy and like an open disneyland. And if staying in Marblehead, I would highly recommend the Harbor Light Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KYP2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

The Harbor Light Inn is the perfect place to stay. Walking in is like going back in time and yet, it feels like home. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable, the breakfasts spectacular, and the garden and pool are perfect for relaxing. The Harbor Light Inn staff takes care of every little detail (there is always a treat in the dining room during the afternoon and evening hours), everyone is friendly and very professional. The atmosphere is great... I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SusanaMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2007

As all the reviews say, this inn is quaint, the breakfast delicious and generous, the pool area is beautiful and the inn is walking distance to everything. However, if you're looking for a romantic getaway, don't book room 23. All night, all we heard was water running through pipes. I don't know if it was toilets flushing and/or showers or jacuzzis running but they definitely need a new plumber.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank traveler22nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2007

The Harbor Light Inn is the quintessetil New England Bed and Breakfast. Located in a colonial era seacost village, the Inn gives you the best of modern amenities blended perfectly with New England ambiance. The bed and bath were extraordinary, and the creme brulee french toast was beyond description. Start your day with breakfast on the patio by the pool, followed by plenty of shopping at the water's edge, and along winding, beautifully manicured streets. Finish with a lobster dinner at a nearby (walking distance) restaurant overlooking the harbor, a whirlpool bath and great night's sleep. Perfect.
Don & Carol - N.J.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeCodorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2007

This hotel is a gem. The historic buildings are linked together seamlessly, and each room is beautiful. Every person working there was genuinely helpful and friendly; we were sent to the most delicious lobster dinner at a restaurant walking distance from the hotel. But best of all were the breakfasts, cooked by super-talented manager Susan George. Her food was extraordinarily tasty and original, and she was generous with the recipes. As for Susan herself, we got to talking and she wound up doing a full makeup makeover on me and my friend! It was the highlight of our trip--totally fun. We loved this hotel and the whole hotel experience.

Stayed: May 2007
1  Thank brooklynwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
2.3 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
2.4 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,012 reviews
5.7 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
243 reviews
13.0 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
1.2 mi away
Marblehead Inn
Marblehead Inn
#3 of 19 in Marblehead
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Light Inn

Address: 58 Washington St, Marblehead, MA 01945-3553
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range: $219 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Light Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old town Marblehead and the harbor district, the Harbor Light Inn offers easy access to beaches, shopping, art galleries, historic homes, museums and a variety of great restaurants. The Harbor Light Inn offers complimentary parking, wireless Internet and an on-site Tavern. Within short driving distance to neighboring Salem, Massachusetts and less than 18 miles to Boston. Corporate retreats, small weddings and executive meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Harbor Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Light Hotel Marblehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing