We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dinner”
Review of Maddie's

Maddie's
Ranked #8 of 57 Restaurants in Marblehead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Danbury, CT
Level Contributor
356 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Fine dinner”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Dinner was very good. The only hitch was we were the only people in the dining room and dinner came out before we could finish our chowder.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank robstainedglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    44
    6
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great place to catch a game”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great place to mix in with the locals and catch a game on TV. Bartender was beautiful and she could pour a good pint of Guiness

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food close to Inn”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Loved the location, people and food. Great characters!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friday night fun!”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We are there practically every Friday night. Great drinks! Love the lobster raviolis. Short ribs-$12-unbelieveable! Very affordable. Great ambiance-cozy seating area w/ fireplace. Best bartender in Marblehead-Sonya- will take good care of you!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ktwomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
114 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“So good for so long”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Can it really be 40+ years of the Maddie's experience? The change of owners has been not as disruptive as one would have expected for an insitution such as Maddie's. However, Loretta has done a fabulous job building off of what makes this place special and enhancing the experience seamlessly. Sat at the upstairs bar for dinner: the new-to-us fireplace and the couch area was a great addition making the area very warm and cozy. The bar staff makes the famous Maddie quality/sized-drinks of yore and the food is indescribable. Who can go rapturous about a burger and fried clam plate? I mean, how many ways to do them differently. I don't know what their secret is but my wife and I both could not stop ooo-hing and ahhh-ing over our dinners. Shame on us for so long between visits.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jumbo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maddie's also viewed

 

Been to Maddie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing