We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maddie's

Maddie's
Ranked #11 of 57 Restaurants in Marblehead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great local place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

I have been a visiting Marblehead for over 20 years. A staff member from Harbor Light Inn said we should try Maddie's. I have to say we both had a great meal and it was very reasonably priced. My Aunt had the Scallops which were served over Lobster Risotto. I had the Lobster Ravioli. Loaded with Lobster and finished with a delicate sauce. We both started with the ceasar salad which was huge and delicious, not overly dressed. Sadly we were too full for dessert. Our server was wonderful, friendly and attentive. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank olivia056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    43
    6
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Maddie's the Bar, Topside the Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Some reviews of this spot seem to have confused the two different food and drink options in this building. Downstairs is Maddie's Sail Loft, where the "crowd of yahoos" hang out, and upstairs is Topside, where you can get a decent meal or sit in the pub. Maddie's is a dive-y bar that attracts locals all year-round and tons of sailors during the season. The beers are cheap, the crowd is young, and order food downstairs at your own risk! Upstairs dining room and the pub are full of year-rounders having a drink at the bar or ordering a solid meal. Seafood is decent, and the menu probably has something for everyone. This restaurant attracts an older crowd of locals and plenty of families when parents are looking for a glass of wine and kids need a nacho fix. Reliable food, pleasant atmosphere, and "just fine" service.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank morejavaplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleasantville usa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food is Terrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

First of all the place caters to a young drunk crowd of yahoos!! Don't make the mistake of eating there it is horrible!! I bit into the steak sandwich and the whole piece came flying out of the sandwich as I bit down because it was a solid piece of fat in the middle of the of steak!! The kind of fat that you cannot chew, like rubber!!! It was disgusting! Food was good many many years ago, but not the case anymore!! Disappointment!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank groovieday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, CT
Level Contributor
341 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Fine dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Dinner was very good. The only hitch was we were the only people in the dining room and dinner came out before we could finish our chowder.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank robstainedglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great place to catch a game”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great place to mix in with the locals and catch a game on TV. Bartender was beautiful and she could pour a good pint of Guiness

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maddie's also viewed

 

Been to Maddie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing