We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our honeymoon getaway!”
other travelers have booked this property
Garden level entrance to Chestnut Sweet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden level entrance to Chestnut Sweet
Our logo Patio and garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Garden level entrance to Chestnut Sweet
Our logo
Patio and garden
Through the front door
Garden-level sitting room
Detail of sitting room
Sitting room
Sitting room and hallway to living room
Master bath (first floor) with shower
Vanity (stacked washer-dryer behind louver doors)
Commode and rain shower
Living room looking toward kitchenette
Living room loveseat
Kitchenette, with master bath to right
Stairs to second floor
Second floor queen bed, with skylights
Second floor bedroom
Stairway from second floor to first
Hallway detail
Through front door to garden
Garden patio
A typical street in Marblehead, with historic houses
Marblehead's Old Town House
Marblehead Harbor
Gas House Beach in Marblehead (one of several beaches)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Marblehead, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Morgan C
1 review
“Our honeymoon getaway!”
Reviewed August 16, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My husband I stayed here for our honeymoon. It was absolutely beautiful! Just a block or two from a gorgeous view of the water, and it seemed like only 5 minutes away from Salem. My husband and I were astonished at how welcoming and nice the people of Marblehead and Salem were! Francie and Bob are one of the sweetest couples you could ever have to accommodate a vacation stay! They were warm, welcoming, and generous! The sweet was absolutely home for our period there. It was such a comfortable environment--we didn't want to leave! If you're considering a stay in the Salem area you HAVE to stay at the Chestnut Sweet! Thank you Francie and Bob for being such good hosts! You made our honeymoon that much sweeter!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2017
Morgan and Dillon, what a treat to read your review. We LOVED having you in the Sweet and were honored that you chose it for your honeymoon. And we were delighted that you took such pleasure in Marblehead and Salem—precisely what we always hope for guests. Now, shall we look for you again next year on your one-year anniversary?! We hope so!

Francie and Bob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheryl B
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great cottage!”
Reviewed July 24, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Beautifully furnished and tastefully decorated cottage in a great location. Francie was warm and welcoming, and responded to all our needs. We were delighted to discover a bottle of wine, a big bowl of fresh fruit, plus juice, milk, and coffee - and a little bag of chocolates on our pillows! Thank goodness for the terrific central air conditioning...it was 101! My only challenge, as someone who is highly sensitive, were the fumes from the attached double garage. So Francie asked her husband to park in the driveway for the remainder of our stay. If you like to sleep in, you may want to bring a sleep mask to block out the light from the skylights in the upstairs bedroom. But who wants to sleep late when you are in lovely Marblehead? Thanks so much, Francie!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2017
Hi Kalie/Sheryl, thanks so much for your review. We were troubled about your sensitivity to fumes, as we've not heard this mentioned before by our other guests; I am wondering if these might have come from the next-door lawn mower? This might well have been the case ... In any event, thank you for choosing us, and for coming. We enjoyed meeting you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoMFett
York Beach, Maine
1 review
“Hidden Treasure in Marblehead, Mass.”
Reviewed July 22, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a most wonderful time staying at Chestnut Sweet, a magical cottage tucked away, but within an easy walk to all Marblehead has to offer. Our hosts, Francie and Bob, were warm and gracious; and, they made sure we had everything we needed!
The cottage itself is a destination! It is the perfect place to relax after a day strolling the many historic sights of Marblehead. It is very beautifully appointed and peaceful. You will not be disapointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2017
What a splendid note! And we so enjoyed your visit and meeting you two! We hope you'll return again, and this time get MANY days of sunshine and warm temperatures to make up for the rain! Thanks so much again.
Francie and Bob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2017
Thank you Alyssa and Mark, for this lovely comment! We really enjoyed meeting you and hope you'll plan on another visit to our Sweet soon. We loved having you there!
Francie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sherpa640...
1 review
“Great place!!!! Very clean and Bob and Francie did everything they could to make our stay great!!!”
Reviewed June 24, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

They cottage was amazing. Very close to Salem and Boston. Marblehead itself was beautiful. Restaurants close by and food was great!!! Can't say enough. Had a great weekend getaway.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2017
Thanks, David and Michelle, for that lovely review -- it was great meeting you, and we do hope to see you again soon! Francie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S
1 review
“36 chestnut sweet”
Reviewed June 19, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Great place very very clean. Lovey people. Would go back again.Decorated nicely and they were very helpful. The neighborhood was amazing!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2017
Thank you, David and Michele. It was a great pleasure to meet you, and we're pleased that you were happy in the Sweet. We DO hope you'll return for another weekend get-away soon?

Francie and Bob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChloeFa
Honolulu
1 review
“"Sweet" vacay”
Reviewed June 10, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

From our initial booking online, we received warm and quick replies to ensure a smooth arrival to our Sweet accommodation. Bob welcomed us and gave us a tour of what was to be our home base for the next few days. The Sweet was cozy, clean and offered all the comforts of home with added touches that showed our hosts, Francie and Bob, cared about us. Marblehead was the perfect spot to day trip along the coast and into Boston. The town is right on the water and is quaint and walkable to some great eateries and shops. We couldn't have asked for a better experience. Mahalo, Francie and Bob, for a wonderful stay and for your warm hospitality. If our travels take us to the area again, Chestnut Sweet will be our first choice of accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2017
Wow, ladies, thank you! This was wonderful to read, and it only adds to the pleasure of having met you both. You took great advantage of our area, got to know it, and we loved seeing that! Thank you again for choosing us, and by all means, come back!! Mahalo, both!

Francie and Bob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing