We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent menu preparation and presentation”
Review of Jack Tar American Tavern - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jack Tar American Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A tavern in historic Marblehead serving comfort foods like mac-and-cheese and soups, as well as pizzas and sandwiches.
Sanford, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent menu preparation and presentation”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This was our favorite restaurant experience...went back twice. Patio dining is the best...call ahead to guarantee seating. The food is excellent...in preparation and presentation...very diverse menu and you want to try everything. In two nights and four of us dining both nights, we all loved everything we ordered!!!!! The staff is friendly and the atmosphere wonderful. Inside you can see the kitchen if you like watching a professional staff at work.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gjpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    48
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food - and gluten free options!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Jack Tar is is tucked behind Marblehead Old Town's main street, but it is worth finding. On a pretty summer night we enjoyed the outdoor patio that is surrounded by trees arching overhead. Two of the three of us had to eat gluten free and it was a pleasant plus to have a separate gluten free menu. Our entrees - scallops and salmon - were perfectly cooked. Service was attentive; our water glasses were constantly refilled and the server double checked on special preparations to meet our allergies and preferences.

A great spot to end a day of exploring a beautiful town.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarbleheadOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Great Break from "Tourist Food"”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We hit Jack Tar half way through a tour of New England. After nearly a week's worth of pizza, pasta and very little produce, dinner here was a welcome change. I had gazpacho and the Thai lettuce wraps. All veggies!! My husband got some seafood dish which was heavy on fresh as well. We both very much enjoyed the meal here.

Very kid friendly as well.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleM650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just another restaurant”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I had the Thai wraps as an app. The lettuce was warm and broken. The chicken part of the app was delicious tho. I had the risotto as my main course. It was good but the portion could have been bigger. All in all it was just ok.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gymbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious and fun”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Great atmosphere and fun for all groups - couples, families, friends getting together. The scallops were delicious and they had enough variety to allow for my husbands gluten-free requirements. Would definately return when in the area. Service was excellent.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nbb1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Tar American Tavern also viewed

 
Marblehead, MA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing