We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Really nice place in a fantastic town.”
other travelers have booked this property
Garden level entrance to Chestnut Sweet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden level entrance to Chestnut Sweet
Our logo Patio and garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Garden level entrance to Chestnut Sweet
Our logo
Patio and garden
Through the front door
Garden-level sitting room
Detail of sitting room
Sitting room
Sitting room and hallway to living room
Master bath (first floor) with shower
Vanity (stacked washer-dryer behind louver doors)
Commode and rain shower
Living room looking toward kitchenette
Living room loveseat
Kitchenette, with master bath to right
Stairs to second floor
Second floor queen bed, with skylights
Second floor bedroom
Stairway from second floor to first
Hallway detail
Through front door to garden
Garden patio
A typical street in Marblehead, with historic houses
Marblehead's Old Town House
Marblehead Harbor
Gas House Beach in Marblehead (one of several beaches)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Marblehead, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tony T
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Really nice place in a fantastic town.”
Reviewed October 29, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really liked this place. Modern amenities, very comfortable, and quiet. Perfect for 2-3 people. Walking distance to restaurants, harbor, and key sites. Quick drive to Salem. Easy parking on the street. Nice owners.

We recently bought a home in Marblehead. If we didn't, this would be our go to home away from home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2016
Hi Tony,
Thanks so much for your kind words! We were so pleased to welcome you to the Sweet and glad you enjoyed it. And we'll hope to see you in Marblehead, now that you're taking up residence in our good town. Thanks again for choosing Chestnut Sweet!
Francie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great getaway!”
Reviewed October 25, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this for a quiet getaway and it didn't disappoint. Bob and Francie were available for any requests or questions. The Chestnut Sweet is a cozy place and perfect for a quiet, romantic getaway. We ventured into Salem, in hopes of some Hocus Pocus. That was the only disappointment of our trip, not seeing a floating spell book. The Sweet is close to the bay and all that Marblehead has to offer. Great place to stay! If you have never been, contact Francie immediately and they will steer you in the right direction. Thank you Bob and Francie for an amazing stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2016
Michael, thank you for those lovely words. We were so glad to host you and doubly glad that you so enjoyed Marblehead and Salem (despite no Hocus Pocus!) . We hope you'll come back to see us and once again, our great thanks for choosing Chestnut Sweet.
Francie and Bob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneMarie...
Suffield, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Everything we hoped for and more! What a find!”
Reviewed October 18, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My sister and I wanted to get away for a week and explore Marblehead and Salem for the first time. ChestnutSweet was the perfect place to stay. Our hosts Francie and Bob were so gracious - available whenever we needed them and providing terrific local advice on great things to see and do. When we arrived, we found a lovely bottle of wine to start our wonderful stay. The cottage is immaculate and beautifully decorated in soft hues with amazing attention to detail. In addition to the great layout of rooms, we were treated to a cozy gas fireplace, soft fluffy robes, and a stash of coffee pods just waiting to warm a chilly morning. We loved the location, being on a street that ends with a sea view to the causeway and beyond. During our stay, we walked all over Marblehead proper which is a terrific place in and of itself! Restaurants in town are really good! We were minutes away from Salem and also took a 40 minute drive to Essex and Danvers. Loved this place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warmly appointed cozy cottage, quiet, centrally located
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2016
Dear ladies, both,
Wow! This was wonderful! And we SO enjoyed the two of you! Our Sweet is really meant for great get-aways like yours—we think you took advantage of all the area has to offer. We loved that you toured Marblehead and Salem and environs, and really got to know them. Thank you again for choosing us and for giving us such a terrific review. We look forward to your return soon!
Francie & Bob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kswoman
Kismet, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sweet gem tucked away on Chestnut Street”
Reviewed October 9, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Looked exactly as pictured. Owners were very nice and accommodating. They have thought of everything you will need for your stay, like being at home. A great use of space and tastefully decorated. The bed was very comfortable. Only a short walk to the water. You will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: fireplace/bed
Liked least: Getting to the property. Streets are hard to maneuver.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2016
Hi Lisa and Chris,
Thanks so much for your kind review. We loved having you here, and hope you'll return again. Such a pleasure to meet fellow Midwesterners!
Francie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comiskeyc...
Clinton, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ChestnutSweet is a gem in Marblehead!”
Reviewed August 5, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This adorable little 'cottage' is beautifully decorated and appointed. You feel like you're at home without the work of being home! Each room is so pleasing and comfortable. Francie and Bob have thought of everything that you could need or want. Walking distance to the little downtown area, restaurants, beach, harbor. Loved it!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2016
What a lovely review! Christine, you and Peter were just great to have as guests, and we especially loved how you enjoyed getting to know Marblehead! We hope you come back to see us again, and soon! Thanks so much again.
Francie and Bob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHSmiths
Laconia, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We truly enjoyed our stay in Chestnut Sweet. We just parked the car and walked all over Marblehead. Thank you Francie and Bob, you truly have a beautiful cottage, it was just perfect.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 19, 2016
Dear Terry and Brenda,
Thank you so much for your lovely review and for letting us host you! It was a great pleasure to meet you, and we hope you'll return again often.
Francie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 15, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was excellent
Liked least: Not applicable
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2016
Dear Elaine,

What a lovely note from you, and we both thank you! We loved meeting you and hope your visit last fall to our Chestnut Sweet was the first of many to come.
Francie King
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing